Largest ever Anaconda is captured in Ecuador (photos) | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday, 18 March 2016

Largest ever Anaconda is captured in Ecuador (photos)

This massive, serpentine beast which is over 17ft doesn't only come from the family of the world's largest snakes. It is the largest ever captured. The capture of the Anaconda is part of a BBC documentary; Tribes, Predators and Me presented by Gordon Buchanan who lived alongside an indigenous Ecuadorian tribe, the Waorani, in the Amazon.

In the show, Buchanan joins a tribal family to hunt an Anaconda, the Amazon's most dangerous predator, the animal is a proven man-eater but the locals believe its capture and release is not only a sign of bravery but see the feat as a source of immense spiritual power.

There is also a scientific reason for the capture as the Waorani are losing their land to oil exploration - with scientists testing anacondas for the effects of oil pollution.

Buchanan lives alongside the indigenous people for two weeks learning their ways and how they have adapted to live alongside some of the world's most dangerous animals including Jaguars.

78 comments:

1. Unbelievable!!... This is massive😱😱😱

1. Nnenna my sis sabi the mouth looks like dick.

2. Either dead or alive, I can't get dis close to a snake abeg

... merited happiness

3. What????????????

4. Hum, who are these guys? I am sure they will eat it. lol :0

5. Linda, pls ft is a unit of length not weight

6. Hey! Its huge o! Linda take note!

7. Linda, a snake cannot weigh 17ft...that is that length not weight.

8. LMAO! Hollywood sha. That movie made us believe that Anancondas could grow to the size of trains. But that's still a pretty immense snake. You wouldn't fancy meeting that thing on a camping trip...

See the web's funniest content in one convenient place at CharliesLaughs

9. Nothing in this world can weigh 17ft

10. Can't look. Smh. They have sex inside UNIBEN hostel with roommate present[download +pics here]

11. Wow... Its amazing to know dat a tiny bit of ADAM is still in existence.... Living wit dangerous animals...hmmm.mm

12. Is that 17ft a weight or a length? Pls correct that. Linda too many typos these days. Get a proofreader

13. God forbid. It's so huge.

14. wowza!

15. Obinigwe! Vewi huge
    Amazon creatures. wow

16. 17ft is not a measure of weight, it's a measure for distance and 17ft is just about 5 metres which isnt that long for that specie of snakes, so it cannot be the correct information. Linda pls get the facts right before posting.

17. This is such a very large one

18. Well, dey hv adapted to d environment very well. Linda observe!

19. Wow so huge, could actually eat a human being.

20. Was this captured live? From the picture here, the snake looks like a live deadly serpent

21. Chei,better meat for some people

22. So ooo creepy! I wonder how it was caught

23. Amazonians! Very though people. The kind of dangerous animals they live with..

24. Snake.. I hate them.. Linda take note

25. Na wa o, this one's are really brave sha

26. They look cannibalistic

27. MR EDDY said this heat wan kill person o.

I hate snakes
    ^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~

28. Those that even capture it looks like anaconda..LINDA OBSERVE CAREFULLY

29. How many largest ever anaconda will we hear about.

check this out

30. I have snakes with passion. Nice one brave Men and spiritual men too.

31. Oh dear!this thing just scares me to death!

32. Congrats to them. They have tried...

Long Live LIb!!!

33. Hmmmmm. Massive creature. God is good

34. @moss who lied 2 u that u r civilized.

35. naija own dey learn where this one dey o

36. It costs you nothing to state the source of your news, if it's not an original content.

37. www.paris5thave.com18 March 2016 at 14:27

Dayumm!

38. Nke bu ogidigba!!! Great great great grand father , wetin dis 1 be#Lindangwanu#

39. Oh dear! These guys are brave!