Photos: Nigerian Court jails two Nigerians caught smuggling $5.4m cash | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 10 February 2016

Photos: Nigerian Court jails two Nigerians caught smuggling $5.4m cash

Two Nigerians, Ojukwu Nnamdi Rowland and Ngene Linus Chibuike (pictured above), who were arrested at the Murtala Muhammed International Airport, Lagos, while attempting to smuggle $5, 424,270 USD out of the country in October last year, have been convicted and sentenced to two years imprisonment respectively by Justice Ibrahim Buba of the Federal High Court, Lagos.

Rowland was arraigned by the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, on October 22, 2015, for being in possession of cash in the sum of US$2,917,272 (Two Million, Nine Hundred and Seventeen Thousand, Two Hundred and Seventy Two United States Dollars) during his outbound clearance for a journey to Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.

Rowland did not declare the money to men and officers of the Nigeria Customs Service and was subsequently arrested and arraigned before Justice Buba. He pleaded not guilty to the one-count charge preferred against him and the matter went into full trial. Justice Buba found him guilty and sentenced him to two years imprisonment. He also ordered that the convict should forfeit the entire sum of $2,917,272 USD (Two Million, Nine Hundred and Seventeen Thousand, Two Hundred and Seventy Two United States Dollars) to the Nigerian government.

Justice Buba said the convict did not do the right thing by failing to declare the money to Customs officials. He ruled that the two years imprisonment should take effect from February 9, 2016.
Chibuike, on the other hand, was arraigned on October 22, 2015 for falsely declaring the sum of US$11,500 (Eleven Thousand and Five Hundred United States Dollars) out of the sum of $2,506,998 USD (Two Million, Five Hundred and Six Thousand, Nine Hundred and Ninety Eight United States Dollars) he had in his possession during an outbound clearance for a journey to China en-route Addis Ababa, Ethiopia. He pleaded not guilty to the one-count charge raised against him and the matter went into full trial. Justice Buba found him guilty and sentenced him to two years imprisonment.

He also ordered that the convict should forfeit the sum of $2,495, 498 (Two Million, Four Hundred and Ninety- Five Thousand, Four Hundred and Ninety-Eight United States Dollars) not declared to the customs officials to the Nigerian government.

He ruled that the two years imprisonment should take effect from February 9, 2016.

70 comments:

#KING_KHALIFA said...

That's some huge money oh

Gud for dem.

baba said...

Prison things

Thank God is two years, they will be out soon and sin no more.

Hmmmmmm see money!!

Oh..I remember this story.. So dey finally got jailed

Ngwanu, fe e'jebe gwo! Linda take note!

Fiat justicia ruat cealum.

The poor always suffer the wrath of the law in Nigeria,what of our our politicians who smuggle it like every other day,huh?

hmmmmm

meenah_wakil on instagram

hmmmmm

meenah_wakil on instagram

Some people are not smart oo

PEPSI ADDICT

So where is d money now.

YOUNGBUHARI said...

Na wa o. You guys should should have declared the money na, abi una be criminals?

Okay good

Not too good a news

chai..too much money!
So when they forfeit the money to the government the higher criminals we have as politicians will do justice to it.

#XENO-FABIAN.

Good for them

Alright

Oshiolo 1 of Belema kingdom said...

Good for them..

Alright!

Olumide Abiodun said...

What! $5.4 million cash? Give me a tenth of that I am set for life.

Research Shows That Most Women are Either Lesbians or Bisexual

Why jailing the innocent guys did the steal no Nigeria is now a joke.
Imaging that rubbish the money no reach the one i transfer last week.
Yorubas knows how to loot sha.

Ambasadorial Jailing

These guys?

Why should the money be forfeited to the Nigeria government, the said government are they not a bunch of thieves. How will the money benefit the people of Nigeria as a whole if it is given to the government. Instead the money should be given to the less privilege to start up businesses here in Nigeria. Meanwhile it was not stated how the suspects came about the money, it could be someone's hard earned cash.

Hmm

Good for them. Criminals!

Joe said...

Wickedness, they keep frustrating other ppl's business, GOD will Judge you and your useless Children as judge others, Nonsense

Nawa o

Why forfeit it money.

Nuel

This is nonsense is not as if they stole the money please the government should refund their money. Bcos if the come out of jail they will turn something else after taking all that they had, the government to help the citizen not to put them into hardship, since this is their first attempt they should pardon them and warn them or even send them to prison but not forfeiting their hard earn money except the money was not genuinely gotten..anyway I expect them to go to supreme court as is the final hope of the common man..

Look at their face..Linda observe carefully

max said...

Every body wants quick money its well sha
Pls visitbmy blog for free browsing and internet tips www.applygist.com

GOod for dem

To forfeit such amount to Federal govt? Pls is that what the law says or is it the judge that decided that? I don't support money laundering but better investigation and appropriate punishment should be meted out to offenders and not day light robbery in the name of judgement

Nigeria govt just dey hammer... dee

Hehehehe, abeg that Ngene Linus isn't related to me o...lol

#iT wiLL oNLy geT beTTer
#iT mUsT eNd iN prAise

When are they going to jail those senators too

Hehehehe, abeg that Ngene Linus isn't related to me o...lol

#iT wiLL oNLy geT beTTer
#iT mUsT eNd iN prAise

Wickedness in high place, these are genuine traders taking their money in cash to China. It usually not a personal money but contributed by many traders .this judge can not jail the real laundered of our money and he can not confiscate Nigeria money that are in the hands of his brothers. Wicked judgement

Too bad

Wickedness in high place, these are genuine traders taking their money in cash to China. It usually not a personal money but contributed by many traders .this judge can not jail the real launderers of our money and he can not confiscate Nigeria money that are in the hands of his brothers. Wicked judgement

Dave Mide said...

lemme get my calculator

Good one.This country is becoming a hot zone for criminals.Wind of change

tosisochukwu said...

Ok seen

!brightosman aka fake phyno .#gerarahere

Henry Ekene Obianika said...

Why always my Igbo brothers?

«Linda take note if you like«

God punish that judge. Trabalistic muderfucker! Fools!

Ok, fighting corruption

Nawa see money.linda huz gal

Noted

CHYGURL from CHYNA said...

Just Negodu, why forfeiting their cash to Nigerian govt nah? Abeg leave their money for them o, them no be part of Dasuki gate.

Naa waa oh, any way i don't balm them, may be they want to use the money and buy goods

Honestly this country is not safe anymore....God will have to quickly come to our aid.

Ojukwu and Linus, where una see this kind of money?

Aunty Linda Enter your comment...

U-C-J said...

Yawaa don gas
Linda mee k'anyi fu anya! @uchemacj

This is so sad to hear! Buhari should start corruption investigation in the aviation sector! Linda, I do travel for biz too if u see what's going on there, u wil weep! If these guys gave them bribe as they much expected, it would've been settled amicably. But it pains most times that your hard earned money someone wil just be threatening you with "are you ready to co-operate or not "! Even the journalists there wil be bargaining for his own for u to hv a better report! I was inside the bank when I travelled last in Lagos, one man from beareau withdrew #700m and I asked him why is he withdrawing that large, he said that he's changing it to dollar that they are smuggling out through cargo! I asked him of being caught and he said, the officials have been settled! Imagine!

Nkemy said...

See how judgment is passed on these two without wasting time, meanwhile our government officials and some politicians siphon money everyday and are simply fined. These guys am sure are just messengers smuggling money out of the country for one senator or governor. #whenacountrylacksintegrityandstrycture

Serves them right

Na wa ooo

Hmmmmmmmmmmm

Thunder fire the judge...that's too harsh..but come to think of it, these men are stupid...

~make I go drink one bottle of beer~

What rubbish, na government money?

How many DASUKU Don bring. Useless government

Oboy! See funds, what amazes me is that the money na cash oh! A million dollars now & my life changes for good

roughly cash. Just passing by

Izuben D gentle

Ladails said...

They don't mean it. Forfeit the money me?

For currency trade and Investment
see our blog:
www.ladails.blogspot.com

Did you say serves them right ? You know what $2.9m is? After seizing the money, they should go to jail again for that? Better fear God, I don't know these people but I know everything is wrong about this. If they got their money legitimately, they should only be fined. Many people travel Many international airports without declaring and get caught, they worst is they get fined and they are free . Not seize my money and send me to prison again. It's not right anywhere

Aj Gabriel T said...

And who told they are criminals? Say what you know,these are genuine traders taking the risk taking their money in cash to China since you CBN stopped transfer of dollars from Dom acct. Mind you d money was not only theirs.

If the money were earned legitimately by those people, the won't have to forfeit it. A judge can't just prescribe its verdict on a case without clearly referring to the constitution. I am 100% sure those people do not have enough evidence to show and don't have a reasonable source of income to have that kind of money. Nigerians should wake up and atarty thinking rationally,law might favour some people than d other in this country thou. But every justice prescribed on a CA's has to be based on the constitution and rule of law. A judge doesn't judge based on his own laws