From captive to a teacher: Rescued Chibok girl awarded scholarship by Atiku now teaches IDP children | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday, 8 February 2016

From captive to a teacher: Rescued Chibok girl awarded scholarship by Atiku now teaches IDP children

15 Chibok girls who escaped from Boko Haram captivity were in 2014 awarded scholarship to attend the American University of Nigeria (AUN) Yola by former Vice President, Atiku Abubakar.

The girls were among the over 200 students kidnapped from their hostels at Government Secondary School, Chibok, Borno State.

Atiku shared a photo of one of the students who is studying Computer Science and is now a volunteer teach with TELA, an Education project launched by the former VP and sponsored by USAID to teach basic literary and numeracy to vulnerable children
"This is one of our ‪#‎Chibok‬ students, studying computer science at American University of Nigeria. She's now a TELA facilitator. Education changes everything! She went from captivity to AUN, and is now volunteering to teach other children. This is great courage!"

50 comments:

1. Earn real money online by working as a part time job, earn up to 2500$ dollars weekly guranteed join link at http://dollarson.xyz/index.php?ref=64254

2. Seen. If atiku no do am for his almajiri people na freeborn go am no.
    Another way of campaigning atiku freeborn knows this game before u.

3. From grace to being kidnapped and back to grace

4. Wow

Most beautiful gal on linda ikeji's blog

5. I hope IDP camp is not located in Borno state.

6. awww! I thank God for her life. and also Atiku for giving her such opportunity.

7. Rescued Chibok what?... Oh please tell me something else..

8. Good that for once in a long time, we can see the product of a charity action in human development and not stomach infrastructure by our politicians

9. I thought the chibok girls were kidnapped from a secondary school, how come this girl looks much more older than a secondary school girl.
    Make Una reason am

10. If u are looking for where to crochet braid in Ibadan, or you need pre-braided hair, or braid wig add me on 5bf9a23f

11. Nice one Mr Vice president.. That's a man that has the minds or concern of the people in mind.

12. Good news. Others should emulate Mr Atiku's kind gestures.

13. I thought the abducted people were secondary school students. This girl kinda look too old for someone that finished secondary school in 2014. Except it's old women that are students of secondary school in the north. If that's how they all look, we should change it to #ChibokWomen

14. Dats a good one. Linda take note!

15. Atiku is really doing on good job for his people!!! Kudos!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

16. thank God for her life. Linda see to that case

17. A brave bold step!! very nice of her

18. Lovely!!!
    Good to see smile back on her face genuinely after her ordeal with the Islamic sect boko haram...
    Kudos to Atiku Abubakar,AUN and USAID for the #TELA project.
    Joining hands to fight terrorism in our country will do everyone a whole lot of good.
    #SayNoToTerrorism
    #TELA

19. Thank God for her life.

20. Awww glad she got her groove back

21. Linda...Please they were rescued where...Chibok concocted story was simply a scam...Biafra is all i stand for.

22. owakah (A.K.A. Innosometin)8 February 2016 at 17:09

LOL

23. This is a lady not a girl, too many stories following this chibok, abeg e don do

24. Enter your comment...thank God for her life

25. Nice one atiku. I knw u wil surely rule dis country one day. Kip trying

26. So,there were actually Chibok girls abducted? I thought some people with cotton wool for brains kept on saying,"Chibok girls is a scam to derail Jonathan’s govt"

27. Enter your comment...God bless him

28. Former VP that's kind of you please keep the good work