Twitter to expand tweets from 140 characters to 10,000 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 6 January 2016

Twitter to expand tweets from 140 characters to 10,000

Twitter's most beloved features is set to change. The company is planning to extend its 140-character limit to as many as 10,000, according to a person familiar with the matter. Twitter’s fans were quick to complain that such a change, expected to be announced by the end of March, would spoil the brevity and speed of the real-time service.
The character limit that forces users to pen snappy tweets could give way to the longer essays found on Facebook. It could transform Twitter into more of a public blogging platform rather than one that is succinct and well-suited to quips and breaking news headlines.

This person said, however, that Twitter Inc. is aiming to retain the look and feel of the user timeline. For tweets that are longer than 140 characters, users will have to click and expand to see the rest of the text. As users write beyond the 140-character limit, Twitter will signal to them that they have crossed the threshold as a way to encourage brevity.
In a tweet on Tuesday after the news spilled out, co-founder and CEO Jack Dorsey tweeted a screenshot of text, 1,317 characters with spaces, explaining his thinking behind the expansion. “We’ve spent a lot of time observing what people are doing on Twitter, and we see them taking screenshots of text and tweeting it,” Mr. Dorsey wrote. “Instead, what if that text…was actually text? Text that could be searched.  Text that could be highlighted. That’s more utility and power.” Despite the change, Mr. Dorsey said Twitter will “never lose that feeling” of speed, creativity and brevity.
"Despite the lamentations that the change will alter the spirit of Twitter, the truth is that users have been clawing for a longer character limit for some time. Loyal users often create so-called tweetstorms where they string a series of tweets together by replying to them in numerical succession. Users have also gone around the character restriction by attaching screenshots of longer text to their tweets.
In July 2015, Twitter expanded the 140-character limit on private messages to 10,000.

Twitter has been doing a bit of soul-searching to jump-start user growth ever since the return of Mr. Dorsey as CEO in July. The debate to increase the character limit has been in the works since as early as September.

Source: WSJ/Twitter blog

92 comments:

tsalz c.e.o said...

for more stories

This will make it boring please.

Yayyyyy!!!!!! Good news!

#GLORY2GLORY#

Yayyyyy!!!!!! Good news!

#GLORY2GLORY#

Yayyyyy!!!!!! Good news!

#GLORY2GLORY#

And Twitter fight will expand...intresting 2016.

10000 is too much. At least it should be 500

Northern Princess 7 said...

it is necessary, They should increase it already

If I hear....
#sips oRiJin#

Good news, 140 is too small jare

Good news
#needanalibitojoinmetastethenewgeishasardine

PARENTAL ADVISORY
^^^Adult Content^^^

It a very wrong move, FFK is gonna frustrate Nigerians with his essays...

I never liked the 140 character restriction...

Young president said...

Good news
Linda na wa.

Alright ooooo

GLO AMBASSADOR said...

Nice! GLO RULES

Cool, right?

Efizzy1 said...

ok oh that good

That is good, can't wait.

Whykay

No that's a bad idea ; they about to loose their Trade Mark and value by increasing the Characters to 10,000

*DeW*

@least one can write all he/she wants to write! #betteryear

@CruiseControl
mercycruise@yahoo.com

@least one can write all he/she wants to write! #betteryear

@CruiseControl
mercycruise@yahoo.com

Aproko Queen said...

Finally

Linda's daughter aka Nwa Linda said...

Ha now people can blab however ! It is better limited tho

All correct, sseen

At least our celebs can tell their stories at once, since they all run to Twitter whenever there's an issue.

QueenPee Says So

lindauche said...

I dont like that twitter of a thing.

linda see me

Good one

Way berra

Beausteven said...

Instead of making it longer... Why not add an editing features.... And just extend it to 300 letters .Oga/madam what are we going to do with a novel... Macbeth done finish for market ?

#beausteven_blog

AZEEZ RIZQAH said...

Enter your comment...
Yaaaaaahhhh... #tweetunlimited.

That 140 characters sabi tire me...Nice one from twitter...

Sweetest Honey said...

Abeg whatsapp management must embark on that too! Also the pic size, status, and they make it lively! Whatsapp is boring, annoying and frustrating!

It doesn't allow upload the pic u desire to upload cos of the size even wen u reduce, its wen u munch it atimes dat it can one can upload!

Whatsapp shld be flowing just like facebook, bbm is still kinda better eventhough its bcoming boring lately too!

KWEEN said...

Well, it's not a bad idea

Wow..i love that

Nice.

Okbye.

Better..........Instead of managing words we can everything out.

Wildflower wuz ere

I hope it does not bring about cumbersome lines...

princess Stella said...

Y now? Is it because the other social media pages are doing well?

Finally. I've been waiting for this for a long time. How can I express myself with 140 characters alone? Good move twitter.😉🙌✌

Hmmmmmm it will be good n same time bad,twitter might lose it's taste...anyway still waiting

It'll be a cool change

Nice one but Keeping it short is still beta

My view not urs!!!!

I read this but i seriously ve no comment.

Aka: queenniky

Mtcheeew! IT NO GO SWEET AGAIN. THE MORE SHORTER; THE MORE SWEETER.

Twitter would be boring just like Facebook...

BOKO said...

1st to comment

end time twitter

#leavetrashforlawma

wow! datz good

Yay! Finally change is on twitter

June said...

Makes sense

Chiisunshine(carolips) said...

They shuld biko. Now i can xpress fully wat i dreamed last nite

No , they shouldn't do it.. The 140 character is what makes them unique.. Some pple will start coming up with boring essays now..

75billion said...

Them high before ni? Reason why I don't go to d site. Linda, watsap?

Seen oh #Abi#

Pesin Pikin said...

Hmmmm...I know some ppl will be happy bout this. But wot has this got to do wit anything?

Black Belle said...

Ten thousand is too much.. how about 50 words

That will be great and will attract more people especially those that are very lazy in composure,all what they do is to copy and paste.

Wale Mikael said...

10k what? What kind of rubbish is that na? Are they trying to get people to publish books on Twitter? If they must increase it, it should be no more than 250 characters. Haba!!!! You'll now take 3 hours to read one tweet abi? Norsesse!!!!

Nappyboychuchu@gmail.com said...

Omo I can't wait oo Nice work

Noooo! Na article we go dey see now! Boring!

They want to turn it into novel ni?

Believe me they are about to ruin twitter. It will become like facebook with so many long, boring and unnecessary stories. They should better not

#LibGotMeUpAllNight

Twitter would go from hundred to zero. Whose suspended reality is this?

#GeneralFortune

OK

OK! Noted...

JAYZSBOSS said...

Now tweeting would be like writing a book! Lol

Psalmuelle aka Samstone. said...

Good improvement..

Phemmie said...

Just spoilt twitter in one move #imagine

Miz Naomi said...

I concur

Nigeria first personal sports online blog www.arthurbueze.blogspot.com

Jamisilatest said...

Enough to destroy and wage more wars...#Jamisi

Lol.. so true. No mind dem

Nice one. Linda take note!

This time; people will copy note and tweet it***

Ann Chetachukwu Ubah MD said...

Bad move

They are trying to copy facebook...

na body de swt dem....sha e gud for online story tellers not busy chaps like me

good job...angelmakiz@yahoo.com

Please don't change

Chiisunshine(carolips) said...

Maybe! Thats why am not on facebook..

na naw them wake up...pple dnt realy use twitter dah much lik before...

A
l
s
a
h
-
h
i
m

Ok naw...

Then it should be renamed as well as Ten Thousand words wouldn't be a tweet anymore.

unofficial Linda lover said...

Jjkk

unofficial Linda lover said...

This will give more leverage for some ppl to post pages instead of sentences. #love linda

Because of Nigerian celebrities

Yesssssssssss! i like it

Its won't be fun no more

It's good for babymama drama and beefs