In
a move that has been hailed by many as resilient and triumphant in the
fight against terrorism, Garissa University College reopened Monday, January 4, nine months after it
was closed down following a terrorist attack by Al-Shabaab that resulted in the
deaths of 148 people, most of them students.
A
memo to staff and students stated that an academic board meeting would
take place following the reopening. Both academic and non academic staff
were asked to report back on Wednesday.
109 students who survived the attack will have their fees paid for a
year by the French government. They will also be given a living
allowance, according to a statement by the French Embassy back in
November 17.
The university was reopened amidst heightened security, as the varsity’s staff assembled for the first staff meeting. During the low-key ceremony at the institution, the college principal, Prof Ahmed Osman Warfa, said most of the staff had reported back to work.
The campus, a constituent college of the
Eldoret-based Moi University, was the scene of a 10-hour siege when
Al-Shabaab gunmen stormed it in the early hours of April 2, 2015.
41 comments:
SO SAD. TERRORISTS EVERYDAY DICTATING HOW THINGS PAN OUT. THEY HAVE TO BE GOTTEN RID OFF
God be with us # vikkiloveslinda
They need to correct their mistakes
I remember the story like yesterday. R.I.P to the victim.
Welcome back.
@Lindaikeji No. I FAN
Hope security is enough cos these are Endangered Species!
Lost of lives is now a daily news...Believe
Good to know. Tnx for the info.
Prophet Baal typing...........
May their souls continue to rest in peace.
Okbye.
Students will be scared to return back...
If they did not ban the use of hijab dat means anoda attack might visit dem soon
Jeez,146?human being? At a goal? Dear lord.
Good..."evil thrives when Good men do nothing"
Africa, after nine months, the management could not erect a perimeter fence. The security measures put in place are still not safe. May d terrorists not locate d university again.
#needanalibitojoinmetastethenewgeishasardine
Live Trash for lawma
!brightosman aka fake phyno .#gerarahere
He he... Me no go skul o if na only Dat University...
I hope and pray nothing evil befalls them again. May God protect and guide dem
Is nice. Dey shuldnt slack
It is well o! Linda take note!
Security would be damn tight
Endtime is here. Linda take note!
Okay o
aunty linda Enter your comment...
Black market available shaa!
Amen
www.allnigerians.com
Na the way!
"NeVeR SaY NeVeR"
Good! ozo emezina
Where have u been? Is this news to u?
Mob love from Kenya Linda! peace
Eya life must go on
Linda jot
Just passing
What student go thru? Everybody will b @ alert...life goes on.
hmmmmm, welcome bck to school..
Hmmmmmmm
It's well
Tnk God
God help that the incident that made them close them does not repeat itself o
Welcome back hope they are save this time
hmmmmmmmm!
its well
God be wt u guys...and tighten security biko
MISSVEE
i wont go back oh...angelmakiz@yahoo.com