For Soyinka, A Moral Question - by Rivers State commissioner for Information | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 8 January 2016

For Soyinka, A Moral Question - by Rivers State commissioner for Information

Piece below written by Dr. Austin Tam-George, the Hon. Commissioner for Information and Communication, Rivers State..
Prof. Wole Soyinka’s reaction to the scandal of the 82 Million Naira dinner held in his honour by the Rotimi Amaechi government in Rivers State is at once disappointing and depressing. Soyinka has said he didn’t know about the cost of a party held in his name, in a State where 90 per cent of the people live in insufferable poverty. But now that official documents show the cost of his three-hour dinner, where is his moral outrage?
Why does his statement not include a condemnation of such unconscionable misuse of public funds in his name?

In a country full of villainy, Soyinka is often held up as a moral titan.  The Nobel Laureate cements this perception by conducting himself in the manner of someone who suffers from a god complex, someone who does no wrong.

But Soyinka’s unbridled support for Rotimi Amaechi invites close moral scrutiny. 
Rivers State is reeling from the catastrophic legacy of the Amaechi years. Despite receiving over 3 trillion naira in revenue in 8 years, Amaechi left the most abandoned projects in the history of Rivers State, since 1967.

Thousands of workers went without their salaries for 4 months, aged pensioners faced starvation without their pensions for 8 months, and the salaries of thousands of teachers were not paid for nearly 12 months.

Everywhere you looked in Amaechi’s Rivers State; there was this stark, almost synonymic connection between poor governance, corruption and fiction. 
A physical tour of the Greater Port Harcourt City in Rivers State on which Amaechi had spent over one hundred billion Naira, revealed only a putrid landscape of corruption, broken dreams and wasted resources.

How could Wole Soyinka be indifferent to such atrocious legacy?
During her 80th birthday in 2011, the American Nobel Laureate Toni Morrison had a hearty laugh over coffee with friends at her home in Ohio. No State dinner was held in her honour at tax payers’ expense by the State of Ohio.

Can Soyinka reasonably claim to be indifferent to the exemplary moral contrast provided by Toni Morrison?

The 82 million Naira dinner for Soyinka is a financial crime against the people of Rivers State.

Did the Nobel Laureate receive cash gifts during that bibulous night? 

Will Soyinka condemn this pornography of waste and excess by Rotimi Amaechi?

That is the moral question.

126 comments:

Noted!

paparazi said...

All these Government officials, you can never trust them. They are all the same. They do not care about you and I. Wole Soyinka is a big disappointment.

Let them show us d documents then we will believe them.. bunch of cowards

kingsareborn2rule said...

Enter your comment...All Na Change agents

HaveyouprayedforNigeriatoday

Why ask baba questions. Y r u guys dragging him into dis desperate politicians ??? Always wanna win d heart of ur oga' at d top. Even if it involves killing . Too bad Nigerian politicians desperadoes

cant dis ppl jst let us be..

Very depressing news. Am dumbfounded

Mr Commissioner. Instead of boring us with your long talk, #GOTOCOURT.

Linda Move on

Hmmm.old man wole soyinka,u belong to d museum,stay off rivers state and politics

That, is a moral question. That is a moral question. At some point he was practically leaving in Rivers state. Some carved the niche of a god but are they?

Do they want him to say that he didn't enjoy the dinner?? Or he should vomit what he already ate?? No matter the outrageous cost of the dinner,I don't think his moral beliefs has anything to do with it because he probably didn't know the "cost". He shouldn't be dragged into political mess or used as the bone of contention between to people that their rivalry runs deep

anaekwe.ucheslimj@gmail.com

Very baseless write-up.. Trying by all means to bring Soyinka into your messy affair.. Amaechi was clear enough..Go to court if there is any issue to resolve.

Abeg, dis guy should just shut up....

Enter your comment...

#linda give me 1bo#

Enter your comment...

#linda give me 1bo#

Hmmm. Deep question I must say. if this huge amount was actually spent I wouldn't be disappointed on amaechi's role but I would on soyinka's part

Oh dear...
And the man died..

Ok seen,,,Next pls...Mrs Tommy

OFCOURSE SOYINKA IS NO ANGEL. CAN HE CLAIM HE NEVER GOT BOTHERED ABOUT WHERE THE MONEY WAS COMING FROM? JUST FOR HIS CEREMONY

Questions begging for answers. Its Prof. over to you, your time starts now. *smiles* it's well with all of you.

Like wike ,like the tam-george...#whentoutsshout

Abeg, make una go Court if una get una facts and stop all dese propaganda. Linda take note!

Na wa o, 82 millions spent within 3hours. All hail our dear country. @securityman

reflex chuks said...

Nigeria will only get better....®©™

This is a right thinking person in the society..tell them pls.
"NeVeR SaY NeVeR"

David Uche said...

well put commissioner.... God bless you..

David Uche said...

hi linda, i sent you a mail two days ago but you're yet to acknowledge it...

I am so surprised that you would be a mouthpiece for this puppet government that offers nothing to the masses than making unwarranted accusations. I am not a native of the state but came into the state when nothing could be attributed to it. I witnessed the transformation that came in during his government.
Recall even federal Govt roads were constructed with states money during this period for which the payment was made to woke when he came in.
Now, for accountability sake, can we make enquiry to what came in during amaechi era and what was spent? Can we also do the same for this Govt you are part of? That would resolve the whole issue not just that you should talk because you bear the office of information. Give us fact Mr. Information commissioner.
Thanks.

I can also recall I picked up some people after salvation ministry service while on my way home one day and the topic that anarchist refused to share the money but doing projects that he was not sent. I meddled and asked them why they see the Yorubas as more enlightened. I textured them on what our leaders did and legacy they left behind and advised them to support the man for the sake of their children future.
If the people said this, then where are your unwarranted points Mr. Spokesman. Mchewww.

These backwater politicians are so bent on soiling the name of the Nobel Laureate. Please tell the skanky whoa Kongi stands much taller than all these attempts to drag him into the mud with them.

owakah (A.K.A. Innosometin) said...

They should relax and let the sleeping dog to lay.... wike and his pple

Eisshhh

They should just sack this Wike govt, they have nothing to offer the people of Rivers, all their plan is to take down Rotimi, he has no plans for the future. He is clueless just like his oga. what are you doing for Rivers oga wike?

fresh presh said...

freshpresh says, Soyinka should be left out of this joor,was he the one who organized the party?

Observed, don't about morality with a nobel laureate, am in love with Linda Ikeji for real and would wish to meet her in person as my 2016 resolution.

I have never liked his political views.May God help us.

JAYZSBOSS said...

Pls ask him more questions..hehe!

Lawson Minabo said...

Why is R/S GOVT chasing the goat while the dog that barked is there?

Zikora said...

Enter your comment..If corruption will be dealth with in this country, the respected people like Prof Wole Soyinka should ask questions like Dinner for what? And of what benefit to the people of Rivers State? Knowing fully well that politicians use such means to siphon state resources. Overtime, i have come to understand that nobody holy pass for this country!

This is a story of a drawing man trying desperately to hang on to anything in order to stay afloat, wike is a gonna

Sometimes I wonder, if this grey hair man is a literary writer or a politician, on the other hand, I was thought in school as a graduate in the department of English, that writer help to correct the I'll of the society but I just confuse for this man case. De great Mabito

Nonsense Amaechi. People, i do not support any part because over 90% of them are all crooks but as 4 what was written here about Amaechi and Rivers state, it is true. Corpers have not been paid for almost 3 years now. 9 batches have not been paid state allowance

ONYI P.K. said...

I have never met Amechi, Soyinka or Wike before but the sudden 'Resurrection' of the party held for Soyinka by Amechi, depicts nothing but the voice of a sinking man who is looking for co-travelers. Humanity generally, do not seem to learn any lesson from and about conflict. The reason I said so is that all around the world, people will prefer to fight first and then come back for conflict resolution instead of the reverse....and this is un-necessary distraction. Gentlemen, find a way around the issues and give yourselves peace.

I Houghton so. He laughed it off. Really silly. Truth hurts. That dinner is a yam eating session. The shit has hit the fan.

I Houghton so. He laughed it off. Really silly. Truth hurts. That dinner is a yam eating session. The shit has hit the fan. Lili How far?tz

Well if the issues at stake has anything to do with financial recklessness or criminal breach of trust, please Mr Austin Tam George cum the Rivers State govt should take up judicial actions. I believe that's what civilised people do. Enough of all these unnecessary epistle here and there. The world Famous Nobel Laureate has challenged anybody accusing him of criminality in his words " you know where I live". So Wikeleaks do the needful & stop embarrassing the great people of River State. Go to court and state your claim.

O! said...

Lol this is just funny to me, as I live in Port harcourt. First off, the fact that the president of Uraguay refused to move into the state house, and get other benefits like other presidents does not mean he did not Merit it.. Its Subjective.. Wole got the invite, and honored it.. He has no business with the cost. Though I don't believe d dinner cost 82m. And 2ndly, Oga commissioner, Amaechi made series of Projects u guys have Abandonned.. Even The schools are the most annoying ones. So please stop all these comments and "Moral Question" u claim to be asking.. Getting a potfolio does not mean ur Honesty should be completely lost. Thank you

Grammarian drama, we see..... Let's go Linda

MR NI'I said...

This misguided and clueless political psycophant called Austin tam David should just shut up and leave our own, a well respected laureate out of his dirty politics..

Tom said...

This minister is dumb

This commitionar shuld not drag woke Soyinka into the political problems of river state. Wike jst looking for attention

Teddy said...

All na propaganda. .
#my2cents

If things are as bad as portrayed by this hired hackwriter trying to tarnish the KONGI's image, how come Wike borrowed N4bn within a month of getting into office to purpotedly buy cars and furniture?!

How do those take precedent over the poor situation of the Rivers'' people?

Hmm!

Hmm!

Donjazzycrush said...

shebi they are fighting corruption? ok what is this one now?

DON~ JAZZYCRUSH

Donjazzycrush said...

shebi they are fighting corruption? ok what is this one now?

DON~ JAZZYCRUSH

Amaechi stoped been the Governor of river state in 2013...every project after then was put on hold because of his affiliation with d APC! Mehn that wicked man left people to die of hunger and suffer! Everyone knows buhari's campaign was funded from the treasury of river state... and yet the so called EFCC ignores such level of corruption! Tomorrow pwople will say the president is gighting curruption

oben said...

U can see the reason why I always say |if a container is change without the content been change all reamine the same!

Mumu.

Nnaya said...

Soyinka can not condemn APC or Amaechi's corrupt practices unless you want his name to be mentioned as a beneficiary of Dasukigate by EFCC and be arrested the next day by DSS.
Nigeria is under a military era now.

They should leave am for god

this r clear lies. i am a rivers and i aint supporting any political party so be rest assured when i say the person dat wrote this article is deluded or driven by frustation facing the present administration. Ameachi was a good governor. He built schools and roads never seen before in the government before him.If only the present administration can do half of what Ameachi did in 8months. i am really disappointing wit The present administration. instead of facing the problems we r having in the state, they are busy tip toeing a good man. Am really disappointed.

Montel said...

Soyinka speak up please, we are highly interested in your response!

Politicians una do well.

Rapuluchukwuifenineadigommakings@yahoo.com
Reporting from Delsu.

No wa ooo!!! Which way Nigeria? If the said amount was spent on his name that's bad and even worse for him to feel he deserves it except otherwise then I'd say the commissioner to take a chill pill and proceed to other relevant issues as well

Every single love I have for U was a hit, back to back,,,from adding Ur Blog to My Bookmark to getting addicted to Ur blog to following U on all socia media platform to show U how much I really care,,buh all to no avail, koni daa fun iyalaya age cos I truly care. . .kidnapping ti take over....errm, tell Daddy & Mommy, awon inlaw Mi of life; Chief & Mrs Ikeji, if they want U back, they shuld be ready to collect brideprice, yam & other things they want so Me & U can marry fast fast***Solomon aka Linda's Bae***

Useless Man Amaechi is the best Governor Rivers State had produced if you be honest.I am not a politician and I will never be.Jonathan and co kills the good dreams of Amaechi towards rivers people in the name of dirty politics.My brother minister face your work before you make your self a target for Efcc cos your government is checking....nuel

benueguy said...

Soyinka over to u

Kachi said...

Hehehe. ..Battle of da brains!!

Uzosafetyblog said...

This Weysom and his boys can be so desperate to drag peoples name around for their political gain. They have forgotten that even in their village they spent more than this for thier chiefs during the last election, they are jittery of the coming election. #IRepLIB

Uzosafetyblog said...

They sound upload a copy of their claim and stop this media rendition . #IRepLIB

Abdul Adepetu said...

OMG is River State Government childish or what? What are they talking about. State dinner, not private dinner. State dinner is held for PR purposes not just rice and stew. But a lot of logistics go into it. And the resultant result is meant to benefit. Hence business men take potential customers to dine. Men take women to dine. Ordinarily a crude a example, a man that will not spend 1,000 naira for lunch, will spend 10,000 on a date. Because, a lot of expection, not the dinner, but a possibility of a relationship starting.
Having Soyinka to call upon by the Government of any country is plus to have him as a friend. Great PR. So, Government of Wike, look for another accusation. Biko!

JAO said...

They say trust no one, unsure what the prof is capable of, but with all this grammar I need Sen. Patrick for better understanding o.

River state govt is fucking dumb to say such about soyinka. Must he know the amount of money spent on the party. Stupid people!

#intergister coming up!

River state govt is fucking dumb to say such about soyinka. Must he know the amount of money spent on the party. Stupid people!

#intergister coming up!

moss said...

PROF WOLE SOYINkA IS NOT TO BLAME 4 ALL THIS. AMEACHI HOSTED HIM. HE COULD BE IGNORANT. Asap

so bad this is coming from a man that shows himself to the world as righteous .

Austin Tam-George, shut your dirty mouth you immoral sycophant; we all know who is beating this satanic drum you are dancing to.

Ok, English haf jam Grammar

Mr commissioner word of advice why dont you let the lying dog be cause this line you want to trend might damage your carrier.

Urairatk said...

These guys are so, intellectually hollow as well as desperate. Pray, how can they continue to draw the Most revered WS into their cheap political propaganda!

zubby said...

Enter your comment...gbam! I faulted his reaction yesterday. He's a man I respect so much nd shuldnt hv reactd in dat way.

Lousy mouth said...

Gbam! I think the Prof was too eager to respond that he failed to see the message in wike-leaks accusation of Amechi.
Though Prof is right in his right but the question is, was the Amechi's govt. spending that huge sum to host anybody whatsoever just?

Whenever the PDP raise an alarm on corruption its spurious, whenever its from the APC then its true abi? God dey.

Just passing...

tosisochukwu said...

HMmmmmmmmm

Tosisochukwu! Marry me

!brightosman aka fake phyno .#gerarahere

Helen Jubril said...

Its just too pathetic that our leaders do not have any moral conduct. Wole SOyinka is respected man but his silence has been bought.

7F098C19 said...

This money old lover who enjoyed is dinner with the ph peoples money. U think say no beans to born sixteen. Engr Emy

Abeg go and rest, have a life. What's all the digging for? river state move on, prepare for the rerun that awaits you. Stop chasing Amaechi and wole. They are not your match.

Mayberry said...

Make dem go Sidon for one side

Edobabe#replinda#

Pesin Pikin said...

Well said...Amaechi, even with all the allegations levied on him was still made a commissioner. Na wa o!

This country sef

This ambiguous allegations and use of the English diction can get us all nowhere until we truly decide to clan up the mess sacrificially.

keke driver said...

O! Shut up Mr.Commissioner what's prof.soyinka's own?

Oga Commissioner, where is the evidence that N82mio was spent on hosting Soyinka? isn't that another kangaroo indictment like the panel Wike set up that had no facts or basis? if there is proof why not petition and send to the EFCC rather than calling out the Prof and Ameachi?

i see this as another ploy to distract from the massive looting going in under Wike at the moment.

Wike and his likes should be removed immediately.

What baffles me most is the fact that most of the abandoned road project were those awarded to Wike. A typical example is the Rupoku-Eneka road. It is now Wike is doing that road for which he collected money for many years ago from Amaechi's government. Let this rivers government stop deceiving us the masses. We in Rivers know the truth..

Tom said...

Tam, ask your father the same moral question of dining with patriots during his birthdays.

Linda leme knw when u done eating up my Comments for Breakfast uhn .

*DeW*

OLUSOLA. said...

I DON'T KNOW WHY MR COMMISSIONER IS DISTURBING US OVER THIS ISSUE NOW. I DON'T SEE ANY FAULT OF WOLE SOYINKA AT ALL THAT IS IF IT IS TRUE THAT SUCH AMOUNT WAS SPENT TO HOST HIM B'COS HE WENT THERE AS A GUEST AND HE CAN NOT ASK AMAECHI HOW MUCH HE SPENT ON THE ENTERTAINMENT. WOLE SAID EFCC KNOWS WHERE HE LEAVES AND AMAECHI ALSO SAID THEY SHOULD GO TO COURT SO OVER TO THEM. HA HA.

PDP talking ...nuel

FAUSTA said...

JAMB question n0:1 answer it. .......on a good year

gbemisolaolukolade@yahoo.com said...

My question is why didn't Soyashka express shock on why Amaechi should spend such huge amount of money for just a 3 hr birthday for him? With His statement is like he doesn't care about how much was spent and how it was spent. This is bad.

Lin lin please take note!

Dr, KCE said...

Fuck off u wailing wailer

He pulled himself in by responding to d claim first of

Am dumbfounded. I don't even know what to say. #LindaNgwanu#

Aguji'egbe said...

Prof. Soyinka should tell Nigerians his relationship with Amechi/Rivers state to warrant such a reckless expense in "his honour", else he EFCC should stop quizzing the beneficiaries of USD2.1mill and face Dasuki only. @ Solomon Ogundairo, aka Lindas' bear, "ogwu nkpi" shall be yours if you do not recant.

This hosting of dinner in honour of some1 has become a way of siphoning public funds and our Prof should have known that. why should the Prof seen as a bastion for morality and uprightness associate himself with an accused corrupt politician of Amechi standing to have made himself accessary to financial crime, "lootery" and thievery.

Linda, i pass oooooo

From all indications, your mumu syndrom is inbuilt. Na niggas like u dem dey refer to as 'waste to manhood' . Wud u hav typed this thoughtless piece if she's jes a random average blogger...? You betta buckle you shoes and face the reality of being a MAN.

Amechi is corrupt,we know.
Linda look alike.

This yeye commissioner for him mind na work him dey do so o to impress him oga,.

Prof Soyinka might not be a direct beneficiary of the waste of public funds which was obviously diverted to private pockets ,but he should distance himself from the murky waters of politics . I can tell you for a fact that politicians are all the same ,they are all thieves whether PDP or APC ,Soyinka should not soil his good name build over the years. He should refund to the coffers of Rivers State if he was given any honorarium after the rice and stew ,plus red wine

Ibim Semenatari is a big fraud ,she and her principal only used Soyinka as the heading to steal 83 million naira of tax payers funds . Ibim made so much money working with Amechi ,she two houses at VGC ,where did she get such funds ,your guess is as good as mine, media practitioners should stop being lazy and bias ,they should investigate all this stories

Rotimi Amechi was reckless with Rivers State money without a doubt ,he hosted several people with tax payers money ,from Dele Momodu, Soyinka ,EX US CG ,small Adebola Williams and many more to all sorts of dinners . The guy also funded GMB's election ,we know all this ,but pretend that all is well. My two cents is for Soyinka to stop his fraternity with politicians ,they are all corrupt

It's rather unfortunate that Prof Soyinka's name is been dragged in the mud ,but did they spend such a colossal amount on hosting Soyinka? Most def , Amechi was on a spending spree to the media and entertainers ,he loves attention . The then commissioner for information was a big thief ,she made so much money often times short changing journalist ,she's been rewarded as MD NDDC ,what a country ,i de laugh in french. Please leave Soyinka alone ,he was an excited guess who never his head was at the barbers shop having a clean shave .

Akuko akaria...sipping my lipton

-LIB PIKIN-

Soyinka's love and entrance into politics was for two reasons ,his son is a serving commissioner for health in Ogun State while the other one is making money from Lagos state. The prof himself is in charge of the Lagos State yearly cultural fiesta ,so he's APC in disguise ,hence is support for the party and her chieftains . Soyinka needs to follow the likes of the late Gani who never joined or hobnobbed with politicians . Did you ever wonder why Soyinka never critised GMB for disobedience to court orders ? Your guess is as good as mine ,don't throw stones if you live in a glass house ,Prof is in a quagmire

Exactly!!! BUHARIs campaign was from Rivers state treasury.
Buharis corruption fight is just a sham.
And do you know how he proved it by appointing Amaechi Minister.
Thieves all of them.
Deceiving themselves

is soyinka a politician...angelmakiz@yahoo.com

What has happened to human intelligence? Somebody invited a man, a world-famous writer that we should all be proud of,to dinner. Is he expected to ask for a financial breakdown of the dinner before he can attend? This is a stupid article,just trying to drag an upright old man in dirt because he did the polite and nice thing by accepting a dinner invitation. Soyinka had no obligation to hold a seminar on the finances of Rivers State before going to eat a plate of rice and chicken or whatever it was they gave him. Leave this brave and decent old man alone. This article is stupid.