Congolese boy mauled by chimps to undergo facial surgery in NY (photos) | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 5 January 2016

Congolese boy mauled by chimps to undergo facial surgery in NY (photos)

Dunia Sibomana was considered the lucky one when a group of chimpanzees jumped from the trees and attacked him and 2 other boys as they played near a preserve in their native Democratic Republic of the Congo. Dunia, unlike the others, survived. But he was severely disfigured: His lips ripped off and one cheek torn apart, leaving him with muscle damage that make it hard for him to eat, swallow and communicate.

Now, eight-year-old Dunia is set to undergo a rare and complicated surgery at a Long Island hospital that will use tissue and muscle from his forearm to recreate both lips. The hope is that he will once again be able to open and close his mouth, and eat and talk normally.

Dr. Leon Klempner, an associate professor of dentistry at Stony Brook Children's Hospital, where Dunia will undergo the operation, said: 'As you can imagine, not having any lips, the food can just come right out.

'He drools all the time and can't pronounce different words.' 
Dunia had also stopped going to school because the other children in his native Congo ridiculed him. 

Monday's planned eight-hour procedure will be the first of three major operations for Dunia, who was brought from the Congo in November with the help of the non-profit foundation Smile Rescue for Kids.

Dr. Alexander Dagum, the hospital's chief of plastic and reconstructive surgery, said he believes there are only three other documented cases where the same surgery has been performed. The hospital is covering the cost of the surgery and the doctors have all donated their time.

Since the attack two years ago, which killed Dunia's four-year-old brother and a young cousin, Dunia has been the target of bullies and become shy and withdrawn.

In his short time in the United States, he has been living with a host family on Long Island, attending elementary school and learning English in addition to his native Swahili.

Appearing for an interview with this doctors on Monday, Dunia, buried himself in video games on a tablet and colored with markers. He occasionally stuck his tongue out at the doctors as they explained the procedure.

Klempner said: 'We're feeling very optimistic. We're hoping after the surgery he'll reintegrate into society and perhaps go back to school or have some semblance of a normal life.'

Culled from UK Daily Mail

137 comments:

IT HAPPENED AT #HEADIES SO THE WHOLE WORLD WILL KNOW THAT DON JAZZY HAS HAD SERIOUS BEEF WITH THESE 5 TOP NIGERIAN ARTISTS

Chimpanzee attacked him and turned him into one of their brothers. I pray help is found.

Haaaaaaaaaaaaa. breakthrough to him shaaaaaa

O dear! It is well wit u.

kudos said...

Is this picture after or before sugery...Believe

Ehyaa..I hope he comes out hale and hearty #vikkiloveslinda

Hehehehe lindiway we dey night ooo,u for send dis tomorrow morning so plenty ppl will even be awake to wish him well.....I wish u well lil boy,d Lord will be 4 you as u undergo d surgery n u will come out successful.Amen

Hopefully, the surgery will be a success...

Datz gud......may God be with u

~PICK UP D CALL~

I pray God takes charge of the whole process

OKORO UPGRADED

Hmmmmm.....if you are healthy you need to thank God....wish him the best out of the surgery.....

#JUSTPASSING

----WAY TO GET NOTICED ON LIB, TALK TRASH AND BE MEAN----

Hmmmmm.....if you are healthy you need to thank God....wish him the best out of the surgery.....

#JUSTPASSING

----WAY TO GET NOTICED ON LIB, TALK TRASH AND BE MEAN----

It is well

princess Stella said...

The surgery shall be successful and your face returned to normal.

Golda Awosika said...

Ds is 1 out d reasons zoo authorities warn people against feeding those animals, dia is a reason why they are still refered to as wild. I hope his surgery is successful.

Every good work He eternal reward! God bless you guys helping out

End time tinz

Dats y I run lik a mad man anytime I see dis abokis with monkey or chimps.. Sori lil angel, God z ur strength. #TOUCHED#

WEALTHWALE!!!! •LINDA's BOY• said...

God will be with him IJN. And see him through the surgery. It shall be successful IJN

#LindaThumbsUp

Hmmm, may prayer for you Dunia is that your operation will be successful and pretty soon you get re integrated back to the society, still looking handsome and lively.

WEALTHWALE!!!! •LINDA's BOY• said...

Big sis u no dey sleep???
Thumbs Up oooo
No be small thing.

#Wealthwale noni

Jezz!

Okbye.

Wish you a successful surgery Dunia, God will see you through ok.

Wow chimpanzees did this to him? if I see another primate I'm running

May God help you

I pray for a successful surgery.

Okbye

goodluck boy

Babylawyer. said...

Oh my my my! Father see him through during the course of the surgery.
Sorry kid

@Lindaikeji No. I FAN

I pray it's successful

Wish you a successful surgery Dunia.God will see through ok.

Enter your comment...May God help him nd give the doctors wisdom Amen

OMGGGGGGG

But Dunia na sabi boi oooo...
C as he pose for d last pic....
Shame on dat animal

But Dunia na sabi boi oooo...
C as he pose for d last pic....
Shame on dat animal

What a pity.Thank God for his life .help has finally come I pray for Gods perfection in the surgery.m just saying Linda

Wat a pity.... Wish u a Successful surgry

THANK GOD FOR SPARING HIS LIFE. THOSE CHIMPS ARE SAVAGE MEHNN

Damn! ThankGod he will get a new and better life.

Efizzy1 said...

i pray to God for successful surgery for you dunia,dont worry it is well

Bummyla said...

May GOD Help This Wonderful Soul In Jesus Christ Name! Amen! http://www.bummyla.com

New Sheriff in Town.Official Linda and Laura Waiter said...

Lucky Boy. I wish you a successful operation.

i hope they killed those nasty monkeys

oben said...

God take control

Wow.. wishing him a successful surgery!! God bless the actors that made the surgery possible. Wicked chimpanzees

#commonsense

May GOD see him through amen for dat.... @iam MR_Successful and i believe in destiny

INDIGENOUS LIB said...

Theiz iz horrible pleaz

Hope he gets better after the sugery

Awwwww so touching

Toni'Fresh West

Dan said...

What type of this

Lord of mercy.. Chimpanzee dude... Let's go Linda

As in the chimps nor get joy at all

My view not urs!!!!

Linda which one is 'played near a preserve'? Could it be 'played near a reserve'?

Oyibo too much. See the kind of things wey dem dey do. Our own na 4 politicians to dey chop money wey dem suppose use upgrade our health facilities.

Wat a poor boy. . D operation will be successful in Jesus name

Chai...wish him well...
#sips OriJiN#

Dere is God oo said...

Dats so sad

Dere is God oo said...

Dats so sad

I hope so damnnn..

And i pray d surgery ll be successful without any implication. Amen
....from Romans

Oh.. so sad. May God bless d NGO and doctors. Fine lookin young boy. *smh

Good luck boy!

Chai!... Wish him d very best in his surgery

Awwwww...some deformities r just unbelievable

God help him #Desperateme#

Omg.

Thank God

aunty linda Enter your comment...

What a pain he's Going thro.....may he recover soon

renieccc09@gmail said...

Ah this chims na wa ooo.....do they want him 2 luk like them.....

Chai. I never knew Chim are that aggressive.

Lord ve mercy, you re reconstructed bro!!! De great Mabito

Ehyaa make dem do am well o

tosisochukwu said...

Hw was actually lucky! God will preserve his life and he will be nrml again

!brightosman aka fake phyno .#gerarahere

Enter your comment... Jeeez! Dis chimps are dangerous o. Jay-B

God bless the white man . They're a race after Gods own heart. Always doing good to helpless hopeless people. God bless the white race.

Pray 🙏 the procedure go through and have back his normal life. @securityman

Is this for real?,i meant the face?...Omg...Mrs Tommy

DBANJ CRUSH said...

Hmmm,,jesu,

LINDA NOTIFY DBANJ

Michealking said...

Eyaaa . I wish him success as he go for the surgery

Very painful. Wish him a successful surgery

www.allnigerians.com

nell said...

Awwww thank God!

Safe surgery dear.. And God bless d doctors..

*Aunt Linda today is my Birthday*

Chai God Bless them.I could see hope in the lads eyes.hope dose chimps were killed.it will come out successful

Eeeeeeeeeyah! It is well with him. I wish him a successful surgery. Linda take note!

Ope it comes out well

Bethany said...

Am feeling very optimistic too#wink#.

Pray he has a successful surgery.

Awww he must be in some pain

Choi!!! I hope he get his lips back, he'll need it for kisses

First of all God bless the founders of Smile rescue for kids foundation for their good work in Africa....And second of all God bless the White men....The doctors who have donated their time to make sure this operation is very successful..Linda much love/Long Live LIB

Mayberry said...

Amen,may God grant dat which ur heart desires.

Edo babe feeling pity

wish him a successful one.

LINDA SHOW US UR BOYFRIEND.

I KNOW YOU HAVE ONE.

Dis one na long ting. So sorry for the poor boi

Eeyah, wish you a successful surgery.

Ruby Owanate said...

I'm feeling optimistic too...its gon'be successful

thank God for him o....

#cokeroyce

Olatee said...

I pray the surgery goes has planned

Emmy Blu Modesto said...

Dose chimps wiCked o. Dey made d boy to look like dem choi

Uzosafetyblog said...

Wow, he is now and instant celebrity. #IRepLIB

Uzosafetyblog said...

This is the aspect I like the oyinbos. #IRepLIB

It will be so nice to hv him look good again

Dear Lord! I pray he survives it.

may God see him through

poor boy

May God see him through and i say amen! To dat...@iam MR_Successful and i believe in destiny

Ethel said...

Imagine the nonsense! After all these stupid people will say we shouldn't kill animals! I pray the surgery goes well and this cute comes back to normal with a higher self esteem!

OMG!

Kai can't imagine the pain his going thru, wish u the best lil champion

Chichi said...

I pray the surgery becomes a success and wish him a quick recovery after it too.

Holysaint said...

May God protect him and guide the doctors that will work on him, May he come out well. Amen.

It is well

Geez!...I hope he recovers fully afta d surgery.

this Akachi chidi must be daft. read the story you will know if its before or after.

and for the foolish @Stern that said the chimpanzees turned the boy into one of their brothers may God punish you. A little boy gets mauled and you liken to him to the chimpanzees.

Gudluck dear

ehis said...

God help him pls

GHOSTFACE said...

na wa oo.. successful surgery I pray so he can have his normal life

Success in the operation in Jesus name

It is well with u dear....God be with u and make the surgery successful

what a pity, may it be successful... Double your hustle

Pele

God will save you. He has done it before and nothing big for him to do. His able.

He will survive it in JESUS NAME AMEN. ZINO

Did u read the update at all......is. Either u don't read or u read buh don't understand..

emeka4rl said...

I love people with a heart that will accept to treat a boy not known to them for free. Bless their hearts

Monemi said...

It's well with him. I never knew chimpanzees could be this dangerous

Lol,funni

hmmmmmmmmmmmmmm!

I pray the surgery should be successful

Pesin Pikin said...

May God bless him and the surgical procedure

chaii....it shall be fine.

#XENO-FABIAN

Dominic. said...

May the surgery be successfully done and I pray quick recovery for him in Jesus Christ name Amen

Dominic. said...

I pray the surgery is successful and I also pray quick healing upon him in Jesus Christ name Amen.

Samson k said...

Take care oo

good luck...angelmakiz@yahoo.com

the chimp is really angry wooow...thats serious...ahn...the sugery will be successful IJN

#Al sah-him

I pray the operation will be successful ijn