Dunia
Sibomana was considered the lucky one when a group of chimpanzees
jumped from the trees and attacked him and 2 other boys as they played
near a preserve in their native Democratic Republic of the Congo. Dunia, unlike the others, survived. But
he was severely disfigured: His lips ripped off and one cheek torn
apart, leaving him with muscle damage that make it hard for him to eat,
swallow and communicate.
Now,
eight-year-old Dunia is set to undergo a rare and complicated surgery at
a Long Island hospital that will use tissue and muscle from his forearm
to recreate both lips. The hope is that he will once again be able to
open and close his mouth, and eat and talk normally.
Dr.
Leon Klempner, an associate professor of dentistry at Stony Brook
Children's Hospital, where Dunia will undergo the operation, said: 'As
you can imagine, not having any lips, the food can just come right out.
'He drools all the time and can't pronounce different words.'
Dunia had also stopped going to school because the other children in his native Congo ridiculed him.
Monday's
planned eight-hour procedure will be the first of three major
operations for Dunia, who was brought from the Congo in November with
the help of the non-profit foundation Smile Rescue for Kids.
Dr.
Alexander Dagum, the hospital's chief of plastic and reconstructive
surgery, said he believes there are only three other documented cases
where the same surgery has been performed. The hospital is covering the
cost of the surgery and the doctors have all donated their time.
Since
the attack two years ago, which killed Dunia's four-year-old brother
and a young cousin, Dunia has been the target of bullies and become shy
and withdrawn.
In his short
time in the United States, he has been living with a host family on
Long Island, attending elementary school and learning English in
addition to his native Swahili.
Appearing
for an interview with this doctors on Monday, Dunia, buried himself in
video games on a tablet and colored with markers. He occasionally stuck
his tongue out at the doctors as they explained the procedure.
Klempner
said: 'We're feeling very optimistic. We're hoping after the surgery
he'll reintegrate into society and perhaps go back to school or have
some semblance of a normal life.'
Culled from UK Daily Mail
137 comments:
IT HAPPENED AT #HEADIES SO THE WHOLE WORLD WILL KNOW THAT DON JAZZY HAS HAD SERIOUS BEEF WITH THESE 5 TOP NIGERIAN ARTISTS
Chimpanzee attacked him and turned him into one of their brothers. I pray help is found.
Haaaaaaaaaaaaa. breakthrough to him shaaaaaa
O dear! It is well wit u.
Is this picture after or before sugery...Believe
Ehyaa..I hope he comes out hale and hearty #vikkiloveslinda
Hehehehe lindiway we dey night ooo,u for send dis tomorrow morning so plenty ppl will even be awake to wish him well.....I wish u well lil boy,d Lord will be 4 you as u undergo d surgery n u will come out successful.Amen
Hopefully, the surgery will be a success...
Datz gud......may God be with u
~PICK UP D CALL~
I pray God takes charge of the whole process
OKORO UPGRADED
Hmmmmm.....if you are healthy you need to thank God....wish him the best out of the surgery.....
#JUSTPASSING
----WAY TO GET NOTICED ON LIB, TALK TRASH AND BE MEAN----
Hmmmmm.....if you are healthy you need to thank God....wish him the best out of the surgery.....
#JUSTPASSING
----WAY TO GET NOTICED ON LIB, TALK TRASH AND BE MEAN----
It is well
The surgery shall be successful and your face returned to normal.
Ds is 1 out d reasons zoo authorities warn people against feeding those animals, dia is a reason why they are still refered to as wild. I hope his surgery is successful.
Every good work He eternal reward! God bless you guys helping out
End time tinz
Dats y I run lik a mad man anytime I see dis abokis with monkey or chimps.. Sori lil angel, God z ur strength. #TOUCHED#
God will be with him IJN. And see him through the surgery. It shall be successful IJN
#LindaThumbsUp
Hmmm, may prayer for you Dunia is that your operation will be successful and pretty soon you get re integrated back to the society, still looking handsome and lively.
Big sis u no dey sleep???
Thumbs Up oooo
No be small thing.
#Wealthwale noni
Jezz!
Okbye.
Wish you a successful surgery Dunia, God will see you through ok.
Wow chimpanzees did this to him? if I see another primate I'm running
May God help you
I pray for a successful surgery.
Okbye
goodluck boy
Oh my my my! Father see him through during the course of the surgery.
Sorry kid
@Lindaikeji No. I FAN
I pray it's successful
Wish you a successful surgery Dunia.God will see through ok.
Enter your comment...May God help him nd give the doctors wisdom Amen
OMGGGGGGG
But Dunia na sabi boi oooo...
C as he pose for d last pic....
Shame on dat animal
But Dunia na sabi boi oooo...
C as he pose for d last pic....
Shame on dat animal
What a pity.Thank God for his life .help has finally come I pray for Gods perfection in the surgery.m just saying Linda
Wat a pity.... Wish u a Successful surgry
THANK GOD FOR SPARING HIS LIFE. THOSE CHIMPS ARE SAVAGE MEHNN
Damn! ThankGod he will get a new and better life.
i pray to God for successful surgery for you dunia,dont worry it is well
May GOD Help This Wonderful Soul In Jesus Christ Name! Amen! http://www.bummyla.com
Lucky Boy. I wish you a successful operation.
i hope they killed those nasty monkeys
God take control
Wow.. wishing him a successful surgery!! God bless the actors that made the surgery possible. Wicked chimpanzees
#commonsense
May GOD see him through amen for dat.... @iam MR_Successful and i believe in destiny
Theiz iz horrible pleaz
Hope he gets better after the sugery
Awwwww so touching
Toni'Fresh West
What type of this
Lord of mercy.. Chimpanzee dude... Let's go Linda
As in the chimps nor get joy at all
My view not urs!!!!
Linda which one is 'played near a preserve'? Could it be 'played near a reserve'?
Oyibo too much. See the kind of things wey dem dey do. Our own na 4 politicians to dey chop money wey dem suppose use upgrade our health facilities.
Wat a poor boy. . D operation will be successful in Jesus name
Chai...wish him well...
#sips OriJiN#
Dats so sad
Dats so sad
I hope so damnnn..
And i pray d surgery ll be successful without any implication. Amen
....from Romans
Oh.. so sad. May God bless d NGO and doctors. Fine lookin young boy. *smh
Good luck boy!
Chai!... Wish him d very best in his surgery
Awwwww...some deformities r just unbelievable
God help him #Desperateme#
Omg.
Thank God
aunty linda Enter your comment...
What a pain he's Going thro.....may he recover soon
Ah this chims na wa ooo.....do they want him 2 luk like them.....
Chai. I never knew Chim are that aggressive.
Lord ve mercy, you re reconstructed bro!!! De great Mabito
Ehyaa make dem do am well o
Hw was actually lucky! God will preserve his life and he will be nrml again
!brightosman aka fake phyno .#gerarahere
Enter your comment... Jeeez! Dis chimps are dangerous o. Jay-B
God bless the white man . They're a race after Gods own heart. Always doing good to helpless hopeless people. God bless the white race.
Pray 🙏 the procedure go through and have back his normal life. @securityman
Is this for real?,i meant the face?...Omg...Mrs Tommy
Hmmm,,jesu,
LINDA NOTIFY DBANJ
Eyaaa . I wish him success as he go for the surgery
Very painful. Wish him a successful surgery
www.allnigerians.com
Awwww thank God!
Safe surgery dear.. And God bless d doctors..
*Aunt Linda today is my Birthday*
Chai God Bless them.I could see hope in the lads eyes.hope dose chimps were killed.it will come out successful
Eeeeeeeeeyah! It is well with him. I wish him a successful surgery. Linda take note!
Ope it comes out well
Am feeling very optimistic too#wink#.
Pray he has a successful surgery.
Awww he must be in some pain
Choi!!! I hope he get his lips back, he'll need it for kisses
First of all God bless the founders of Smile rescue for kids foundation for their good work in Africa....And second of all God bless the White men....The doctors who have donated their time to make sure this operation is very successful..Linda much love/Long Live LIB
Amen,may God grant dat which ur heart desires.
Edo babe feeling pity
wish him a successful one.
LINDA SHOW US UR BOYFRIEND.
I KNOW YOU HAVE ONE.
Dis one na long ting. So sorry for the poor boi
Eeyah, wish you a successful surgery.
I'm feeling optimistic too...its gon'be successful
thank God for him o....
#cokeroyce
I pray the surgery goes has planned
Dose chimps wiCked o. Dey made d boy to look like dem choi
Wow, he is now and instant celebrity. #IRepLIB
This is the aspect I like the oyinbos. #IRepLIB
It will be so nice to hv him look good again
Dear Lord! I pray he survives it.
may God see him through
poor boy
May God see him through and i say amen! To dat...@iam MR_Successful and i believe in destiny
Imagine the nonsense! After all these stupid people will say we shouldn't kill animals! I pray the surgery goes well and this cute comes back to normal with a higher self esteem!
OMG!
Kai can't imagine the pain his going thru, wish u the best lil champion
I pray the surgery becomes a success and wish him a quick recovery after it too.
May God protect him and guide the doctors that will work on him, May he come out well. Amen.
It is well
Geez!...I hope he recovers fully afta d surgery.
this Akachi chidi must be daft. read the story you will know if its before or after.
and for the foolish @Stern that said the chimpanzees turned the boy into one of their brothers may God punish you. A little boy gets mauled and you liken to him to the chimpanzees.
Gudluck dear
God help him pls
na wa oo.. successful surgery I pray so he can have his normal life
Success in the operation in Jesus name
It is well with u dear....God be with u and make the surgery successful
what a pity, may it be successful... Double your hustle
Pele
God will save you. He has done it before and nothing big for him to do. His able.
He will survive it in JESUS NAME AMEN. ZINO
Did u read the update at all......is. Either u don't read or u read buh don't understand..
I love people with a heart that will accept to treat a boy not known to them for free. Bless their hearts
It's well with him. I never knew chimpanzees could be this dangerous
Lol,funni
hmmmmmmmmmmmmmm!
I pray the surgery should be successful
May God bless him and the surgical procedure
chaii....it shall be fine.
#XENO-FABIAN
May the surgery be successfully done and I pray quick recovery for him in Jesus Christ name Amen
I pray the surgery is successful and I also pray quick healing upon him in Jesus Christ name Amen.
Take care oo
good luck...angelmakiz@yahoo.com
the chimp is really angry wooow...thats serious...ahn...the sugery will be successful IJN
#Al sah-him
I pray the operation will be successful ijn