Prof. Charles Soludo has described the 2016 budget presented by President Buhari as a replica of the one by former president Goodluck Jonathan. The former governor of Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) stated this while speaking at the 13th Daily Trust Dialogue in Abuja, on Thurs Jan 14.
"The present budget is more of the same to the previous ones. Mr. Vice President Prof. Yemi Osinbajo, If you scale your budget on the scale of GDP, it is almost the same with the previous government,"
"It has a historic 37% deficit as we never had it before. The truth is that you are borrowing 37% with only 30 per cent on capital projects",
"To craft the new agenda, we must defeat the old agenda. We cannot make progress in the country with the tools and agenda of the old," Soludo said
He added that the APC-led government was over-following the fall in the price of crude oil globally
and further advised the present administration of the need to evolve a coherent economic plan and agenda as well as the right political architecture, stressing that anything less than this would mean that the leaders are building on a quicksand.
103 comments:
Hmmmmmmmmmmm,so na copy nd paste dem do na
We should wait for the implementation. A budget that almost 70 to 80 percent is filled with recurrent expenditure is going now where. The biggest problem in Nigeria is due to the fact that our Government officials spend "our money" like thieves and rogues. If u make Government position less attractive. It will eradicate corruption and sustain growth.
This administration is full of surprises.
We already know that Buhari have nothing new to offer than to fight his enemies
Can you imagine how i meet Him
As an economist and administrator I must concur to his assertion but present administration must portray d political will not to deviate from coherent economic plan and diversification with an eloquent transperancy.
Hmmmmm...at least, d budget has been found
So what is his business?
!brightosman aka fake phyno .#gerarahere
Nothing we no go hear on this budget issue..good Linda..
I pray Buhari never find anything against Soludo and arrest him
Can you imagine how i meet Him
S he sure or what?Buhari say something!
Operation copy and pasted project
U berra keep shut n don't buy job 4 yaself
Copy copy
I no understand but it is well . Linda take note!
Gbam! Professor don talk. Make Dem make soludo our minister of finance or Dem bring our olojo come back
AJ MAIN BOY...
Now that's a man with constructive criticism.
Mtchewww...
Buhari is incompetent
Changii scamers!
He raised salient points that ought to be put into consideration when making future economic plans.
Sick and tired of all these drama of a thing. Next plss
Oh,where has he been?
K
Tell them
PMB che na oma ihe.
Ndi aruruala
mr soludo please give the govt a break give them the benefit of doubt to articulate their policies and programmes. Lets not all be so much in a hurry to begin to castigate them unnecessarily.
good to kw.
PMB pls be
Original,
& innovative
U don hv to keep repeating.
#kereisjustbeinghonest
politics....angelmakiz@yahoo.com
there is a man i respect his economic sense of judgement....Prof. Soludo you have spoken those those who have ears let them hear.
change...wait... dis ain't no change rite?
If this claim is true ......it means Apc doesn't have any vision or agenda for Nigeria
Hahahaha the prof have spoken.....am still ziggy my name
Enter your comment...which way nigeria
Any how carbon copy or no carbon copy budget is budget shut up
I disagree with u Mr. Soludo. A lot of work went into preparing dis budget. I worked hard all thru Nov and December 2015
A P C....is 419 party
What will I do without friends like you, now more than ever I need your ever present help.
I need your votes to clinch the ultimate price.
Please visit this link
https://fidelitybank.ng/mytoughjobstory/index.php/chinemere-angela-chukwu/
And Vote for my story. If you can please get your friends family and well wishers to also vote.
I need close to a million votes, it is possible with your help.
Nemere appreciates a lot.
God bless you
Tell then my prof. This government lack quality of good leadership.
This Government just has no plan of their own. Na only to catch thieves una don achieve since. We also need more of physical growth and development
Soludo don't be a fool. U should know that this govt has no plans. They still follow our footsteps. No idea in their head. The only thing different is that they are arresting our party men, so that they will claim that they are the master of all this plans leaid down. Zero govt, failed apc. Engr Emy
Ewwwww!!! B4 nko what do we expect frm Buhari/Apc administration.
Hmmmmmm oh really fink so 22..
Okk we here sir
My view not urs!!!!
They always the same since 1993.
#PeopleMustAdjust
BiafraLand
Well said my prof, this government is a failure.
Okay seen
MZ EUEU
D professional analysts speaking
Oga ade shut up there..Even if it's the carbon copy of GEJ's, they will work and deliver unlike the clueless one with the same GDP and nothing to show. I know GMB is gonna achieve 80% of what's in the budget so park well oga looking for attention. EOD!
Well said
Wise words except you didn't apply them in your own time. Pot calling kettle black. Mtchewww!
its not like they av ever done anything different from what the old administration did.
WHAT A NONSENSE
Tell them Soludo. Please come back to the CBN. We forgive you!
change indeed...
Hehehe....change change change
Change indeed
Noted n well spoken.Apc b advised.
your reporting is incredibly biased linda. You make it so obvious you are anti-buhari. Even dailytrust that you got this story from didnt have this headline. You were also conveniently avoided the fact that he totally criticised budgets in the previous governments. shame on you linda
SMH.
"NeVeR SaY NeVeR"
I fully support him. There should be total change in our budget now.
He his still frustrated DAT he wasn't given any appointment.
Not only that the budget is missing is now copy and paste budget.
Nwayi Akwa si na ive erika
(puzzled)
Nawa
Talk about change,yes??
Really?
He's making some sense though
Welcome to the wailing wailers club Prof. I biara ohuru.
Na dem sabi...
I'm not a robot...
Yes boss!!! We need brains like you to tutor dis administration bt they are too proud to seek advice from d past administration. They spend time fighting corruption meanwhile they are corruption themselves. Kettles calling pots black. mtcheeew...
...2016 THINGS jare!
We done hear...
Enter your comment...My Prof, Thumbs up for the critical diagnosis u hv carried out on the proposed budget. God help Nigeria. we dey look o
Nice speech from prof himself.
Lmao#Lindangwanu#
Potato , POTAHTO....All same
For more truths visit www.thetruthbychino.blogspot.com
Clueless regime..Linda observe carefully
Everybody should learn from this.
1. Pls make a change when you can, before ur time passes.
2. Pls make more effort to keep your promises
#investingFornextGiv
eaway
Copycats. PMB administration make your own oo. Forward ever..
that's how it goes when the government is runned by clueless people
This his pic..like I want to be GOVERNOR AGAIN!! HIRE ME!!! I hat this teaching thin
So, no #change afterall.
Ekenekwa m unu!
I concur
Keep quite you frustrateD IDIOT
Ok....
I swear down
Alright
lol, dey no go school how dey understand , wat GDP means ,nna bring dey English down for barrister oc to understand .
This whole drama is getting interesting by the day. Odinma!
We are watching, Shebi na d change be dis?
Very brilliant advice. Buhari I hope you're reading this.. Plz open your iPad and read this and start working. This is the best way to go@ soludo👍
You and ezekwesele never see anything...there shall be no reward for all your noise making against GEJ
Second term campaign.
Very brilliant points and very good advice to Mr president. Buhari I hope you're reading this.. Plz open your iPad and read this and start working. This is the best way to go@ soludo��
And what's that supposed to mean?!!!!
#GodFirst
Linda's Rootfather
Very brilliant points and very good advice to Mr president. Buhari I hope you're reading this.. Plz open your iPad and read this and start working. This is the best way to go@ soludo��
the old man doesn't ve any new thing to offer, apart from i'll fight kworoption.. His just a clueless dullard that's all
the old man doesn't ve any new thing to offer, apart from i'll fight kworoption.. he's just a clueless dullard that's all
@ ify so true..I just wonder..lol @ kworoption.
Buhari does not know how to operate mobile phones let alone ipad.This na exam malpractice. Copy copy
Association of political criminals
@ juliet iwuno, must you comments on every damn thing? Most of times you don't make sense, get busy please.
Shey na like this we go dey dey?
buhari will soon arrest you