Shehu Garba speaks on how NTA/AIT frustrated Buhari during the 2015 presidential campaign | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 15 October 2015

Shehu Garba speaks on how NTA/AIT frustrated Buhari during the 2015 presidential campaign

Special Assistant on Media and Publicity, Shehu Garba has spoken about the frustration president Buhari experienced from media organizations, NTA and AIT during his presidential election campaign earlier this year. Speaking at The Red Media Summit in Lagos, today Oct. 15th, Garba said
“Americans say that elections are won on the dollar. It’s very improbable that anybody can win an election without money. We didn’t have advertising money on our campaign. Even when we had little money to spend on advertising, the Nigerian Television Authority was not making available to us slots, neither was AIT. I remember on a particular night I called NTA, they had 16 slots of one minute adverts and I said I wanted to buy one minute for the Buhari campaign, they said all 16 had been sold.
Some other instances that exposed the partisan nature of the NTA. Money was returned to us, from AIT money was returned to us. They simply won’t advertise for us.”he said
During his speech, Shehu Garba narrated how the prompt spread of news of social media helped him go through a military seige at his home during the campaign period
“The day there was a security siege at my home, I woke up to see that my house had been surrounded by armed policemen in the course of the campaign. In fact it was the cocking of their guns that rose me and my family members from our sleep. Only to discover that tens of policemen, police vehicles, and some other unidentified vehicles darkened our windows around my home. The first thing I did was to say ‘Who will help me out of this situation?’ I needed to expose what was going on, and the‎ first man I reached was Adebola Williams of Statecraft. Adebola began to announce on Facebook and Twitter from that moment until the security elements realized that the whole world was looking at what they were doing, because I remained indoors throughout the siege. Of course it was much later that we came to know why they had come. Even the APC Presidential Campaign was penetrated by fifth columnists, and I will make this confession, because a day before that siege we had had a meeting with the security committee at which we agreed that we were going to run a story announcing that the National Security Adviser at that time, Mr. Sambo Dasuki, was staging a second coup d’etat against Muhammadu Buhari. The former National Security Adviser was involved in a coup that threw out Muhammadu Buhari as military president in 1984. This time around, all the things that followed, the postponement of the election on account of this and that and a lot of the thinking of the campaign was that this was yet another coup being hatched by the National Security Adviser and we eventually discovered that this siege on our homes was to pre-empt the story.‎” he said

59 comments:

It's all in the past now.

Yes o,we all know that, remind them! Preach it! But after all said and done to sabotage PMB campaign, he still won.

Yes o,we all know that, remind them! Preach it! But after all said and done to sabotage PMB campaign, he still won.those who label him unhealthy man are the ones running to hospital $ some are even dieing. God decide, Nigerians decide. Sai baba. Masu gud su gudu!

So? De simply didn't think he deserves that seat as a president....so get lost!

Now he is the president you don't need all this again. TIMILEYIN BLESSING

Jonathan and Co , most especially that Ait man Dokpesi..At last pmb won upon all dey did not to advertise him on tv. .ntor. .God pass una

So what exactly is Shehu Garba point? Sycophant!!!

So what exactly is Shehu Garba's point? Sycophant!!!

Presidential campaign thay has passed a long time ago, this idiot is still talking about it.

Mr. Shehu, I think you shud start finding solutions to end the reign of dis insurgents that has been terrorising nd killing innocent ppl rather than taking us backwards....#fact.

Nw they are winners and thats fact....

Kogi Media said...

It was obvious. The gang up was equally distasteful.

I tired o

AIT and NTA frustrate buhari, and so, why the preaching, oh, u too want become minister,

Abeg who b this idiot wilheminna moses always against Buhari. wetin the man do ur lost Family Slave???? mehnnn go and find a sit Ugly Monk.

But y does he ve to do dat? Some ppl can dig up trouble for Africa sha...

Bitch don't kill my vibe

It was obvious and clear..... NTA has always be like that they support who ever is on power during or before election. But the AIT IS D ONE I DON NOT UNDERSTAND...

Okowright Balaxy said...

Now I see the reason why Buhari started his witch hunt with the former security adviser. Mehn this old man called Buhari is wicked as the devil, he held the grudge of 1984 to withch hunt a man in 2015. I wonder why he has not been able to withch hunt IBB the major beneficiary of the coupt d'tat that threw him out of office then, I guess he's afraid because IBB will sabotage his government again. Somebody please tell Buhari and his goons that campaign is over, they should stop the media rants and deliver change,no one cares about what happened during the campaign anymore. All we want his fast delivering of their campaign promises.

A bottle of honey will help!

Please let's hear joor! Same ol' story everyday, mtchww!

Lol. Me sef tire ooo.

We need solutions to Nigeria's problems not all these unnecessary epistle. School leavers are unemployed ,u are still talking about how a 70+ man who wants to die in power, was treated during elections. Abeg,politics is a dirty game. Give us the change we asked for.

Man of the people said...

Ooooooh Mr shehu or shaba no man can move on looking bck, dats in d past now we xpect baba to begin his plans on makin naira equal to dollar, feeding school children, ending bikoharam, bringing fuel to #40 par litre. Buhari na presido now a fight well fought and won, but remember Nigerians are waiting 4 change oooo. #giveusBIAFRA

Ur a true product of APC. Lies,lies and lies all d time. GMB didn't win any election GEJ just didn't want any Nigerian to die unlike u guys

At d end of d day upon all d so called seige n money rejection 4 adverts none of ur lifes was lost...None was even injured n wen PMB won our darling n selfless GEJ stil peacefully handed over...that is sometin PMB would neva do if it were him! He 4 prefer make d country pack up first! Nobody was r is after u ppl! una don enter na, make una do d work n stop d noise...

Forget the past.
Concentrate on today.
There's work to be done.
Shun vendetta.
Quit lamentations.
Do the work we voted you into office for.
Haba!
Pettiness has never been a virtue. Soon 2019 will be here and we'll see how free your own elections would be.

Agatha said...

....... and to think these are the kind of people that want to move us forrward when they keep taking us back.

valushi said...

You can learn from what he said, in case you are faced with a similar situation, you'll know what to do. God is everything.

Same way you don't desrve to be on LIB you local igbo girl...Annoying and full of hate and so childish.

God will punish Jonathan and his cohorts.Stupid man

My friend we have gone past dat face d insurgency,unemployment and economic problems facing us.u are no more in opposition but now in power mr man.

I wonder why the DG of NTA and others haven't been fired yet. Let people call it witch hunt if they like. They should be held accountable for their actions.

How much you dey earn yoursef?

That's the beauty of life

Discover The Shocking Truth About Aspirin

That's all in the past now. After all he won, didn't he?

What is more important now Mr Garba? Please use you energy to think of how to help this country, instead of instigating hate!!!

Dey should let bygones be bygones, sekina! Linda take note!

Una body just dey hot for nothing. Sai Baba !!!!

zolaman said...

win big tomorrow, 95% record winning prediction. click the link and thank me later
http://naijafreebrowsing.net/naijaforum/betting-tips-free-betting-predictions/26-english-premiership-weekend-prediction

Truth b told, I never PMB any chance of winning in dis election but 2d glory of God dat he won after all we all want change and we hav already started experiencing dis change in Nigeria.

We all shall live to testify d wonders dat d Lord shall do via PMB making Nigeria d best country in d world.

Pls drop ur fone no let's talk asap very urgent and impoortant thanks....

What's all these complain after campaign about? So this is the job and noise for another four years?

Nenne George!!!! Or what ever u call urself, mumu!! Can't u see his point he is trying to make am not too surprise that u can't see his point becos u be block head. U be cow Nenne!!!

Is it your father that is on that seat now if PMB didn't fit the seat. You must be sump!

zinnypearl said...

sir engage yourself in better things. you must have opposition in what ever you do

Wonder what makes an anon think that "its" opinion matters.

Anon that speaks the truth is way better than an idiot local girl with an identity that talks like a bus conductor,foolish small girl,try change,you fit be nice person,but this your style nor be am sha.

victor said...

Shehu Garba, let's face the future, remember this is democracy. If you were able to advertise in all the TV stations in Nigeria except for AIT and NTA, there's no big deal. There must be opposition somewhere you should understand that, let's forget about hate speeches and witch hunting and move forward, there's a lot to be done

Fumigation 247 said...

Shehu Garba Should allow the sleeping dog some rest, and channel his energy to more productive issues which will better the nation. Am too sure that even PMB wont even have stuffs like that bottled up within b/c he is likened to a moving trane. A balanced society comprises of +ve & -ve critics.

mr shehu Garba abeg let us hear word. Buhari is now the president, look for the way forward, we don't need all these. other parties had their own experiences so don't disturb us with what happened in the past.

Let the sleeping dogs lie

Oko Balaxy nd Vu Moore, shut th fuck up! U re a bastard for making this comment. Shehu Garba is saying what play during the election period. U re here making stupid comment. Idiot!

Stupid little bush poverty striking BEACH...I don't blame u @all I blame linda ikeji 4 given privilege to nonentity like u to feel among normal pple nd yet you refuse to upgrade to a normal standard ....., u choose to remain the Animal u have always been....i pity ur poverty striking parent 4 rearing Animal like u thinking u ar human being ......u rather get lost nd go get a life than making fool of ur self bitter soul cadiac arrest await u.......shegiya yarbanzakawai

Shehu u r suppose to be responsible so what do we make out of this or u have suddenly lost ur sense of decency,be heating it ok, is dat what u shld be concerned about now, look at ur face sef,am sure if u were in Jonathans shoe u wld ve been sponsoring book haram at dis time becos u didn't win ,beta learn how to talk. Hausa meehen

undiluted@hardtalkng said...

But Apc is doing worst things now. How can Apc be leaving in yesterday always. Always referring to days gone without much credibility and sincerity. In short Apc received the best treatment under JEG. Buhari has been contesting for presidency for 16 years now. He should open his mouth and tell nigerians his experience in the past elections not conducted by JEG. He will shock you. Be that as it may, Apc stopped at nothing to castigate a ruling govt more than the ruling govt could do to stop Apc from their unruly behaviour. But JEG understood that politics is dirty and would never follow a decent tradition. He allowed Apc to grow maybe for the good of the state of Nigeria. We are waiting to see Apc conduct their first mega election in Nigeria. Then we will gauge the civility in the heart of the Apc govt.

undiluted@hardtalkng said...

But Apc is doing worst things now. How can Apc be leaving in yesterday always. Always referring to days gone without much credibility and sincerity. In short Apc received the best treatment under JEG. Buhari has been contesting for presidency for 16 years now. He should open his mouth and tell nigerians his experience in the past elections not conducted by JEG. He will shock you. Be that as it may, Apc stopped at nothing to castigate a ruling govt more than the ruling govt could do to stop Apc from their unruly behaviour. But JEG understood that politics is dirty and would never follow a decent tradition. He allowed Apc to grow maybe for the good of the state of Nigeria. We are waiting to see Apc conduct their first mega election in Nigeria. Then we will gauge the civility in the heart of the Apc govt.