Newborn baby dies in dad's arms while parents waited 2 hours for a midwife | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 21 August 2015

Newborn baby dies in dad's arms while parents waited 2 hours for a midwife

A hospital is investigating the death of a newborn baby sent home the day after a traumatic birth - as his distraught young parents waited over two hours for a midwife.
Colby Risso was born to 16 year-old mother Caitlin Walsh 2 weeks ago after a problematic 11 day labour.
Immediately after the birth Caitlin and her partner Jack Risso, 19, noticed the left side of the baby's face was droopy and his eye would not open properly.
They say they were told by hospital midwives that Colby would be checked out but heard nothing more.
They were sent home from hospital at 11.30pm the day after the birth and two days later a midwife visited and said everything was fine.
But a day later Colby woke from a sleep and started gushing milk out of his nose.

Panicked Caitlin called the midwife who promised to be there within two hours but she never arrived.
After an hour-and-a-half Colby became listless and as his parents cuddled him he gave a sudden gasp then stopped breathing.
The couple called 999 and an ambulance arrived in 11 minutes and rushed him back to Milton Keynes Hospital.

Doctors managed to resuscitate him and he was transferred to John Radcliffe Hospital in Oxford.
But his brain was badly damaged due to a lack of oxygen and the parents believe Colby actually died in the arms of his father.

The couple agreed to switch off the life support machine on July 30 - when Colby was just 6 days old.

A post mortem could not determine a cause of death so Colby's brain was sent to London for tests, but the tests were inconclusive.

Milton Keynes Hospital has said it is carrying out a "full investigation" into Colby's death.
Caitlin, from Bletchley,said: "We feel failed by all the medical staff.
"The hospital should not have let me go home.
"I'm a 16 -year-old girl with a newborn. "We feel devastated. " We feel let down.
"We feel nobody was there for us when our baby needed help. "I don't think we will ever recover.
We knew our baby was dying right there in front of us and nobody was there to save him.
"We hope lessons will be learned from Colby's death and others will not suffer like we have."

Recalling the traumatic birth Caitlin said: "It was horrible.
"His heartbeat dropped to 60 beats a minute several times and at the end he needed forceps and suction to get him out.
"His face was droopy and one of his eyes would not open properly. "The midwives said they'd get him checked out but nothing happened.
"The doctors thought there could have been brain damage, possibly due to the birth, that was not picked up.
"That would explain why one side of his face was droopy."
Caitlin and Jack, a demolition worker, claim they have had little contact with the hospital since the death apart from a phone call from a bereavement midwife.

UK MIrror

45 comments:

aproko manager said...

Eyahhhhh

Awww! May his soul rest in peace.

RIP to the kid....

That's just too bad....

Awww sad

Apple Berry said...

Hmmmm. That's terribly sad.

Awwwww,so sad...bt d parents tho 16yrs nd 19... small children for naija

Nawoo 16yrz old hmmm it's well. RIP to d baby

How come they didn't call 911 in the case of n emergency, instead they called a mid-wife. both the hospital and parents are careless.

How come they didn't call 911 in the case of an emergency, instead they called a mid-wife. both the hospital and parents are careless.

Would you call a mid-wife and wait for her for 2 hours when your baby is dying? And what kind of hospital didn't detect that the baby wasn't fit to leave the hospital? And we wan go born pikin for yankee. #Godsaves

Dis is so sad! RIP lil man!

I was wondering the same , they could Fu***k and make a baby but couldn't call an Ambulance at once ... Stupid kids

So sad! May God rest his soul and comfort his parents....

Why didn't they call 999 at first? What will the midwife do, is she a paediatrician? Waiting for 2 hours while your baby is dying.
This is what happen when you have teenage parents. Children giving birth to children.
RIP LITTLE ONE

Thanks for speaking my mind

adenikeYA said...

RIP to the little one. Odd responses here. Milton Keynes is in the UK. Midwives are used for birthing in the UK. They send you home after birth and the midwife checks up on you, occasionally. Yankee is the USA. Birthing methods defer in both countries. No country is devoid of such mishap. However, these were kids with no prior experience at parenting. Probably if an adult was with them, things would have turned out otherwise. What a bad experience for the young parents.

adenikeYA said...

RIP to the little one. Odd responses here. Milton Keynes is in the UK. Midwives are used for birthing in the UK. They send you home after birth and the midwife checks up on you, occasionally. Yankee is the USA. Birthing methods defer in both countries. No country is devoid of such mishap. However, these were kids with no prior experience at parenting. Probably if an adult was with them, things would have turned out otherwise. What a bad experience for the young parents.

Ha! Really sad!

Because they are kids having kids!

999.The incident happened in the uk.

This is what happens when kids have babies because kids will always act their age.... how can you see milk gushing out of your baby's nose, you call a midwife and wait over an hour for her, she didn't come and you kept waiting? What happened to calling 911 initially when you did not see her in 10-20mins? They had to wait till the little chap stopped breathing to call 911. Abeg both the parents and the hospital were careless.

Carelessness on both parties! D mid wife didn't come & dey just sat & waited. Who does that? RIP little one!!

Rip baby, but how come this teenagers didnt call 999 and instead they were calling midwife. Would midwife have saved the child. And what about family members? Teenagers went home with a brand new baby and no adult relative present??? OYINBO!!!!

OMG! RIP 2d precious soul.

sad. May his soul rest in peace.

oh my

So sad OMG!!!

Really sad, RIP lil boy

Sophie joe said...

Nigerians can be silly at times,you are complaining about the couple's age, most of you that are single mum or dad how old were you when you had you when you had your own baby.....shaa R.i.p to the baby. And my deepest condolence to the young parent.

Sad! Rest in peace baby

Didi Stories said...

Ouch.... Rip lil one

Visit my blog for ur captivatin short story @ www.itsdidisblog.blogspot.com

Sophie Joe said...

Nigerians can be funny at times, you are busy criticizing the young parent. how old was your mother when they married her. single mums and dads how old were you when you had your own babies. We don't know what brought their marriage . So please give them as little space. in your country isn't 13 years a legal age for marriage. And these young couple has gone through a lot your rash judgement isn't gonna help them, try to consider reasons why they must have married. shaaaa R.I.P to the Lil kid. And my deepest condolence to the young couple, though after 30 mins they should have called the ambulance. Everyone is to blame here, both the hospital and the couple, but not the couple's age.......nahhh

So sad....

Eeeeeeeeeyah! May the little angel rest in peace. Linda take note!

Mang Yono said...

happy blogging back to my favorit blog Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sad!

Stay-at-home parents can now work and earn from home

Eyyahhhh....RIP to the little tot.

This must have been a case of reflux with secondary complication as choking/asphyxia. Midwife probably thought it was simple reflux and didn't bother much. However, who watches their baby dying for two hours without calling emergency services? Sorry o.

thats sad but the parents were careless...why wait for a midwife to arrive when they could have easily rushed the baby to the hospital? evidently it was a very serious issue that needed emergency response...

DADDYSWIFE said...

Eyah.i knw he is already restin in thy Lord.pray dt God shall console n soon provide them wit another adorable gift in Jesus name.amen!
#nothankyoui'llratherbeselfmade

So sad, RIP baby