National Human Rights Commission stops 40yr old man's marriage to a minor | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 26 July 2015

National Human Rights Commission stops 40yr old man's marriage to a minor

The National Human Rights Commission last week stopped the planned marriage of a 40-year-old man to a 13-year-old girl who is a primary 5 pupil of POWA Primary School in Abuja.

According to Channelstv, the marriage, which was billed to take place on July 24 in Abuja, was halted by the Commission after an investigation.

A statement by the Chief Press Officer of the Commission, said that following a tip off, the Commission interrupted the ceremony and retrieved the minor from the offender’s house and invited all parties involved to the Commission including the groom to be, one Mr. Ibrahim, who had full knowledge that the girl was less than 18 years of age prescribed by Law.

After thorough interrogations, the Commission cited the relevant laws to back its decision to stop the marriage, including Sections 21, 22, 23 of the Child Rights Act 2003 which prohibits child marriage or betrothal, an offence which is punishable by five years imprisonment or 500,000 naira fine.

The Executive Secretary of the National Human Rights Commission, Professor Bem Angwe, while referring the matter to the Commissioner of Police, FCT Command for prosecution, also expressed the determination of the Commission to ensure the implementation of the Child Rights Act and its enforcement against all persons irrespective of their status or religious belief.

The Executive Secretary enjoined parents and guardians to be vigilant and ensure that their children and wards are not exposed to early marriage which does not only offend the law but has psychological, social and health implications.

Source: Channels TV

52 comments:

seyi crown said...

This good news

good of them...the man should be arrested!

Imagine rubbish. We're do dese animals spring up from, a gril young enough u be ur grand daughter, am sure the Ewu is a northerner, Cuz na their wrk be that

Steady said...

Wicked man

Wow!!! #childnotbride

Lol.
Can they do it in Kano?
That one go cause religious riots.

Imagine lying on a little girl with that your 40 years body. I'm sure many matured girls are calling for your attention. Don't you even have shame?

All a teenager know is to play, not marry to look after all of you foolish men.Any men looking for a child bride is a sadist.

Blessing Patrick said...

Umu idiot.he should go and marry his daughter. Good one commission!

i hate islam religion, i also hate islam people

Cheap publicity stunt.... Stop the man because he is a pauper, not because it is the RIGHT THING TO DO... These guys should swear that they don't know Yerima's House.

Joy C said...

In this era? God punish d idiot of a man.
Even if they (d parents) dash u, say no to child abuse.

Retarded man. Things we only see in d north. how can u marry a lil girl. Stupid hausa people

Ladun Liadi said...

Looks to me like the girl's parents consented, that's part of d problem.

Very very good. Way to go! Linda take note!

Gud news....

Give your life to God linda is harbouring evil news too carrying much news about demonic family kardashian and jenner

Ode, did u not read Abuja? Nd u had to repeat dis rubbish three times...smh

Wow! Nice one dat they stopped dis horribie practice. God bless them for dis noble venture.

Make them free him joor, is not like he forced the girl and her parents......those human right no sabi Yerima house, they are simply hunting there enemy and not doing her job

Read the post.....his name na Ibrahim

Na Aboki handwork, good 4him..imagine u mking love to some1 old enuff to be ur grand daughter, ewu gambia. Pls this should cut across every whre, there ar some Northern idiots in the name of a rich man that ar married to babies..arrest nd stop them all#singinavemaria

*there job

Right!

Is not a north thing its an Islamic thing

Some people are just shameless! How do you marry a girl who is in primary school in your forties and someone will want to justify this perversion with religion?! God no go gree

What good comes out from the islamic religion ..nothing!

Only a stupid Christian can hate Islam. There are many here

More of stories like this....love it!!

Exactly my tot Don Onyekachi, they should get him arrested first before anything please.

Shegiya Linda. She no dey gree post my comment. Only okoro posts ko.

At least is better than those chibok girls in boko Haram captivity.is good to go for non tasted abeg

Y hate a whole religion because of one man's crime, please like Islam, we are a large part of the society, u cant do without us....please reconsider.

But the Prophet married a six year old and disvirgined her at nine. So what is wrong with following the Prophet?

De girls parents shld b considered as her worst enemy
Sincerely speaking dey dnt love her cos if dey do,dis wldnt come up
God pls save de world
#oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

@ Henry Eze. You are a useless waste of space. You are a useless human being. God will punish you for the comment u made. Stupid human being

Thank GOD it was stopped,,i hope the stupid mr ibrahim gets the fives years imprisonment,,animal.

Senator shettima nko?

Thank GOD it was stopped,,i hope the stupid mr ibrahim gets the fives years imprisonment,,animal,disgusting fool at 40,

Golda Awosika said...

Al ds fuckin retards dat regard demselves as sane

Hope the same body can stop girls below 18 from having sex (cos lots of them are enjoying the thing out there) and will not stop a 40+ man from marrying an 18 year girl. If yes, I'll advise the man to wait 5 more years for the girl and use that waiting period to support her academically. God knows best.

Create an aboki blog then. This is an OKORO Blog. Anuohia.

Thank God they stop the marriage, the foolish man is an Onuku smh what does a 13yrs old girl know about taking care of a husband haba!!!

Lol @shegiya.
Aboki is dat u?

Nice one people, thumbs up.

beautiful9jadelta... said...

Beautiful9jadeltababe...dat s good make dem lock all of dem up for jail joor...Hmmmm Justsayingmaown via ma LATEST TECHNO F7

The act being quoted was enacted in 2003. Pls are these human rights people ignorant of the goings in d north? Abeg make them go sidon biko. This ibrahim is obviously poor, Bcos the Yerimas of this country do not have this laws quoted for them.....abeg, they should be guided abeg

Good one