President Jonathan warns against negative triumphalism | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 7 April 2015

President Jonathan warns against negative triumphalism

Read the State House press statement below...
As the nation prepares for Saturday’s governorship and State Assembly elections, President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan calls on all Nigerians to remain peaceful, united and law-abiding. The President condemns the very unseemly attempt by some politicians, groups and individuals to intimidate others, heat up the polity and cause public disorder and disaffection in the aftermath of the Presidential and National Assembly elections.
President Jonathan is especially concerned about the negative triumphalism that has been put on display by certain elements since March 31 which flies in the face of his personal commitment to post-election peace, unity and national stability.

The President calls on all those, who through their actions and utterances, have been promoting divisiveness, sectionalism and ethnic hatred in the country following the outcome of the March 28 elections to cease and desist from actions that detract from the true spirit and culture of democracy envisioned by patriotic men and women of goodwill in Nigeria.

President Jonathan also condemns the undue harassment of public officials serving under his administration and urges all affected persons to continue to perform their lawful duties without fear. The President cautions that this should be a time for the healing of political wounds in the overriding interest of national unity, stability and progress, not a time for ethnic jingoism and the settling of scores. The Federal Government will not condone any attempt to instigate a crisis in any part of the country in furtherance of personal political ambitions.

President Jonathan assures all Nigerians that his administration remains fully committed to national progress and the entrenchment of the best values of democracy for the good of all Nigerians. He urges Nigerians to go out en-masse once again on April 11 to vote for candidates of their choice in the Governorship and State Assembly elections with the confidence that his administration will do all within its powers to ensure that they do so in peace, without threats, intimidation or violence from any quarters.

Reuben Abati
Special Adviser to the President (Media & Publicity)
April 7, 2015

99 comments:

One nigeria

Shook Kili iii, a shokkiiiii

Heard.

Pamscrib.blogspot.com

Good one coming from jona,biko where is MamP??

A man with a gud heart no doubt.....

My president my hero. The best democrat in dis nation. The father of peace. My Exellency I salute u sir.

Noted sir

tsalz c.e.o said...

Well noted Sir.. una wey wan kill all d igbos hope say una don hear..

Noted sir

Well said outgoing President sir!

Wonderful speech Mr President.

Well said GEJ

Noted, and thanks for d care. Its interesting to knw dat he took tins well, and maturely. God bless him, and mama peace too.

Una don hear am? Trouble makers @ apc.

This man is great..."candidates of their choice"...irrespective of tribe and political affiliation

APPLELIPX said...

Tanx GEJ
Dnt mind oba, ekiti law makers and their likes

That is my president talking. A man of peace and unity. since he has been president we have not had the type of ethnic divisions that we are having right now. Buhari should also try and make his govt one of unity so as to ensure peace.

The Oba of Lagos in an attempt to intimidate the igbos resident in Lagos has threatened to kill igbos if they vote for Jimi Agbaje for Governor. No body can test the resolve of our people. Igbo bu igbo let us now show our electoral worth and relevance by voting for Agbaje. Great warriors of Biafra, please teach this Oba a lesson with your vote. Any igbo who votes for Ambode is a slave. Send this to at least 5 others. Igbo kwenu ! !

Pdp started the ethnic divisiveness. Good words though.

Is Jonathan not coming to lagos again like b4?come & share dolla now?mcheww!!

My president don spoke,but hw come he was fast about this Case. (WESTINO says so )

Oga Jona, well done. I commend your good works. Linda take note!

lami said...

Well nicely said.

True talk sir. The Pacesetter. U set the pace for others to follow

They say they don't want Army during elections, now they plan to attack Ibo people. If I am president Jonathan, I will flood the street of Lagos with the Military on that day.

The PDP might be corrupt, but the APC is evil reincarnation from the pit of hell.

Now that they have won the elections, they want to kill all opponents. Was that how jonathan treated them when he won?

It is so sad the level of their childishness.

Ok Presido, we don hear! But Fayose is going down! U can't help him this time

princess said...

Good! Hope Apc calls their candidates and supporters to order cos they r just to desperate...

lucybings amebo said...

Peace is all we need. In Benue both party's are threatening fire and brim storm. I hope we survive dis though.

Dear GEJ please make sure there is tight security on that day because APC is very violent, wicked, vindictive etc. Their leaders are not like you all in PDP . Please do this so that Nigerians will feel secure and not intimidated. GOD BLESS NIGERIA AND GOD BLESS GEJ EVEN MORE.

A good man has spoken. Nigerians comply and do d needful.

WORD...Who No Know Go know...#OgaJona.

Dear Nigerians don't let any one intimidate you. Vote for whoever you want. Nigeria is for us all. Say NO to godfatherism.

Honestly , I think everybody is important in our democracy, but the problem I see looming here is that Ndigbo are about to fall casualty of electoral battle here again as it happened at the presidential level. Allowing themselves to be misled again by the PDP into a face-off with the traditional leadership of a state where they're accomodated is not a wise move at all. Even if Jimi Agbaje was to win, his allegiance will never be towards Eze Ndigbo but towards the man who already is crossed with the Igbos - The Oba himself. At last this will turn out to be that the Igbos were used and dumped by Jimi. If Ambode wins, the situation might not still be different as long as this Oba is still crossed. This is the bitter reality. The Igbos should be wise and not let the PDP make them casualty here again.They should find a way to mend their relationship with this oba. Politics is a game played with the head, not the heart.

Johnnie said...

#GEJmyHero....well said

O.N. Progeny said...

4k off. U caused it. Well, u gave up just like that cos you ain't gat norrin to show anymore. If u had had a strong vision u'd not let go like that. U'd hv sack jega wen it was obvious be was playing out northern agenda. U'd wud have know n that you don't pick ur umpire in a contest from ur enemies' conclave. U wud have known that as Buhari's strongholds were bent on rigging the election, u ought to have rig that of your strongholds too. U ignored all these, hoping on luck. You didn't know that one thing about luck is that it runs out.

i love GEJ anytime and everytime. you remain my president and i remain loyal

U mean public officials stealing under ur administration

My presido

Fola said...

Hmmm such a gentle and humble man......yimu

Tendency oby said...

Good speech

STAR said...

This nation needs God tribalism will be what would destroy this nation.

TWITS said...

I LOVE YOU, PRESIDENT JONATHAN.
GOD BLESS YOU MUCH MORE, AMEN.

Correct man

The man of peace and unity, an epitome of patriotism, I emulate you. God bless your generations

Lin Lin my love!

Thank you Oga. Pls Lagos landlords should take note. In civilized climes such people would have long resigned from such positions. This has also shown how intolerant the APC is. God bless Nigeria.

God bless u sir

Correct man...#gbam#

very well said...hope you all heard him!!!

Ma respect Mr Presido.....Me love ya like forever..#winks#

Onomiroro Dono Okeh said...

Thank you Mr President........ Thank God for technological improvement and thank humans for abuse/misuse. Oops! There Are No More Fishes in the River, They're All in the Net. Forgive me Internet

Goaldyn Boy said...

You are a big fool! Who do you think you are deceiving?! You think we don't know you are an APC agent?! APC has lost Igbo votes bcos of the Oba's ranting and there is nothing you can do about it!!!

Eno said...

O.N Progeny ur a mad man for telling ur president to 4k off,he should fight for what u that is runing ur mouth if he deside to fight will u stand by him ijiot like u.he is the best president ever

tonykasyno said...

Crazy fool,talking dust

Finally, he spoke. Y is he talking now. @ least we r aware of d Fani Kayode's, Okupe's, Fayose's n even his Wife. Suddenly, he woke up when he heard d one of d Oba of Lagos.

Nextttttttttt

Abeg ask am ooo

U must be talking about PDP

Lol. Whoaaaaaaa. PDP is innocent. Ya right

That will be saying dat don't vote 4 either PDP or APC cos dey r both guilty of that

indeed!!

Nexxxxxxxxxxxt.

Igbos are obviously poor in political dexterity. Look at the impulsive and emotional outburst of @Goaldyn Boy to a candid viewpoint from @Anon9:13. The truth is that political success has little or nothing to do with emotions, but tact.

keep your commendation. na now day break?

Transformation said...

Omo oba, you are just as careless with speech as your immature oba.

Transformation said...

Omo oba you are careless with speech like your immature oba

Then all your people working in d niger delta oil companies should start packing thier bags o, cos o di kwa risky o!!!

U r simply d fool,wat cn u boast of in ur entire life,uneducated mind.

Well said

Well said

And it is so sad d level of ur stupidity madam igbo community!

just me!!! said...

GEJ shld beta kip quiet! Look who is talkin. Did his wife, Fani Kayode and Fayose not say worse tins to deir opponents and anyone dat is against dem? Make Jonathan park well jor and concentrate on d load u and Dame and packin to Otueke!

Why didn't he say anything when asari and tompolo et al were running mouth?

Be careful...

Father of peace as well as
husband of peace

The Oba of Lagos in an attempt to intimidate the igbos resident in Lagos has threatened to kill igbos if they vote for Jimi Agbaje for Governor. No body can test the resolve of our people. Igbo bu igbo let us now show our electoral worth and relevance by voting for Agbaje. Great warriors of Biafra, please teach this Oba a lesson with your vote. Any igbo who votes for Ambode is a slave. Send this to at least 5 others. Igbo kwenu ! !

It's more @ PDP

Go joor a man who cannot control the wife how much more a nation like nigeria. What did u do to south south and south east for 6years u will soon realized what u did man woman like u go and park well

chinwelovesnseikpeetim said...

APC take note#shokiRochasOkorochaOutOfDouglasHouse

chinwelovesnseikpeetim said...

@progeny u sound like a senseless he goat....what do u even know.ozuo!

Wise saying from a wise president.....

I feel Very sorry for these Ibo people. I wish you guys would just sit down n think instead of always being on the receiving end n loosing out. It's such a shame

Failure is talking. After May 29 u and ur co loters will die in jail if u don't return our money.

Well done sir

Eno said...

I want to see how the so called GMB will lead this nigeria.all ready he has started moving with the thieves of nija

Vickie' Vickie' said...

Coppied!

John said...

It is very strange to me, but I am beginning to like this man now. I don't know why.

Vickie' Vickie' said...

Coppied!

John said...

You won't believe this, in spite of the President's mistakes and failures, I am beginning to like him. Nobody is above mistakes and failures, we are all humans. The only part I may not be able to forgive is the corruption aspect.

John said...

You won't believe this, in spite of the President's mistakes and failures, I am beginning to like him. Nobody is above mistakes and failures, we are all humans. The only part I may not be able to forgive is the corruption aspect.

Well said mr president,You are a man with a good heart. I am proud of you, life na jeje o Nigerians!

Obviously Failure has Humbled Him,b4 Now Femi Fani Kayode,Okukpe & His Loud Mouthed Wife did d Talking. How art d Mighty Fallen

Well said My President, they cant do anything

once a president, is ever a president........kudoz

I just want these notifications to stop for myself.
บาคาร่า
จีคลับ
gclub