AY writes open letter to IG of Police on the piracy of his movie, '30 Days in Atlanta | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 16 February 2015

AY writes open letter to IG of Police on the piracy of his movie, '30 Days in Atlanta

Yeah, it's happened to comedian turned movie producer, Ayo Makun, too. His popular movie, 30 Days in Atlanta, which is Nigeria's highest grossing cinema movie of all time, has been pirated. The pirates are now selling copies of the movie on the streets of Lagos. Below is his open letter to IGP.
Dear sir,
It is with the deepest sorrow that I pen these words. I have never understood the true meaning of the saying “only the one wearing the shoes feels the pain”, till recent times. Since the advent of Independent Producers, piracy has become the bane of the industry because as the saying goes ‘monkey de work, baboon de chop’.
The excitement that greeted the movie industry through the Box-Office success of 30 Days In Atlanta has quickly turned to sorrowful awe as I heard the news that the result of my sweat and sleepless nights has been sold by a traitorous miscreant, yet unknown, to a dubious marketer in Alaba. The news that would have made not just more Nigerians but also foreigners invest in Nollywood, has been dampened by the nefarious activities of intellectual pirates who hide in Alaba.
I have contacted Silverbird Film Distribution (whom I submitted the master of my movie to), Mr Afam Ezekude DG National Copyright Commission and Mr Ahbu Ventures who heads a session of Alaba where the Criminals are operating, Yet nothing visible has been done to take my movie off the street.
I have always heard of the risk faced by honest producers of loss of revenue due the activities of the incessant piracy cabals operating freely, without fear of the law in Nigeria and within the past few weeks, this has been my experience as I heard of the leak of my movie to various nefarious elements. Enough is enough of the economic hardship that is created for hardworking movie producers by some of these Alaba pirates who would do anything to reap from where they did not sow.
Sir, it has been argued that the impressive figures posted as revenue accrued to Nollywood are a mere drop in the ocean if the malaise of piracy is properly nipped by the effective implementation of the anti-piracy laws by the relevant governmental agencies. Alaba is part of Nigeria and as such the activities therein ought to be governed by the laws of Nigeria.
Even the laudable financial facilities made available by Mr President to be accessed by producers towards the development of the industry both as an employer of labour and a growing contributor to the annual revenue of Nigeria will be for naught if the piracy vampires continue to have a field day. The continued dominance of piracy will either lead to producers refusing to make more movies for fear of loss or that producers who go ahead to make movies using such funds will then be forced to become indigents because they will unable to pay back the loans accessed due to these vandals.
Sir, Nollywood is a multi-billion-naira industry and the opening of new cinema houses across the country is indeed cause for the celebration for both producers and lovers of Nigerian movies but the major challenges of the Nollywood industry from its birth till date has been the issue of transparent distribution channels and the malaise of piracy.
No more should a miscreant be celebrated or allowed to rape intellectual properties of honest hardworking citizens with impunity while the owners of the property impotently look on. No more should movie producers and other intellectual property owners scrabble to quickly make the little they can before ‘Alaba boys’ get their hands on the content and turn a goldmine into a dunghill.
I urge you to use your good office to use your actions in arresting the illegal spread of 30 Days In Atlanta as a standard for changing the status quo and letting the miscreants know that no one is above the laws of Nigeria.
I wait your intervention sir.
Thanks
AY

146 comments:

Good.

Naija, we hail thee! But it's quite painful sha

Let him go to sleep.. the boys must chop na. I do know he has made back the budget cost and made profit too, so what else does he want?

Me I buy am for traffic #500,i don't know if it's d pirated copy,have not even had time to watch

We have laws on intellectual pty as pertaining to piracy. Wat we need is enforcement.

Say no to piracy ! But serious guy u don make enof money nah shoo. No be everybody get the money to cinema biko, rest jooor Haa movie wey u don carry go Ghana too come dey make more than what u spent better chill ooo bc this ur open later no go work . Anyway piracy is not good shaa

the fear of Alaba boys is the beginning of wisdom

I thought he would have made a joke off it since he's grossed over 170 Million from Cinemas??
.NOTE: Raise Your Words, Not Your Voice. It Is Rain That Grows Flowers, Not Thunder..

haaaaa bet y alaba boys dey vex ooo. GOD GOD SOON CATCH D PERSIN

BROS NA NIJIA WE DE OOH NO MATA WAT DEY WILL STIL DO IT..NA SO DS PPLE DE DO DE SPOIL PERSON MARKET ...Tomjerryswit

Zamani said...

He should take legal actions against them not this long epistle. Pls visit rellaidiovo.blogspot.com

Emmarock said...

Still looking 4 this movies to watch

Hhahahahah! Welcome to nigeria..which you know and urs won't be d 1st so pack well. Mtchew!

DNB Love Stories said...

Welcome to Nollywood, AY

yea. i bought one at yaba traffic jam but it stop d halfway

Nigeria's law enforcement is a mess.. AY doh, I feel your pain... though it made you wrote vocabs that I had to take up my dico, doh

Awwwww.

Stupid pple! AY has vex finish!!

sorry oh, u never anything! no piracy no Nigeria!

Don p

Honsylglobal.com : UK Global Online Financial Advisers said...

This is an act of corruption that is presently prevalent in the nation today.

Does 9ja police have time for this kind of complaint?! Lol!

I pray this your letter yields a positive result. Pirates are just lazy asses !

Not fair.

Morning Linda,

Lol no be small thing oh,all dos alaba Boyz no dey word oh ND dem no wan knw sef.May God help us all.

Such a painfully writing words,, something needs to be done to end this nonsense.

Abeg make him rest e,na tohday. Shey him Neva see d money way him take do d film Mk him go street my small boy chop abeg.

KWEEN said...

Na wa for these alaba people o. I can feel his pain. Something should really be done about this because it's really not fair to the producers.

Eeeeyah i really can feel your pain.

My alaba brodas are at their best again, lol! Sorry o, AY. Linda take note!

merryfrancee said...

Alaba boy kwenu o!.. See as una de cause my guys sleepless nyt!.. Una take time o!.. IG,. Over to u!. Do de needful,. We de watch o!.. #teamchris

Intervention DAT will never come, waste of phone ink...

Ok oooo let's watch nd see wetin he go do but meanwhile Alaba pple I no gud ooo

LIFE WITH GIGI said...

He has spoken

VERULE SAys-Some people self.

Abeg he should go nd rest.

Lolzzz alaba boys at it again

omobaba said...

How sad. I really hope this piracy issue can be controlled

Only the one wearing the shoe feels the pain.

Eiyaaa. .i feel ur plight and presumed rage for dis infamous act by dose Alaba miscreants.

Piracy is a notable offence punishable by law but i smell carelessness here cus i wouldn't grasp d reason why d movie risk at d first place if it was handled well by d supposed marketers.

Nwannem biko were ya nwayoo..o ga adicha mma...
ALABA IS MORE CORRUPT DAN NIGERIA

Was about to buy it in traffic at mile 12,but didn't buy it because of the price, they were selling it #500 and I felt, it was too expensive for a pirated copy for that matter

All these english is for what na? Simply put, Oga stop them from selling my film in traffic. Shikena!! Lol

NennyD said...

Very bad.. Please the Nigerian Police should do something about this in order to abate such crime.

Dont be greedy mr AY you know how the poor feed in Nigeria don't you? The poor feeds from the rich in Nigeria even if its is by violence >:( even bible says some things should be taken by violence . Government no they feed the poor oo . Rich steals no tax to pay the poor so the poor takes it from your pocket by violence.

Sabina Olowu said...

Please check this link out it really works http://youthsalary.com/?user=50583

Oops! Massive wreckage... Sorry bro!

Natty said...

I sidon dey luk!

So sad... Sorry, but it's too late... It must have spread like wild fire... I was waiting to buy d movie wen it's officially released but jus last week, i saw it in my fri end's laptop in jos, who said he got it from someone who got it from someone who also got it from someone... Etc... Piracy is bad...

mary julius said...

#yawns...Alaba dudes at it again...

One tried to sell a copy to me, in traffic

Can't remember if I bought or not. **wink**

But it's not fair though! I can imagine his horror.

**BonaParte NN

IF HE SHOULD COMPLAIN THEN WHAT WILL FRED AMATA SAY FOR D BEST MOVIE EVER MADE BY A NIGERIAN 'BLACK NOVEMBER' WHEN STILL NO DEY NIGERIAN CINEMA YET DESPITE D JANUARY 30TH DATE BUT HAS ALREADY BEEN PIRATED AND NOW HOLDS D RECORD OF THE BEST SELLING PIRATED CD IN WE NAIJA. ALABA BOYS THIS IS BAD BIKO

Na was for all DiS alaba bois

I wonder why they haven't leveled down Alaba, those guys have killed a lot of dreams in building theirs. Their activities has hurt our industry for long enough!

AY sorry, but if I see the piracy will grab my copy now. Its 1 of those things

Piracy is big problem that our movie producers are facing in Nigeria.i hope they are able to deal with it.

Joker....swear say all the movies for your house, foriegn and local, no be pirated...

This guy is intelligent.
I kept saying to develop Nigeria, three things are needed:
1. Sufficient power supply
2. Good and respectable law enforcers (police and the likes)
3. Sincere and fair judicial system
...and voila! Nigeria wud be great

Eyah...make i go fine the pirated copy watch ni na. was thinking of going to the cinema this week to watch but since the pirated version is out.

Ade said...

GEJ will only end up saying copyright infringement and piracy is not corruption!

this is Nigeria, he should know that
click HERE to see LEAKED AND SUPRISING GIST, CLICK HERE

It happens to my manager.. whn I saw his films been pirated.. I felt bad..jus 1 week or few days of d film been out u will see lots of its fake. He will go mad , mak calls buh nothg has been changed. Its not gud for industry. Love Nollywood..m Nollywood. *wink

AY pls go rest na today, its been like that for a long time.

felicious said...

I wish you a speedy legal intervention AY.
Guys, Do you want a 'serious' relationship? Try 
BV HookUps

Still instaed of this stupid nollywood ppl to suppport someone like GMB who will put criminals in jail and uphold the law, they'd rather support a clueless gej bcos of the bribes they receive...what a bunch of jokers...when you dey watch pirated hollywood movies, you no know how far

Wise of him

THE FREEDOM "MARCH" -

They said he is not electable. Now that it's time to put their claim to test, they are running pillar to post trying to stop the only test that will prove them right or wrong.

They said Nigerians love Jonathan. Now that it's time for Nigerians to show how much they love him, they are afraid to subject him to public test.

They said Nigerians want continuity not change. Now that it's time for Nigerians to speak in favor of continuity or change, they wouldn't let Nigerians make their choice.

They said he's a military despot while they are democrats yet, he want elections and they hate elections.

They said their reason for the shift is to secure Nigeria from Boko Haram. How could they make Nigeria secure enough for elections in few weeks when they couldn't secure it in 5 years?

They said he is dishonest and they are honest yet, he always keep his words while they always break their promises.

We said they are clueless and they said they are prepared yet, it took them a week to elections to realize Nigeria is in security mess that needs the concentration of the armed forces to clean up at the expense of a promising general election.

They said Nigeria is safe yet, "unsafe" Afghanistan, Iraq and Sudan conducted credible elections while a "safe" Nigeria failed.

Be it February or March, a bad government will remain a bad government that must be voted out. No matter how long you delay the burial of a corpse, the dead never returns.

KEEP THE HOPE ALIVE!

Effiong M said...

Na Naija we dey

lexusgs430 said...

Hmmmm. Piracy unfortunately is a worldwide bane.
In countries with effective anti Piracy laws, the trade still happens(unfortunately, with the global acceptance of www, how do you police the world)?
Make I quick quick go buy my Alaba copy!!!!

Koko788 said...

Eyah! I feel his pain. That movie was something. He really put in money.
Www.wordsbykoko.blogspot.com

It would be better for you have a hand work or self-employed,you have knew Nigerian from a donkey years even before you became actor,infact you also have purchase pirate films before you came to this level so its law of Kamal

LOL.. No vex.. This is Naija.. You have made 160 million naira. Let them pirate. I bought 2 last friday, how do u return to them back and get my money?

Same thing done to Jeta Amata's Black November too, Very sad indeed, the films are in every corner you look & are crisp clear too I hear.

Serious letter o, IG of Police please do something o

This is what other producers, book 📚 publishers etc are facing in Nigeria. Nothing has been done so far and nothing will done in a long yle to come.

Churchgirl said...

To what end will it serve? He should be glad they were able to make as much as they did already. Hilarious! Enjoy some funny valentine text messages; How Valentine turned Violent Time and Church VS Club/Hotel Valentine celebration by visiting www.thepinkjournalng.blogspot.com. you shouldn't laugh alone, share with others.

Realwvn said...

He should go and rest biko, Loool if they don't pirate your film how will they eat? Live and let live. at least dem no change your name as producer.

Jenny koko said...

The Arm Forces, politicians and the masses are more cocerned about the upcoming election and the insecurity issues of our dear country. i think your case is nothing to them at this point in time. infact i dont think you should expect a reply. but its a pity your movie was pirated, am sure you ought to have expected that. Alaba boys no dey carry last na! sorry dear....

Mr AY..
Kpom pi.. Wetin dey work you?
The movie made N137M that wan nor do you?
Abeg free small make other people chop
Hilarious movie tho.. I just watched it today for this first time.

sK.

Pls people should leave my AY alone o.

@Sophia Stephen

This is not a good news for our movie industry. Plz something has to be done urgently

#Ilovegoodmusic #Rockhillsmusicgroup #Onyinyemu #Totori #Oyorima @T_DazzlinRMG

TDazzlin@gmail.com

Hehehehehhe! Oga AY, wah do u xpect nau?

I saw one on the streets of PH and I was so shocked. Pirates nawah oooooooo

Like seriously Linda.
We are expected to go through all the write up.
Even my WAEC isn't that lengthy.
Well, Ayo i felt your pain but this piracy is as a result of Joblessness.
Not that I support this but then the law enforcement agency have to combat this Top down.

Like seriously Linda.
We are expected to go through all the write up.
Even my WAEC isn't that lengthy.
Well, Ayo i felt your pain but this piracy is as a result of Joblessness.
Not that I support this but then the law enforcement agency have to combat this Top down.

they hav made a lot of money from it [if the hyping on the movie was tru]....so allow others to eat small....nobody can stop piracy cux the thing has eaten deep in the country, is like stopping the leaders from their corrupt practices

:::::::::::::::QUEENMAYA:::::::::::::.

I saw copies of the movie being sold in traffic on Saturday... felt sad for ay

Abeg AY u no dey watch pirated foregin movie so e dey pain u now eh........ plus u ve made enuff moni 4m ur movie y u still dey vex

Lolz
Chai, buh poor ppl must eat αи∂ survive now....abi u no wan that?
Sorry buh †Ñ’ξ #137m u made is ok so let others enjoy small kwanu

*******she's Olive*******

Lolz
Chai, buh poor ppl must eat αи∂ survive now....abi u no wan that?
Sorry buh †Ñ’ξ #137m u made is ok so let others enjoy small kwanu

*******she's Olive*******

Sheyaa Pele.. I feel ur pains AY. God'll expose them.. Come to think of it Y not make me or Bounty-Hunter..

Hahahaha. Guy relax, na naija we dey. Sorry abt it though

Is child favoritism fair? Check it out on
Pamscrib.blogspot.com

Same with Black November, all over traffic, and I hear it hasn't even been released in Nigeria. Quite unfortunate.

Painful o!

Dis is bad. Ehya! I feel ur pain but trust alaba boiz, omo ibo dem, dem no dey carry last...na Naija we dey...pele o

Lekan.A said...

Na today? Problems that movie producers bn dealing with for decades now and you think an open letter to the ig would take it off the street? Good luck my broda.

U can't trust ya fellow man bro. U shouda started selling your CDS after 3months but no you wan Kip breaking records

The bad thing is that nothing can be done abt it...

This is too bad honestly, piracy must stop, IG abeg do something! But AY thanks for d infor, let me quickly go to d street & buy hv not seen d movie, heard is a masterpiece.... "AY no vex"

Piracy sucks. He should deal with this on a state level first not federal.... plus he should have had someone proofread and check this letter for him.

But that is wickedness at it's peak.
how could anyone be this evil?
30days in Atlanta already on the streets. .. Alaba boys, I hail thee!

The authorities should make sure someone is held responsible for this.
Anyone seen with a pirated copy should be arrested. That way, we can get to the culprit.

Are you one of the Alaba boys?

lol.so na now him go talk o piracy abi.bcos he is a victim. ay should fuck off.wettin him dey expect?.

jaygirl said...

I have bought my copy sha

AY please stop mentioning ALABA market. If you know who you gave your master tape to, go and arrest the person. Arrest your producers (you are the producer) and also arrest your marketers ( Silverbird). These are the people who have access to the master tape. Leave alaba market out of it until you investigate.

Too bad I saw them selling it on mobolaji bank Anthony way........

And he should also pray that they will read this Cos average Nigerians are not the reading type.

Blessing said...

This is too bad, Mr IG Pls do something abt dis, I heard d movie is a masterpiece. But AY thanks for d infor make I quickly entre street go buy hv not seen d movie *bigsmile*

Not after putting all that money+effort my dear. Besides, if he "go rest" this evil will continue in Nigeria, and maybe just one day, it may affect you or yours.

Piracy is a crime, let us call it by its name!

Nigerians are so used to crime that they see it as a normal thing. Smh

AY sory oh!!, cos Alaba Boys Also has terant as u have.

All of you saying "live and let live" and "let them eat", I hope one day you work very hard to create something, and someone steals it and makes all the money off it while you sit in your house and cry. Nonsense.

Pls i need a copy, Where do i get mine?Lol!

Wow! I feel on love wif Ay for dis movie, kudos. It made my Val's day. Sorry abt d pirate

Na this Black November own pain me pass!

Too too bad! I really feel for him

when "my watch" by obasanjo was launched and sold it wasnt pirated and you can never see it in traffic. lmao.. We need change.ff on Instagram @braveleo07.. Linda take note!!

i have seen the pirated movies. Mehn the thing clear die... follow on instagram: @braveleo07....Linda take note

Best opinion said...

Not fair, i was confused when i saw it at hmedix. I hv seen it at the cinema but bought again for my friend cos i felft it may hv been the original. I regret in abating this. Black november too is worse cos its not even in naija cinema's yet. IG do sth. If AY irrationally goes to tk the laws in his hands they will saw he disregarded due process. Now he has contacted you guys better do sth this is not fair

Well said!!

Babe said...

So heartbreaking I swear,i can imagine.tk hrt dear

Anon 8.55am, na your tym go dey encourage and justify armed robbery o. Ole like you.

bekeeeee... choi but AY i dey feel u sha.... ndo nna ooo

Sassy

Na your type go dey encourage robbery!

Muyiwa said...

AY was slow. The moment he realized that the movie was a hit at the cinemas, he should have quickly struck a deal with a major marketer in Alaba and sell the distribution rights of the movie for a one time huge fee. Just like the musicians do. At least, he would have gotten something from there. At this point in time, little can be done.

Can be very painful seeing your hardwork going down the drain !

Order for your beautiful bedspread @ 79AEFD3B. Delivery available nationwide.

SWAAG said...

I THINK AY SHOULD JUST SHUT UP HIS BIG RICH MOUTH.. HE ALREADY HAS MADE MORE THAN ENOUGH FROM THE CINEMAS....SO WHY THE NOISE?

am just confused

Shut the hell up. Enemy of progress. How do U know he's made his money back. And even if he has, who gave U the right to spend someone elses money for them. Freaking beggar. Ppl like U disgust me. Just go and die in a ditch somewhere. Peasant.

Can he swear he doesn't have pirated CD's belonging to others in his home. ABEG GO SIT DOWN.

Saw it in traffic as I wanted to descend to muson centre from 3ml...too bad. Wanted to buy it for my wife but I figured it was pirated so I resisted. We blame pdp for all when we ourselves are worse.

I almost thought you are a graduate

Wazobia said...

for all the A holes on this blog telling AY to calm down or keep quiet don't worry. May somebody steal your work and get promoted instead of you. Is it not the same thing as somebody robbing you on third mainland bridge and passers by saying "Don't you have a job? You can buy another phone nah" instead of helping you.

You guys are idiots, do you know if he got a loan to pay for all in the movie? He paid for location, he paid actors, he paid costume, make up, tickets, even extras get paid. The problem with the average Nigerian, they don't value ANYTHING.

Reg and thank me later.
http://youthsalary.com/?user=53740

Eeyaa. When I saw guys selling the movie on my way to lekki mall on Val's day wt my boo, I told him they've pirated it. He doubted and said perhaps, they av made enough money and are ready to sell it out. What can be done now? So many copies av already been sold. It's painful sha.

I am sorry for how your mind works.

I assume this your comment was because you didn't bother to read "the long epistle" which I'mnt even sure you know the meaning of. Next time read before you comment.

osavic90 said...

For the records, While I seriousness agree that the fight against piracy should be intensified, I do hope AY will have the moral courage to admit that he also by omission or commission contributed to the growth of this monster. How? I am sure you will not be able to count how many of these artists used to buy pirated movies and music on the streets when they were still hustling. Now that they have become starts and their works are being pirated, they are crying wolf!!. Na Karma!! Again, I do not support piracy in what ever guise o!!

prettiyz said...

Eyah

Guy sorry o...e pain me o...but wait o, shey u never buy PIRATED FILM before for your life? If yes, "do me i do you, God no go vex" but if no, make God judge them....lol

i bought the cd only to get home n it was scraaaaaaattttttccchhheddddd kai my 500 gone .. lol on the vi ikoyi link bridge well well

Choi! I don follow for the piracy o! I bought for #500 at big bites junction in Abuja. The vendors name is Onome. He prpmised me that it is an original copy cos I kept asking!