Nigerian-born footballer named World's Strongest player' | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 6 January 2015

Nigerian-born footballer named World's Strongest player'

Nigerian-born Footballer Adebayo Akinfenwa has been named the 'Strongest Footballer in the World' by FIFA 15 computer game.

From BBC Sports
He captured attention on yesterday night Monday January 5th when he scored an unlikely equaliser against Liverpool in the FA Cup third round. But who is the man they call "The Beast"? Here are 10 things you may not know about the 32-year-old AFC Wimbledon striker.

He weighs 16 stone
Akinfenwa is 5ft 11in but he weighs in at a mighty 16 stone, or 102kg. That's a BMI  of 31.3 or around the same body weight as England rugby hooker Tom Youngs.
He says he has always been a "naturally big guy", and has even struggled to get football teams to take him seriously.
"People said I'm too big to play football," he said. "One hundred goals later, I'm not. There are no limitations to what you want to do." 

He can bench-press 180kg
Or 396 pounds, if you prefer. That's three times the body-weight of his team-mate, midfielder Sammy Moore. 
Such is his passion for lifting heavy weights, he admits that previous managers have had to "rein him in" to stop him spending too long in the gym.
Akinfenwa's strength has been recognised by the Fifa series of video games, which have deemed him the strongest footballer in the world, with a strength rating of 97 out of 100.

He suffered racism in Lithuania

Akinfenwa's first professional club was FK Atlantas in Lithuania - but his time in the Baltic was not a happy one.
He received racist chants from home supporters. "Coming from London, where nobody would disrespect me, this was just brazen," he said.
Many players would have packed their bags, but Akinfenwa was resolute. "There ain't nobody going to run me out of nowhere," he said.

He created 'Beast Mode'
Akinfenwa's brawny physique has earned him the nickname 'The Beast', but to the hulking frontman, it's more than just an epithet.
"Beast Mode On is a state of mind," he explained. "Beast Mode is about applying yourself and defying the limitations people put on you."
When he's not terrorising League Two centre-backs, Akinfenwa also finds time to run a clothing line bearing the 'Beast Mode' name.

He gets mistaken for NFL players

Akinfenwa is often recognised as a footballer. Just not always as the right sort of footballer.
The striker admits he was once pulled over by a policeman who mistook him for a player in America's NFL.
Akinfenwa was happy to set the errant copper straight, telling him: "I play proper football." 

He's a committed Christian
Akinfenwa was born to a Muslim father and a Christian mother.
"When Ramadan was on dad made us fast and then I had to read the Bible every day and go to church," he said.
It was his mother's faith that he was drawn to and he now reads the Bible daily and attends church every Sunday.

Read the rest on BBC Sports

97 comments:

It's in the blood..trace and u'd see some left over of Akpu in him..

This is history sha..kudos to him and Naija

Seen!

He s cute

kudos big guy. U made us proud.

Beautiful! The last piece is very motivating..God bless you mr Akinfenwa..continue to do exploits..psalm 1:3. @Bishop_Dammy

I pray U more success bro!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

»»Says De-Champion««

Alake said...

Oya Oshey.

Nice but he doesn't play 4 naija

He was a big trouble to liverpool yesterday.. Very strong player!

Congratulations bro.

Home of strong men. But the guy is really big. his goals are bully.

List of Top 100 Best Universities In Nigeria

B n B said...

Nw everybody knw he's Nigerian born... osheee

Nigeria has been trying in this regard @ least Daniel Amokachi, Yakubu Aiyegbeni, Danny Shittu, Salami and the likes. Watched him score against Liverpool in their third round FA cup exit.

Good one

Good for him
At least he is bring glory to naija

Wow, good 4 him.

Naija on world map

Great one for him..good to hear..Enyeama bring the trophy pls

He's sexii yayyy he had to go through a lot to be recognized eeyah but he got recognized by FIFA awesone

Sugarvie said...

Didn't know before, now I do.
***SUGAR***

I'm sure he was born in England.

Come nd use dis ur strength nd win world cup for niaja

princess said...

Wow! How nice

This guy is a true beast.

God has your back fam!! You'll continue to break boundaries

K~

Loudly naija. Good for him.
@Mr Endowed via Lumia phone

That's nt wat we're talking abt here

I don't tink dis guy will ever be on top of his wife

Akinfenwa exploits just shows football can be played with any size, it's just the desire and heart

Kip making Nigeria proud my namesake

See as e big chai!! **DOPEY SAID SO**

Dont'Hate said...

Bayo is not nigerian born..get your facts right.

The guy na British born o Linda...lazy to research abi.

Nice profile...

Hello Linda, please get ur facts before writing. He is British born as to ur Nigerian born. He's from Nigerian parents.

He is actually too big for football. Anyone could mistake him for a boxer. Goal keepers suppose leave the goalpost for him sef.

Emenike will beat him hands down

GreatBabe said...

U are sooo funny. Lol

He was sure not Nigeria born. A simple search online will show he was born in Islington London.

This man is just built, thick muscles n all

Isssokay

Reallly? Dats great

Isaac said...

WTF... Dude! What were u fed with? No disrespect, but this fellow looks like incredible huck.

First saw this guy when his team played Chelsea a couple of seasons ago.

Wow! congratulations

#ABBYTOHXOFT

PRETTY GIRL said...

When Linda reports news like this and say "Nigerian born",it simply means that person is as good as not being a Nigerian but only a Nigerian by blood Lol...But oh well, Still nice all the same

No hating, but maybe he shud switch to central back...

Congrat to you

Omo c his body now why won't he be a beast lol..well at least nigeria is been recognised now

Das wat u get wen u mix egusi soup plus apku..ride on brother

CONGRATE 2 HIM
DON RICHIE.SAID SO VIA TECNO

Lol@maxwell akpu ko,takpu ni.congrats

God bless you more

Cool achievement
Follow mi on IG @darkpearl4

Wow.......so intresting

That's nice

9ja no dey carry last naaa

I hope keshi have taking notice......

Ok!! Nice

prettiyz said...

A good Nigerian representative

He's Yoruba, we're just great. Akpu doesn't come into it, nah Poundo iyan

Yea right

IFY said...

wowwww.he's huge

Wow nigerian. The result of fufu, amala, ewa goin, eba and etcetera.

Pls. can someone help me out. I need information on delivering a baby in the U.S.A. Linda posted it here sometime ago but I can't seem to find it when I search. I just want to know the cost and what is involved. Tnx a lot. OZ

Ugochukwuka said...

Eba and akpu at work

* * commenting live from river ethiope **

powerful gister said...

thats good

Vivian Gills said...

naija everywhere you go..hehehe

Good for him..thick man

Cool, happy for him

Godfather said...

Good and intelligent for his size in football ,nice one

At Least fifa don recognise am guy congrat to u

I stillsee him as an NFL player jare. That guy is too big to be a footballer. Lol

Bros kari go no look back jor.

Proudly African.
Proudly Nigerian.
Proudly black.

....THE ARCHITECT....

becckyd said...

Handsome

Bravo.Keep it up bro.

Linda wad up?
I've never for once seen my comment on display on your blog.

HE IS ALSO THE PLAYERV WITH THE MOST CARDS THIS SEASON IN HIS LEAGUE...

Hope to see more good news about Nigerians and not bad onces ooo

OMG! This is so good of him! We need someone like this in our midfield in the super eagles team, if possible.

He has skills too.

Kudos

he didnt really use his power against Liverpool.He used his skills

oyekunle bunmi said...

congratulations to him

Nice, plz don't ever play 4 naija cos dey will use & dump u. Linda take note!

NOTICE NOTICE NOTICE Chevron Nigeria, Stanbic IBTC bank, Amec oil and gas, Etisalat Nigeria, Nigeria Fire Service, Nigeria Brewery Recruitment is on call 09027134880 to start applying

Hmmm... said...

Racist. Why is he called "The Beast"? Because he is black and African. If he were white they wouldn't nickname him beast. It would be something less animalistic.

Good for him

cool dude. I watched the game they played against Liverpool. Did not do too bad.

egowein said...

This is the kind of news I want to be hearing abt niger biko....
No b only bad news. ....
We are getting there by God's grace