'I'd Rather Be Self-made' is not a foundation, or an organization (I can't handle that - blogging takes too much of my time), it's just me and some young ladies meeting whenever we can, inspire each other, exchange business ideas, and if I feel someone has a great business idea and it's not going to cost too much to start the business, I will personally finance it. Not as a loan, it's 100% to the person. I'm looking at N250k to N1million per person, depending on how great the business idea is. If you need less, you will get the money faster...:-). I'll also use LIB to promote your businesses. All I want in return is for you to work hard, make a success of your business and pay it forward...i.e help others. And if you ever see me on the street after you make it, you can say hello or give me a hug...:-)
What prompted me to think of doing this is my own story and the lifestyle of some young girls. It's quite unfortunate and sad. I went to University of Lagos, I was once a model and a model manager, so I have seen some things girls do for money and it breaks my heart. Some, if I told you, you will never believe. And now that I can afford to help a few girls, I am willing to help with my own money. The aim of 'I'd Rather Be Self-made' is to reduce 'Aristorism' by at least 1%...:-). Please continue...
So I'm putting aside N10million for this - to start with - and release more money if everything goes well.
If you're between 18 and 26, female (sorry guys - want to concentrate on the women for now), you are looking for inspiration, you want to start a business and need financing or already have a business but need more money to expand, or you just need business advice, then come and let's do this.
Obviously, I can't help everyone. It's not possible. But I will help as many young women as I can - this is something I plan to do for as long as I can - so hopefully, many of you will benefit.
I'm interested in girls who have vowed not to sell their bodies to make it in life (because you really don't. All that 'I don't have a choice' is BS. Trust me, I've tasted poverty like some of you will never know and I never did). I'm also interested in girls who are living that lifestyle right now but would rather not, and want out desperately.
You're going to personally meet with me and other inspiring Nigerian women who made it on their own without ever having to lie on their backs. Trust me, there are many of us. You can be one too, so let's do this.
We are going to meet this weekend for the first time. So if you're interested, please call 07051229040. But let me repeat this. I can't help everyone. It's not possible. But I promise to help as many as I can. I definitely want to do this because I want to give back...God doesn't bless you for you alone or your family, he gives us so we can pay forward and touch as many lives as we can with his blessings. That's my belief, so I'm really excited to do this.
Once you call that number, she will tell you where we're going to meet this weekend. I can't announce it here before 10,000 people show up...lol. And please, females only! :-)
All the best people...and yes, you can be self-made! Look at me, I was broke at 30...and now I'm 34 and I have small change...lol.
Meanwhile, there's a story that I want to share with you guys...but too tired to type it this night. Will do so tomorrow maybe. It's a story I have never told before and it's one of the sad moments in my life that inspired 'I'd Rather Be Self-made'. Probably the saddest day of my life. Will share that tomorrow.
Cheers people!
1,724 comments:
«Oldest ‹Older 1201 – 1400 of 1724 Newer› Newest»That's so good and kind of u Linda God will continually enrich ur purse because givers never lack
Good thinking....beware of some girls coming with toronto age in order to grab this opportunity..
But wat abt those of us in Abuja? How do we meet up? *Suzielicious*
Ije
Linda am personally inspired by you as a woman i have over the years sufer just to make ends meet too!!!!!i sold bread groundnut,pure water kereosene whatever you can think of!!all this i did it in the street of portharcourt but looking back today i have not made it!!! BUT iam grateful that God has been faithful!! THANK YOU FOR THE Inspiration i pray that God will truelly use you to better our generations God bless you.... JC
nice start @ least linda, hope 1 day it get to d guys.
Well done linda,you are a rare gem, God bless you.
This is a great concept Linda, your gesture is appreciated. Nigeria would work better if every one think of others rather than only self.God bless BIG
You have brought a tidal change to the heart of young ladies.
God bless...
tokjohn@gmail.com
God bless...
tokjohn@gmail.com
God bless...
tokjohn@gmail.com
Linda am personally inspired by you as a woman i have over the years sufer just to make ends meet too!!!!!i sold bread groundnut,pure water kereosene whatever you can think of!!all this i did it in the street of portharcourt but looking back today i have not made it!!! BUT iam grateful that God has been faithful!! THANK YOU FOR THE Inspiration i pray that God will truelly use you to better our generations God bless you.... JC
nice one Linda..May God bless u more!
God bless...
tokjohn@gmail.com
God bless...
tokjohn@gmail.com
Bet only girlssssss????? Common Linda wot about d guys
y just ladies..well wont work cos all dem gurls want is quick owo...#notime
Good job, well done.
God bless and reward u abundantly.
Wonderful initiative.
Giving has a boomerang effect.
Good job.
Go girl... God bless your good works!
Really??? @Anonymous 1:08am u are wat is wrong with the world! Smh! God will continue to bless u Linda! I will post this on my blog too so more people can be blessed tru you! Wanna be like u wen I grow up! You r such an inspiration!
wow Linda this is really good, may God bless you, one thing have noticed that is hard in life especially in 9ja is giving back, it takes a lot to do this, may God continue to bless and increase u but it's too bad that we not living in lagos state can't participate.....if only every out there can try to do this to help out reduce aristorism by 1% trust me 9ja will be not better but a trying country. thanks Linda you rock
Hmmmmmm, linda, may God in his infinite mercy continue 2 bless u, protect u, guide u n provide 4 ur needs IJN. As u r putting smile on pples face, may u never knw sadness in ur entire life IJN. May all ur heart desires b granted IJN. U wl nt die untimely death IJN. Gods shower of blessing wl continue 2 fall upon u.
Wow, Linda.. This is great. God bless you for coming up with such...
Nice movement
God bless u Linda
God will enlarge your territory, there shall be no limits in Jesus Name. Amen. Love you Linda
What is she trying to do @ anonymous Mtchewwwwww that's a good idea Lindodo
this is great! hav sent mails to linda bout dis bfore.am
in for this. God bless!
Linda,this is really inspiring!! May God enlarge ur coast. I hv a question,wot abt girls dt r more than 26?? Do they hv a chance?? I hv a smal job bt I desperately need a business of my own.
Nice one God will grant you the resources you need. Wish it was for boys.
Linda,this is really inspiring!! May God enlarge ur coast. I hv a question,wot abt girls dt r more than 26?? Do they hv a chance?? I hv a smal job bt I desperately need a business of my own.
Great move Linda , may God bless you even more . Over to you girls to take the initiative and benefit from this . If only a tiny fraction of our politicians can emulate this , Nigeria will be a better place !
nice one linda, please keep up the good work. God will continue to bless you. actually this is the 1st tym i will be commenting on your Blog, cant belive am even doing this. but i tell you its worth knowing that people like you are still out there that cares, bye. tony
*smh
Awwww linda God bless u plenty...waiting 4 d sstory
Waooo...God bless you Linda, would have loved to be part of it but am already 30 and a mother. I love it!!! I love what you are doing!!!
Thanks linda, God bless. #lindagiveawayonmymind
nice one linda, please keep up the good work. God will continue to bless you. actually this is the 1st tym i will be commenting on your Blog, cant belive am even doing this. but i tell you its worth knowing that people like you are still out there that cares, bye. tony
God bless u linda. other should learn from linda. the things we do will surely live behind us. u r a thru model worth emulating.
Dats soo kind of yu anty Linda... Buh wy nau.... weytin men colet for una hand.... Guy gt ideas of Lucrativ busines nau... mk una reason guys mata join o
#TeeBabson Comenting frm Akwa Ibom tru Infinix Zero
Linda am 30yrs old and wuld love to participate,even if not to get the money but to get the ideas and hopefully start somthin on my own.thnx.
I love you Linda. It's not about the millions you have--no, people don't get it. It is the heart that you have. The heart to give. God will bless you. I follow your blog alot. But i have never commented. God will enrich you. He will give you rest on all sides. Amen.
Good intiative. But there is no free lunch any where. Dear Linda, you can quitely influence peoples' life without advertising it on blog. Thanks.
God bless u richly linda
It is not mandatory for Linda to give back!!! yet, she does it effortlessly. She has small change and she is dolling out in this manner (you can imagine if she has more) I will be 30 April and am broke but thank God for my life. Pray for her rather than think is your RIGHT to eat from her!!!! God bless you and enrich you. Amen
Linda abeg no forget me wen u start to share d money oooooh.
Thumbs up....but don't let it stop here.
Anonymous 1:08, what have you given back to the society? What did the society give to Linda? She worked hard to get to where she is today and she doesn't owe you, your family, or anyone for that matter. I'm sure you're poor and very broke and yet you dare say 10million naira personal assistance to complete strangers is no big deal. I feel sorry for you and your very bad attitude. Change or remain poor and bitter for a very long time. WELL DONE LINDA! God bless you.
U're really a good person. God bless u
Anonymous 1:08 did u say no big deal? Pple like her? What about u? Pple like u are ungrateful, u will never appreciate and encourage what others are doing to help others. What aboout the politicians in ur village, what have they done to help ur pple??? Bad belle
Aunty Linda, you no go help the boyz?
What you're about to do is very very GOOD, I like that SPIRIT, abeq babe make una no fall Auny Linda Hand ooo, try and succeed please.
That will be great Linda. You are my inspiration though i live in Zimbabwe.
Visit my blog www.maudmanyore.blogspot.com
May the almighty God bless u with ur heart desires.I know u dnt owe it 2 any1 2 do wt u do,bt becos ur doing this,let d heavens and its host speak 4 u.Stay blessed
Thanks linda, God will always repay u back, but what about those of us outside lagos that also needs this help?
Oh, Linda u are d best I wish we have people like u in this country. May GOD continue to bless u my dear.
I live in Abuja, run a small scale event planning business. Am seriously in need of spandex chair covers, I have to borrow all d time nd der goes most if my profit, annoyingly d price of borrowing is almost half d price of buying my own. So if u can loan me moni, or better still contact someone dat sells, pay on my behalf ll b grateful. I can't met up wit u cos I live in Abuja.
Thanks linda, God will always repay u back, but what about those of us outside lagos that also needs this help?
Linda all I can say is God bless you......you are really an angel. I would have loved to be a part of this even though am working now. Honestly ladies go through a lot looking for a job. Am lucky God blessed me with one when I almost gave up. I would have loved to be in this club or gathering to share my story too but unfortunately am not in Lagos and will soon resume work (am on leave now). Linda sweet hrt God is your strengt.....xoxo
Linda, that's a great move, there are people who has more money than you do, yet they did nothing for the society. May God bless and strengthen you in Jesus name.
Awwww, dats good Linda. Please keep it up. God bless u real good
Ode......!!!shallow minded, ignoramus person!!!
U are just an inspiration to many women, may God bless u for all u do, Amen
Awwww. God bless you. May you be lifted up as you have decided to help others.
Thank you for acknowledging that there's enough room at the top.
Wow! Proud of you and your achievements Linda. I hope the young ladies out there making a living by working their vajayjays would just give it a rest already & embrace "I'd rather be self made". God bless.
PS - 'blogging takes too much of my time...' but isn't that why you advertised sometime last year for extra-hands, what happened to that?
Lovely and comendable Linda. Proud of you
U are crazy @ anonymous 1:08. Lili and other people that have made it doesn't owe it to anybody to give back. It is a choice. So be appreciative of that and stop the menopausal mess spilling out of your guts.
anon u need help! urgently!... nay infact u nid to be clasped and caged smh
of course you had to come on here as anonymous. First of all Linda doesn't have to give back if she doesn't want to but she did it out of the goodness of her heart. i think you should focus on appreciating her effort. 10 million naira is not small money. saying people like her should learn to give back is like saying her money that she worked for is everybody's money. erm why not work hard and make money and let's see how easy it is to let go. Ignorance remains a major problem. It is well.
Wunmi
Nice initiative Linda,May God reward you...
God bless you Linda. You are only at the beginning of the great path God has prepared for you. You are an inspiration.
Quite commendable. Please keep it up and don't renege.
Was if when you were stranded in Ikoyi after a guy tried to Shoki you?
Yes, I know that sort, we go way back on LIB hers, but na Onyx and bonario wey just sabi u, u go dey give stuff.
Okbye
*** Blacknfly@gmail.com ***
God continue to bless you. more grace..
Great one linda... Hope my boo benefits from this*thumbs up*
Awww...dat's really very nice of u dearie!
Keep it up!
Wow. I'm interested but am 40
God bless u linda 4 dis. But number is off.
My linda you are really am amazing person God bless you
God bless u linda as u give back,am really inspired
All thanks. To God
Aunt Linda, wat of those who are not in lagos? Like me am in Enugu, how do I join the meeting by weekend?
nice move...
Linda you are the best....God bless you 1million folds..it is quite unfortunate that am still under the category of 18-26 but may God bless you
Seems like ts for only females in Lag. @chidinma
Nice one Linda
U doing great Lin, nd ud be greater. Cheers!!!
#chynell#
God bless u more
Tank a good one Linda. May God bless u the more.
Mo gba fun e jare *thumb up*
Lili am so touched by dis may GOD continue to bless u, u r one in a million
Great Job @Linda. God bless you richly.
OlaOluwaYimiKa
datz cool. i like dat n keep it up
wow! That is great of you!
#Godblessnigeria
God bless you! You are a blessing to this generation
That's cool God bless u
BRAVO... With more people like u (@Linda) this world will b a better place... Kip it up!!!!
Hello Linda, God will bless you for your insights, love and generosity. i am a guy living in the Uk and I wish I could contribute to this. what you need to do is to cap the amount to 250k naira maximum per persobecause that is enought to start and handle a small scale business. If You give someone 1 million naira for a business start-up, its risky to lose and the amount of money you earmarked will quickly finish and there would only be few beneficiaries. Please take this advice, God bless you more abudantly
Gud work Linda
datz cool. i like dat n keep it up
God bless you
Gud work Linda
Wow linda... just wow... am speechless... good work...
Awww! God bless you dear! I love this initiative.
@anonymous1:08am seriously is something wrong with you brain or do you find it hard to read properly, she is given to the society and if you read properly u would know that. Seriously before you type and send read again. Common sense should tell u that. PEACE
God bless u Linda.itz really disheartening to see d extent our girls reach jst to get money. D annoying thing is dat dey don't really wanna be self made. Dey Want easy money datz y de'l always lay on der bk,tarnishing d images ov all Nigerian wmen
lindodo God will keep on blessing u, one day i will tell my own story.cecko
That's a great idea.good one there Linda. May God continue to increase you.
Bolateethole.blogspot.com
Oh Linda, how i wish everyone with small change (as u called it) like u can think of something like this to give back to the society, Nigerian will be better off. But the riches we have today neva meant well for the poor. God bless u real good.
Linda. Only u knows wat u up to
God bless U linda..d good book says the hand that gives will alwys be Ontop..and u'll neva lack,u and ur family will neva knw poverty again IJMN...I look @ u, I read ur Blog tho I hardly comment..and I pray for God to bless me too...#neva a hater alwys wnt to do better. oyemadeb22@yahoo.com
I've tried and tried, I've calld the number severally, and she won't pick! Then its busy or off! Plz help us lin. What do we do?
@anon1.08.u b big mumu o.did u buy her laptop,or is it ur empty brain that she uses to think and type?have u ever done anything meaningful in your life.simple appreciation hard you.God bless you lindiway
Nne to get through to this number is a very big deal and I'm not in lagos, so it's probably going to favour people in lagos alone! Sad
Good morning Linda.. Pls provide anoda phone number.. I have neva seen a number as busy as d one above .. bikoo oo nne
wow that's so nice of you well i know one thing for sure that givers never lack and you shall not lack.
Good morning Linda.
Nice job Lili... More blessings
You have a good heart linda, may God continue to bless you. I have a business in mind would definetely call the number. Thanks
U are a beautiful soul Linda! May God continue to bless you as you make the society better by helping young girls! I'm really touched. Lol, was almost moved 2 tears
Kool......... that's she giving back in her own way
Mr/Miss Anonymous! Don't be silly, if you dnt have any reasonable comment why not save yourself the stress of beefing a younge beautiful woman whom God has blessed and is using her as a source of blessing to other young women out there. Be positive and be appreciative. Thumps up Linda..... the Lord is your strenght.
God bless ur kind heart... and God will definitely give you more to help more people... plus again you stay in lagos.. der r Lib readers worldwide oo.. some might not be able to travel and come to the venue.. i think you should consider this.. God bless you Mami.. i heart you
God will continue to enrich you Linda
U be anonymous otondo, abeg cover ur smelling mouth jare. U see someone doing something laudable instead of commending it u dey open ya stinking mouth. How many of our so called rich ppl have given back to d society the way Linda has done in this few years?
@Anon is people lik u dat will finish causing her and still use ur real name to do beggy beggy....mtchew.....Linda really dis ur gesture is really nice.... I pray God bless all ur effort for wanting to put smiles on peoples face
Thanks Linda. I may not have the chance to benefit bcos I'm 27+ and I won't lie because of this. God bless you specially for this gesture. You will never know poverty in your life again. Keep doing the good work
Chaii I will like to be among the women, thank u Linda
kudos linda
Thanks a lot Linda, but I called d number like 3 times already but nobody is picking it
For your interest in young women, God bless you more!
@iammrspark @HellenisOrg
Nice one linda
In fact, Linda you are the best. May God almighty continue to power your vehicle. This is very inspiring, you will never lack for as long as you lives you will never lack. Lastly, may God provide you a husband of your choice, bone of your bone and soul of your soul.
Thanks for this kind gesture, may God always replenish your pocket
Almost shedding tears OMG! Linda this is what I have been nursing in my mind anytime I see u gave away money. I just keep saying you should teach people how to fish rather than give them fish because that sets them free..I believe in us(the young girl and woman) and believe in u Mz Linda....God bless u ma'am!
Well done. you're rare & wonderful person
THIS IS FANTASTIC! Seriously Linda if you try this and hold on to it...God will surprise you larger than u are now. U will be known by world leaders and one day u will be call to receive an award. TYPE OF U THE WORLD IS LOOKING FOR..more grace to your elbow.
GOD BLESS YOU.
nyc 1 linda.. so bad i liv @ ibadan
i wish i could come
Anonymous 1.08am...y do u av to b so dull. Linda is someone dat already inspires me. Her doing dis jst shows hw much of a woman she is.
Nice one linda.
it is a welcome development
God bless you Linda. Though I can't be a part of this cos i'm not in Lagos and moreso, there are alotta girls who need this more than I do, but still I appreciate your good heart. God bless you once again and replenish your pocket.
Anonymous 1:08am ur a big goat,pple like u live in makoko,plying ur day to day activities on a boat,person won help u dey use ur stinking mouth to do oloshi things,if I catch u ehn,u'll see what I'll do to u..
9c one linda. May God reward u
Thanks Linda God bless and reward you 100 folds
God bless you Linda, please am interested.
Linda ikeji, God will bless u and give u a good hubby
God bless you Linda........
Aunt Linda Wat of people who are not in lagos, cos me am in Enugu, how do we join the meeting? Pls publish and reply
Great concept- Hope the objectives are achieved!!
great effort,may God reward you immensely.........my advice is for you you to add more structure to it.
post my comment sisi linda,biko
Great initiative- Hope the objectives are achieved!
Very gud idea Linda.
Linda so young men no d ur agenda???? Nawaoooo this is segregation n nepotism o. If na govt do this one now u for done rush post d news. I d watch u sha
May God bless you Linda. Don't ever wonder why your business is growing. It's evident, Helping people around you is helping God........
Mosi Tash
@Mosi_Tash_Jazzy
God will definitely reward you.This is definitely a step in the right direction.
Dats so sweet of u dearie
Linda the number is forever busy ooooo *tears ....am 23 and il like to take part. I have fabulous business ideas in my head....and the number is forever busy....
Linda so young men no d ur agenda???? Nawaoooo this is segregation n nepotism o. If na govt do this one now u for done rush post d news. I d watch u sha
Linda thank U so much
You are just an enemy of progress,why not stay out of here.
Until Linda gives her life before you people are satisfied. The bitch tries a lot abeg.
Linda God bless you! If only others help like you do.....
I need your help oh please am interested but am a mum of 3 and am jobless. Please help me .Thank you.
God Bless U Linda..
hi linda,could i make a refferal?
Linda iv bn tryin the number for hours nw it Keeps saying busy.. i really want to be part of ds.. so sad
Aunty Linda may God continue to bless you and bless u wit d good desires of ur heart
Auntylindagoddaughter
@anonymous wot av u done 4d society? @least Linda's trying 2giv back! But u r just deer grinding ur teeth! Mtcheew! Pple r sooo mean!
you are wonderful. keep it up.no wonder u are Google person of the year
Linda ikeji u are d best! May God grant u more wisdom. Lolo1
Wow...God bless you Linda
NICE ONE LINDA BUT PLEASE EXTEND THIS AGE RANGE NA.
God bless you Linda. You are an inspiration.
It rang and no one picked aswear ! Now its busy again
kudos to you Linda...God bless you real good dear!
God bless you linda and continue to uphold you.
God bless you Linda. You are an inspiration.
May the Almighty God continue to bless u more and more, each day, linda.
If only all those with "little change" in nigeria, will emulate u, then this country will be better for nigerians.
I love your heart linda,God will continue to make you a great woman.
Linda you are so fine in this picture oh....looking trendy.
God bless ur initiative Linda. jigide, Chukwu ga nae eyelu gu aka.
THANK YOU FOR NOT DOING LOAN. BCOS PEOPLE WICKED INSTEAD OF PAY UP NAH HOW TO KILL THE PERSON DEN GO FIND. GOD BLESS YOU RICHLY AND MORE AMEN
Linda, it is not fair. What happens to we guys. Huhmmmmm, e no good oh, e no good oh
VERULE says-swit Linda. "Beautifu is life"
Nice one Linda! God bless you
Errr..... U serious ryt nw ma'am..... Helping young girls with money in the name of curbing aristorism jus don't do it...no hating but imagine giving a girl a million bucks to start up a business,what happens when that money was not properly capitalized forget you are mentoring them on this and that... If she falls down to square1,ma'am ..her aristorism continues with full force
*Best thing you can do: how about you help those with businesses already that are not doing too well.. Its encouraging . If possible you can visit their offices to see for yourself.. Some just WANT this opportunity,Help those who honestly NEED it...please
Well done Linda this is something that has never been done am so proud of you and may GOD bless you more
Lol at Aristorism! God bless you immensely for this noble cause, Linda. You know you can never go broke again in your life, right? Not because you're earning so much, but because you're giving back. Again, God bless you, Linda.
Hmm, this is cool, God will help you with this
God bless you Linda
Linda God bless u
Linda thanks a lot but nobody is taking my calls. Even if you can't help everybody please tell whoever is in charge to please answer the phone and at least hear what we have to say. God bless you Linda
BOL
U see y God will never stop bless u Linda? I'm so impressed. I'm proud of u. God's infinite blessings love. We love u. I feel dis is happening bcos of me. I made a decision not to continue dat way lately and ve been trying to establish myself, and here comes dis. Thank u. Even if I dnt benefit frm d money, I'll sure benefit frm d inspirational talk. I'll see u dis weekend. Love u
God bless you miss linda
Tnx For the opportunity Linda, may God reward you abundantly. Adeyinka Abiodun. aabiodunarikeola@yahoo.com
GOD bless yhu Linda!!! Yhu d helper GOD has sent to me!
good for you Linda. I wish more women that had money would empower our women.
Please ensure those girls use the money for business and not to buy bags or human hair.
Kudos