EFCC warns politicians: Don't use us for your political propaganda | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 13 January 2015

EFCC warns politicians: Don't use us for your political propaganda

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission has warned Politicians to desist from attempting to use the agency as a tool to fight their opponents during this election period. In a statement released this morning, the EFCC said in recent weeks it has received overwhelming petitions from politicians against their opponents alleging financial impropriety. The EFCC says even though it is important for citizens to be whistle blowers, they should not wait till election time.Find the statement below
It is another season of politics. With the general elections fast approaching, politicians of all hue are traversing the country in desperate bid to woo the electorates for their votes. Such is the beauty of democracy which is founded on healthy contest with the electorate as the ultimate decider. Unfortunately, not all the actors in our nation’s political arena understand the rudiments of a free electoral contest.

For some category of politicians, elections are nothing short of open warfare where any weapon that can swing the tide in their favour is fair. It does not matter whether such weapons deviate from the acceptable norm. In recent weeks the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC, has been alarmed by reports in a section of the media, accusing it of failure to act on certain petitions supposedly sent to it through the pages of the newspapers.

According to the petitioners, the Commission’s failure to act had reduced their chances of success in the political arena. While it is puzzling how the Commission’s action or inaction could confer political advantage on any aspirant, it is important to educate petition writers that the EFCC have standard operating procedures, which clearly state the irreducible minimum standards which officers must uphold in evaluating petitions for investigation. Where petitions fall short of such standards, the EFCC is not obliged to proceed.

The Commission wishes to sound a note of warning to politicians not to attempt to use it as a tool for political warfare, In recent weeks, the EFCC has received many frivolous petitions alleging high crimes against leading political figures. Some of them came from the opponents of such individuals. While it is important for citizens to be whistle blowers, it amounts to self help to attempt to instigate the EFCC against a political opponent. Citizens do not have to wait until election time to report alleged financial malfeasance.

It is equally important that members of the public realize that it is an offence under the EFCC Establishment Act to write false petitions or supply misleading information to the Commission. Also, the trend where persons engage in acts of criminality and attempt to blackmail the EFCC from going after them by imputing political motives to the Commission’s enforcement activities is most unfortunate. Nobody is above the law.

The fact that a politician is the standard bearer of any political party for any political office does not amount to immunity from investigation or prosecution for any acts of criminality. The core mandate of the EFCC is fighting all forms of economic and financial crimes. Crimes of this nature have no political or religious colorations.

It is therefore important that Nigerians, indeed all stakeholders, appreciate that the Commission has a responsibility to take on all perpetrators of economic and financial crimes irrespective of their political, ethnic and religious affiliations.

The point which all stakeholders need to take to heart is that the Commission is a professional organization which will resist any attempts to, overtly or surreptitiously, drag it into the political arena ahead of, during or after the forthcoming general elections.

We appreciate the sentiments which all the political leaders have expressed about strengthening the anti corruption institutions. That is the way to go. If anything, it shows there is a common ground in the understanding that fighting corruption in Nigeria is a national emergency and distracting agencies saddled with such responsibility is hardly an incentive for addressing the emergency.

Management
13th January, 2015

55 comments:

Lol, story.

I hope they listen!

Truly, they should not ooo

Catwalk With Pat said...

hmmm, ok

Please click on my name for Fashion/Fitness/Beauty tips

Funso Samuel said...

I totally agree with them. Will didnt they report before this elections period? Yeye dey smell

Effc can go n shit for all I care. Since it has become a toothless n corrupt barking dog.

Pls dey should sit down and stop making unnecessary noise. Are they just waking up shameless and most corrupt organisation

Story.
Do your work without favoritism first.
@Mr Endowed via Lumia phone

Effc can go n sit in shit for all I care. Since they have also become a toothless barking dog.

good if they will listed

I would like to hear the DSS say the same thing. Oh wait, they cant! They report to the president!

CHERRY said...

Well said hope they listens!

Story story

But you guys cant bamboozle us with this subtle warning na.We havent been hearing much about u for long till now.Its a common thing to believe you are a machinery for certain political party.Pardon us if we are wrong but i doubt much!

If I hear

U use any tin u av to disarm Ur enemy...

this isn't the right time to make petitions against their opponents alleging financial impropriety. i concur

#Commenitng thru Glo 4G LTE

this isn't the right time to make petitions against their opponents alleging financial impropriety. i concur

#Commenitng thru Glo 4G LTE

www.glowyshoe.com said...

I just hope they will listen

Visit my blog

www.glowyshoe.blogspot.com

I hail thee politicians! #oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

chocolate said...

We hear,is ol ryt

Lol..dnt mind dem na now there eye open

Story for the kids....EFCC is not the agency that it were before so they should STFU and start being manipulated by politicians....
¤
¤¤¤GUTS OVER FEAR¤¤¤
¤

Bravo!!! And the "TOOTHLESS BULLDOG" wakes up from his looong slumber to make a statement. I'll do the same too though especially as MY OGA has promised to buy me ANTI CORRUPTION GADGET yesterday ... Smh#serial-jokers.com

Lolx... This our politiacian no dey smile o..

Proff S said...

Linda..I am politely saying there is a typo in the header. The wans is missing one sweet letter "R"..

UMU ABAGANA said...

OL BOY SEE WANNING

NEW WORD ALERT

Please proof read your work especially the headers. thanks

Lili,
U used "wans" instead of "warns". Pls edit.

Nice one frm EFCC.

EFCC IS WORKING...

Story 4 d gods. Linda take note!

way to steer clear of danger

now that a statement has been released; name names if anyone tries it again

Hmmmmnn...so EFCC did "wan" political parties....interesting!!!

MR EDDY said.
Empty threats and treatise,even the EFCC are corrupt.
^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~wishes u happy new year.

gab2shoes said...

Linda, ebi like sey na android fone u dey use dey blog, dey check ur spellings and phrases b4 u click send....make good use of ur nuisance value...
The gods are not to blame!

Gab2shoessaysso

Ryan said...

Lol... EFCC is a messed up commission already! What have they done to the missing funds? No one is charged yet for the billions of Naira stolen, FFK has bn cleared, Stella nko? Unless they say to me the meaning of propaganda. These people are funny!!!

Funny. EFCC telling politicians not to use EFCC for political propaganda is as hypocritical as Linda Ikeji telling bloggers and newspapers not to plagiarise her blog posts. Ouch.

That's Nigerian politics. They'll use anything and everything to fight their opponents

Shiro Olawale Oreoluwa said...

Are they suppose to run checks on the allegations to ascertain them? Issuing this type of communique only goes to show how lowly our agencies have become. Do you how many letters the CIA get?

lol...politicians, una don hear abi

Funso Samuel said...

*Why didnt…

@sugarcassie said...

Na today! This Mf****kers thinks we are dumb! Mmtsssscccheeewww

Peejay said...

Linda, I'm 'wanning' you. Always spell check.

@gab2shoes pls don't press P!

Intelligent

Lacey Love said...

When hv they worked for any other people if not politicians?

I can't stop laffing

Lindodo, spelling check please, its Warns not "wans".

EFCC, The harmless barking dog, how many economic perpetrators have prosecuted since assumption of president Gej in the office...The agency is a mere " Errand boy" for political opponents.

afreecom said...

They nor they catch politician again now yahoo boys may they huzzle for street they dey after not be politicians.them be corrupt body...

LINDA U NEVA WAN POST SAY C.RONALDO HAS WON THE BALLON D'OR????????? OR ARE U ANTI RONALDO..................

*oparoescalade

LINDA U NEVA WAN POST SAY C.RONALDO HAS WON THE BALLON D'OR????????? OR ARE U ANTI RONALDO..................

*oparoescalade