Defence HQ says no. of people who died in Baga are not more than 150 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 12 January 2015

Defence HQ says no. of people who died in Baga are not more than 150

The Nigerian military released a statement this evening saying contrary to media reports that over 2,000 were killed in Baga Borno state last week, that from all available evidences, the number has so far not exceeded 150 people. Read their statement after the cut...

Gentlemen of the press,
As you might be aware, there was another terror attack on the town of Baga in Borno state last week which left a number of people dead. Following that unfortunate attack, a lot of speculations and conjectures have been peddled by a section of the press particularly the on-line media regarding the casualty rate. Some claimed that over a thousand people were killed while others wrote with certainty that 2000 people lost their lives in that singular attack. Without any doubt, terrible atrocities have been committed against innocent Nigerians in Baga by the rampaging terrorists who attacked and have been operating in the town since 3 January 2015. Necessary actions are being taken to put an end to the activities of the terrorists and restore law and order to the community.

To this end, a lot of covert operations including surveillance activities which recorded series aerial photographs are ongoing in that vicinity. It is however necessary to inform Nigerians in the interim that the exercise so far have not corroborated the report on the casualty rate which was put at 2000 deaths. From all available evidences, the number of people who lost their lives during that attack has so far not exceeded about 150 in the interim.

This figure includes many of the terrorists who were bearing arms and got killed in the course of their attack and battle with troops. It should be noted that Baga and the neighbouring towns have been under series of attacks and harassment by terrorists. In the course of this, many residents have left, leaving the population in the town almost seriously depleted. Many were also able to escape while the terrorists’ battle with troops lasted. The figure given by sources who claim to be eye witnesses must be an extremely exaggerated estimate. Unfortunately, this figure is now being bandied about in a section of the media as if it has been authenticated. It cannot be true.

It is pertinent to once again urge the media to be circumspect in adopting casualty figures especially the ones given to them by the so-called eye witness, who in most cases, are influenced by their own perspectives. In any case, this is no time to debate about casualty figures or number of deaths as the life of any Nigerian is important. Much as the intention which could be with the aim of drawing attention to the atrocities being committed by terrorists group in Nigeria, is most welcome, the need for factual presentation of the situation is equally vital. In case the aim of this misinformation is to further the design of those bent on discrediting the government and the military, all well-meaning people should consider it as a disservice to humanity.

It is important to remind those who are adept at spewing falsehood or exaggerating situations with intent to embolden the terrorists and diminish the efforts of the security forces, that their actions are inimical to the safety of the innocent Nigerians who have borne the brunt of the terrorist attacks in our country. The tendency to celebrate the occasional setbacks while downplaying the efforts and successes at containing the terrorists is unfair and very unfortunate.

It is noteworthy that many international bodies are being misled in their interpretation of the situation owing to sensational headlines and stories. The Defence Headquarters wishes to reiterate its earlier assurance that the military has not given up on Baga or any part of the country where terrorists are marauding. Appropriate plans, men and resources are presently being mobilized to address the situation. We want reassure Nigerians that no portion of Nigeria’s territory has been or will be conceded to terrorists.

130 comments:

That may be true bcos 2000 is so outrageous

Is 150 stil not much????? pple re dying everyday...U guys shud do sometin about it....keep d numbers to ur selfs

It's obvious they can't give a definite number, too many reports already

Helena said...

Always lying.there is God ooh

Onyx's Girlfriend (he isn't gay pls) said...

God save us ooo. #lindagiveawayonmymind

Wer do we start frm.distractions evri wer

Different story every wer.

*confuse*

Who do we believe? Nigeria has lost credibility already.
Shalom! !!

Wat to believe??

The number notwithstanding, aren't they Nigerians?
Europe stood still over 11 people killed, when are we going to see this as an act of war and approach it as same.
Its quite a pity,we're not in a war with any country and we're suffering such level of casualty.

Liars!!!

Story That Touch!!! Anyways who do I believe?? NON!!
.Disclaimer:: Raise Your Words, Not Your Voice. It Is Rain That Grows Flowers, Not Thunder..

we are watching

All we want is for these killings to come to an end. Whether 150 or 2000, they were all human. Someone's father, mother, child or whatever died. This terrorism need to just end.

It is no longer news that APC members are busy tampering with the credibility of the media by peddling falsehood thru various media houses. I haven't seen such desperation in my entire life all in a bid to seize power.They kill their own just to get a slot.It's a NO NO for them. May the soul of the deceased rest in peace. To our gallant soldiers,we are strongly behind u people. #GEJtill2019

Interesting.....

Yayyyyy thank God.But then why am I happy?

Jesus Reigns said...

All God knows who's telling the truth. Anyway I wish u guys well in this mission without weapons. May God go with u pple and whoever decides to sit on ur allowances be nailed to the cross.

Haa..... Why dis current govt is full of lies and propaganda even wit human lives.... Gej ur tenure sucks and its all abt deceit. D place is a no go area for both military/civillians and yet u come up wt dis figure wen souls are destroy even d news making d round has dat abt 40soldiers lost their lives. GEJ most go by special grace of GOD cos he careless abt human life and dats his first assignment as a leader. To protect d live and property is ur major assignment u dis otueke man. Why do u feel unconcern? Am very sure most of dis pple voted for u in 2011,so why cnt u protect us ur citizen why?

ELENA (HER MAJESTY) said...

So what's their point!!!...they fail to understand that be it 150 or 2000,the fact stil remains lotsa innocent Nigerians lost their lives and someone has to be held responsible...instead of them to take responsibility they are busy faulting the figures...mtcheeew

Haa..... Why dis current govt is full of lies and propaganda even wit human lives.... Gej ur tenure sucks and its all abt deceit. D place is a no go area for both military/civillians and yet u come up wt dis figure wen souls are destroy even d news making d round has dat abt 40soldiers lost their lives. GEJ most go by special grace of GOD cos he careless abt human life and dats his first assignment as a leader. To protect d live and property is ur major assignment u dis otueke man. Why do u feel unconcern? Am very sure most of dis pple voted for u in 2011,so why cnt u protect us ur citizen why?

even if its one life that was lost ,that alone is worth alot n people keep complaining that the western world are not helping to fight this enemies but how can they help when the government is not been honest ,peoples lives been wasted but they are busy pointing accusing fingers during political rubbish and u expect help ..........naija i feel sad for my beloved country ,my beloved brothers and sisters from the different part of the country been wasted,we need change...richlyblessed007@gmail.com

Are you people not ashamed? .. how many more lives should be wasted. Psalm 46:1. @Bishop_Dammy

Princess G said...

Even if, they should pls find a lasting solution to BH. Rip to the dead.

IDIOT MAN, ONLY 150 ABI??

AND YOU COME OUT TO SAY THAT??

ANIMAL

Anything to cover face. Story story story.

Gentle men and women of LIB...

I bring to ur notice dat dis post confirmed and affirmed d veracity of d story dat was reported erstwhile.

Thnk u for ur attention.

Ifeco said...

My fellow Nigerians with good intention for this country let us face the fact and not allow sentiment to ruin our senses. President Goodluck Jonathan has done well. Forget all the lies, propagandas, mudslinging and political chauvinism being peddled by the APC and their agents. Do you know that GEJ admin. is the most transparent admin as long as the history of this country is concern? Do you know that with the signing of the Freedom of Information bill(FOI) into law by GEJ,the yearly budget and all government spending are virtually in the public domain? And that is why we hear about this noise about food, aircraft etc. Have you ever ask yourself how much that had gone in time past with Nigerians knowing nothing about? Can even Buhari account for all he spent when he was in government? Can he account for his defense budget, security vote? That apart
Let us look at the roads. I have traveled from PH to Lagos in the past and I know what the roads use to look like. I was able to visit Lagos during the yuletide period and I traveled en rout from Onitsha through the Benin /Ore road. I remember how we us to spend hours(at time we sleep over) on that road. The East/ West road in PH is now motorable. Now u can travel from Uniport to Lagos. Do U know how much that went down in the past on that road without meaningful achievement? I went to visit a friend at Woji(PH) and for the first time in my whole life I was able to see a 'life train', 'moving train!' The are real not hearsay. Was Buhari able to construct one rail track when he was there?
Again,Do U know how much that has gone down in fighting this boko haram insurgency(which Buhari and some mischievous northern elders fueled) since inception? Suppose that same amount was channeled into the development of our infrastructure, do u know how far Nigeria would have gone? That apart.
Apart from killing, arresting, and imprisoning people, what can Buhari really boast of that he did during his reign in governance? Apart from now that he is seek for an elect did he condemn these people that have drained the blood out of the life of our brothers and sister? No! Rather he was defending them.
Please let us look at this issue more critically, if this man, buhari really love this country as he want us to assume, what has he done in the past to help in bringing to and end to this senseless killing? Is he waiting to get to government before he will do anything to that? If that is the case, it then means that he is banking on this killing into to achieve his selfish ambition. Which also means he has no vision for this country, his vision is just the taste for power. I read over the news few days ago that he plan to create 720000 jobs in one year and I laughed. The questions that came to my mind was it is not about giving us figures, how does he intend to achieve this? and I was shock I could not find any plan from all he said. When he was in power was he able to create quarter the number of that kind of jobs? Was buhari able to build schools? Today, despite this insurgency, GEJ has been able to build over100 Amajiri schools for the north and unity schools in the south, 12 Federal Universities(with nine in the north and three in south)
When the renegade PDP members were defecting to APC buhari told Nigerians that when elected he ll not probe the past government as he ll b busy providing for the needs of Nigerians. Now that he has these people fully in his grip, he went on to contradict himself by saying in PH "when elected, all corrupt leaders will be jailed in Kirikiri prison." Which indirectly means that his perceive corrupt leaders are those in PDP and this also mean that Buhari is seeking power in order to punish his perceived enemies and that if Buhari take over power from GEJ(God forbid) he ll spend his four years in government chasing perceive enemies with no meaningful achievement for our country. I believe that Nigerians are not daft to mortgage their Life in the Deep Blue Sea. PLEASE I WRITE FOR THE LITERATE MINDS

~Charles Ifeco~

Lies,lies,lies nd more lies wen ll dy stop lying 2 us na wa ooooo.God expose ds pple nd protect ur own,madam linlin I hear dt serz masscare is going on in Yobe state pls confirm if its true.

They want us to believe this one now? We just want peace in our land. Peace!

Even if na one person nko?abeg make all of una go sidon!

CHERRY said...

Okay!

And DAT mks it okay for Ur president not to address d issue...

Stupid country..talking like as if we are talking about dead fowls. Tu wa hia khian zagha..bastards

So is that possed to make us feel better?.... 2000 or 150, this government places no value on human lifes... It's still a massive tragedy

Soo sad even 150 sef is 2much now.Last days all wht d bible said is whts happening o.May God help us all

The nigeria army still has no shame to still come out and talk of how COWARDLY they are. The whole world now know are ineffective the nigeria army are. They run from civilian gerdarmes. If I may ask, why has boko haram not been able to penetrate Cameroun? Because they have a WELL ORGANISED army. Like pastor Mike Oshimolowo succinctly put it, they is a FIFTH COLUMN in the Nigeria army. This column are enemies of nigeria and until they are flushed away, nigeria cannot defeat boko haram

Shey 150 na fowl nii......u even get mouth call figures of pipul wey die.......Rubbish

Slimayo said...

Na all this military be our problem for this country....either 150 or 2000, people lost their life cos of your incompetence. So just admit that and move on to stop the next one

People said body littered the streets. It's more than that.
@Mr Endowed via Lumia phone

Story

Bloody fool!!

Gashonx said...

150 PEOPLE KILLED IN NIGERIA MEANS NOTHING. THE WORLD STOOD STILL FOR 17 PEOPLE THAT WERE KILLED IN FRANCE.. GOD HAVE MERCY ON NIGERIA

andre kelvin said...

150, 2000 or 1milion datz not important. BH must be stop dats wats important

Conflicting figures, so where's 2000 coming from

150 or 2000, are they not human beings just like us? I will definitely go for anything that will stop all these incessant killings. The present government are just clueless so I think it's the best time for them to vacate that post for another capable people. If you are reading this and you don't feel any pity for these massacred people just because these incessant killings is not happen In your area, that means you are inhuman. I stand for my brothers when they are down and depressed. I stand for CHANGE.

Ngozin said...

Wether it's 150 or 2000 ,1 life lost means a lot can you imagine the BS this people are spewing ? # peace in the north west !!

Somebody should please sell shame to this army guys,....150 human beings and not chicken ooooo.....France is mourning just 12 ppl, and this fools are busy saying the number of dead didn't exceed 150

Right from the first day I heard the unconfirmed number of casualties I knew it was a bunch of lies to discredit the great work the NMA are doing. Keep up the good work guys, God is surely with you. Let the evil sponsors continue and see if they will last

Somebody should please sell shame to this army guys,....150 human beings and not chicken ooooo.....France is mourning just 12 ppl, and this fools are busy saying the number of dead didn't exceed 150

Even if na one person, is it good news?

Even if it's 50,it's still people's lives we are talking about here

Mtcheeeeeeeeew

Still catastrophic. If only effort and resources could be deployed to countering the insurgency rather than spin publicity towards making a very, very horrible situation look horrible with just one 'very'

King Rock said...

The military is obviously issuing a statement to water down the ineptitude and lack of direction of their commander in chief GEJ. As if 150 lives makes it acceptable to be incompetent in battling these terrorist. It really irks me that as the situation is our military and DSS will issue any statement to salvage the political intrigues of the ruling PDP. Well I guess we just have a month left to tolerate this disservice to our country. May the lost souls rest in peace.

LIES!!!

...Can't believe this statement is coming from the people who swore to protect the lives and properties of everyone of us. It doesn't matter if it's just one person who died, show empathy and stop calling numbers. These lives can never be replaced nor created.

even if it's only 3 people dat died are they not human ?

Tee said...

7 DIED IN FRANCE THE WORLD STOOD UP! 150 PEOPLE DIED IN NIGERIA THE GOVERNMENT AND PRESIDENT WERE BUSY DANCING AND CELEBRATING HIS DAUGHTER WEDDING. LOL WHAT A COUNTRY! HML TO HIS ADOPTED DAUGHTER THO! NO BEEF HML

Oh lord help us all...

We really need prayer

when they said more than 2000 ppl died, i asked my self who counted the body since no rescue teams like NEMA has gone to the scene, that was after some media reports claimed that dead bodies still litter the streets as the place was not safe to enter...then who counted and gave the 2000 figure?

I don't believe you guys, you've lied to us one too many times.

Sooo, we should jump and praise God that "only" 150 people died?!!!

Other responsible military commanders would have resigned their commissions, especially with all the cry of corruption by officers, cowardice, sabotage and inferior/no weapons.

Wonder why world leaders will show solidarity with serious people and leave some others alone?

When we get serious, we will be supported!

Whether 2000 or 150, the fact still remains that people died- these are people whose lives will never be replaced. The army can either or cannot do the work- they should let us know if they can't and we will dispatch people who are really prepared to fight boko haram!!!

ice pilot said...

150 is nothing abi...... Lord save our country.

faheez akinwumi said...

2000 or 150? God must have mercy nio
12pple died in France and they are duly attended to

God, I feel like crying. Are those 150 not human beings? Why are we acting like innocent people are not dying? Oh, only 150 people. So that makes everything better.

Like say na fowl dem dey talk abt.
#piginboy

2ooo and 15o lives, they're not human being. Idiots ni awon people yi o.

CEO92 said...

u go fear English

Bastards! They are so proud to produce a lower number like that justify the death of the people.
Secondly, do they expect us to believe a number produced by "Gona's" government when international bodies like CNN gives the number at 2000

@sugarcassie said...

Not more than? So 150 is not too big a number. This Nigeria of late ehn!

GEJ and his IDIOTic clowns think that we are FOOLS. More LIES from the pit of hell of this evil govt. Every Nigerian lives should matter even if it's 1 live or 2000 lives; but Oga Jonah is more interested in partying and throwing weddings for his adopted children than the security of our country. May the blood of the innocent lives killed be upon GEJ and his generations!!!

Why are they trying hard to make it sound like many people were not killed while these bodies are still lying on the streets. I am disgusted with what is happening in Nigeria. How can dead people be lying on war front and the country is more interested in elections. They need to postpone these elections and solve this human tragedy of a problem first before campaigning around.

i don't why he said that.....150 ppl are they goat/ rat?
he should make sense when making statement

Either 150 people or 2000 people, wat difference does it make? D fact still remains innocent people were massacred under d watchful eyes of our so called military personnel! And d C-in-C is busy campaigning all over d country. God help our dear country!

Steady said...

Hmmmnn I have respect for soldiers

finally a figure from the defence HQ, good they give us a figure but its not like 150 is lil, its human beings we talking about here not chickens. arm your men and Intensify your operations in the region

Wetin dis one know?

HUMBLE EVE said...

Is it d same Baga dt was said wasn't safe to enter bcos of d presence of BK Haram members? Something ain't right bout ds

HUMBLE EVE

i knew there was something not just right about the 2000 figure..where they exterminated?

Its sad dat as many as 150 pipl lost their life. pipl will just open their mouth and say 2000. Do u knw wat 2000 dead rats would look like if piled in one place?

MR EDDY said.
I tire o. As if 150 is not enough.
Very stupid nd incompetent set of morons.
^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~wishes u happy new year.

Whether 2000 or 150, genocide is genocide. We can't continue like this any longer. This man should just do the needful by resigning. He and his paymasters have misled our beloved country too much.

MR EDDY said.
Too bad you're just realizing that.

MR EDDY said.
That's an rhetorical question.

MR EDDY said.
Exactly

ColdFlame said...

While the Army's sloppiness in dealing with this menace has won it few friends this is one occasion where they can hardly be controverted.
Two thousand human beings are not two thousand chicken and it's hard to arrive at any probable scenario that can result in that kind of casualty. Definitely some propaganda at play here...

There is God o.....

I guess 150 is not much to this FAGGOT!!!!.....just 17 in Paris...JUST 17.....God bless my country.....Mr stupid...how many have died in ALL now....?

Abi. 150 people instead of 2000 so that makes it ok.

HMMMM NIGERIAN ARMY SO 150 IS NOTHING, ITS 12 PEOPLE THAT DIED IN PARIS THAT PARIS WAS SHUT DOWN FOR 48HOURS UNTIL THEY FISHED THE KILLERS OUT. THEN THE WHOLE NATION AND EUROPE STOOD STILL FOR 2 DAYS MOURNING 12 PEOPLE. SMH FOR NIGERIAN ARMY WITH ALL THEIR FAT FAT BUDGET. DIARIS GOD OOOOOO

Senate President said...

It surprised me that we got to this stage so quickly.150 ppl just like that and GEJ is out there doing shit.Some ppl need to be hold responsible.

We nigerians have serious problem in d sense dat we dont believe in ourselves whn somebdy they is if terrorism is easy as u think world powers like American, France, etc will nt fighting 2day nt 2 talk of naija. If u feel it is easy u go and research n get wht happening countries. A gd mind shld nt be abusive instead of being supportive. Support ur country, ur president he shld be encouraged nt 2 discourge with ur mouth. May God bless naija.

You must be a beneficiary of GEJ govt. Please go and take a back seat....

GEJ govt are liars from the pit of hell.... CNN is credible abd relisble snytime any day

CNN is Credible Source anytime anyday

This GEJ and his thugs lie thru there teeth.....

APC what? You are indeed really dumb! So you still believe that crap? I pity you you.

Imagine! People are dying and this imbecile is talking about Benin- ore and dysfunctional universities. Must u think like Jona? You want us to vote for him again, right? Well, fuck u very much!!

Lies upon lies! The military weren't there and the innocent civilians were left at the mercy of the terrorists! The military arrived after the terrorists had occupied the place... Even if its one human life, don't these zombies respect human lives?!

Jesus,where do morons like you continue to crawl out from?

Because you are daft.

Okiie, so 150 is normal? Linda take note!

Read this part again, it will answer your question. "In any case, this is no time to debate about casualty figures or number of deaths as the life of any Nigerian is important."

What kind of country is this?Defence HQ saying not more than 150 people died in Baga,they should ve put it this way '150 DIED ONLY,what a shame,French govt went after few terrorists with about 18,000 soldiers & police,Nigerian govt is just playing with people's lives.

EVEN ONE PERSON IS TOO MUCH........YOU FUCKING ASSHOLES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! so people should be more at ease cos its just 150 and counting? Has anyone ever seen 10 dead dogs in the same place??????? Now imagine 50......now imagine 150...HUMAN BEINGS!!!!!!! life literally has no value here. None whatsoever...and this incompetent common waffi boy cock gobbler of a president is looking to be re-elected??? Why?....so they can wipe out what is left? nigerians.....THINK!!!!!!!!

sweet cherry said...

There is God for this blood u ppl are sharing

150 is much. More efforts wil not do our country bad. We need more beta story. Oneandonlynwa@gmail.com

Naija Media can lie,never fail to add or subtract in every report.

Etymology said...

Which one is good?

Enough said...

And they say dont profile muslims negatively: Pause a moment, reflect back. These events are actual events from history. They really happened!!! Do you remember?
1. In 1968, Bobby Kennedy was shot and killed by a Muslim male.
2. In 1972 at the Munich Olympics, athletes were kidnapped and massacred by Muslim males.
3. In 1972 a Pan Am 747 was hijacked and eventually diverted to Cairo where a fuse was lit on final approach, it was blown up shortly after landing by Muslim males.
4. In 1973 a Pan Am 707 was destroyed in Rome, with 33 people killed, when it was attacked with grenades by Muslim males.
5. In 1979, the US embassy in Iran was taken over by Muslim males.
6. During the 1980's a number of Americans were kidnapped in Lebanon by Muslim males.
7. In 1983, the US Marine barracks in Beirut was blown up by Muslim males.
8. In 1985, the cruise ship Achille Lauro was hijacked and a 70 year old American passenger was murdered and thrown overboard in his wheelchair by Muslim males.
9. In 1985, TWA flight 847 was hijacked at Athens, and a US Navy diver trying to rescue passengers was murdered by Muslim males.
10. In 1988, Pan Am Flight 103 was bombed by Muslim males.
11. In 1993 , the World Trade Center was bombed the first time byMuslim males.
12. In 1998, the US embassies in Kenya and Tanzania were bombed byMuslim males.
13. On 9/11/01, four airliners were hijacked; two were used as missiles to take down the World Trade Centers and of the remaining two, one crashed into the US Pentagon and the other was diverted and crashed by the passengers. Thousands of people were killed by Muslim males.
14. In 2002, the United States fought a war in Afghanistan against Muslim males.
15. In 2002, reporter Daniel Pearl was kidnapped and beheaded by---you guessed it was a--- Muslim male.
16. In 2013, Boston Marathon Bombing 4
Innocent people including a child killed, 264 injured by Muslim males.

No, I really don't see a pattern here to justify profiling, do you?

Even if nah one die sef.... Abegi

You are entitled to your opinions. Vote your candidate and leave others alone. What do you even know about GMB? Why didn't you travel on the train from PH to Lagos?? Oh,you are just seeing train for the 1st time in your life? Pele ooo...we see trains everyday here in Lagos so it's no big deal. Writing for the literate minds indeed....it did not show ooo,because your style of writing shows how literate you are. Go to your village and campaign don't disturb us here.

Uche Emma said...

And 150 means nothing to you???

God will judge us all

Smh! May you never be respected by people u deserve respect from when you get to his age... politics or event shouldn't make you loose your sensesmm

Black Anchor 2 said...

We don hear, what we want to know is when will the army retake baga? thank you.

BIG FAT LIE!!!

Still confused.

Na so....

oyekunle bunmi said...

Either 150 or 2,000. we are talking about innocent souls killed. May God deliver Nigeria from BH

Most dry lie!!!! Election palaver

Funso Samuel said...

Yep 150 lives being lost is rather too much but we cant blame the Nigerian Army for that. Note that these BH boys are trained too. They strategized before they attack. The same day they attacked Baga, they attacked some other villages too. Military men cant be everywhere.

FYI.. The population of Baga town is not up to 2,000..I doubt if it will even up to 1000.So the killings of say 2,000 is a huge lie.

-from Maiduguri.

If 150 people are to line up how long the queue wld have be? 150 or 2000 are they not human being? When I was in jos 50people will die and they will anounced 15. God dey ooooo.

Is still 2much jor

So is 150 people he us referring to as 'just'