A lecturer warned me not to marry pastor Ashimolowo but thank God I didn't listen' wife says | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 6 October 2014

A lecturer warned me not to marry pastor Ashimolowo but thank God I didn't listen' wife says

In an interview with City People this week, pastor Yemisi Ashimolowo, wife of pastor Mathew Ashimolowo, founder of Kingsway International Christian Church, spoke about her 33 year old marriage and how a lecturer at UNILAG warned her not to marry the pastor because he had nothing..
"I thank God that I never listened to the UNILAG lecturer who warned me against marrying Pastor Mathew otherwise I would have been probably in a one corner room in Lagos but you see how my life has turned out to be, traveling all over the world to preach and minister. The lecturer never saw any future in Pastor Mathew as a Pastor but the lecturer is late now. I didn't know that marrying Pastor Mathew will end this way even I didn't want to preach when I married him. I just wanted to be a full house wife but he was the one who really discovered me and saw the beauty of God in my life. So he mentored me to what I am today and I never knew that KICC would be a big church that it is today" she said

On how they met, the mother of Four boys said 
"Okay I can still remember vividly. It was January 1980 when Pastor Mathew came to my Dadi's church to assist him as an assistant Pastor. He just came out of Bible School as a fresh graduate then and he he was immediately posted to Foursquare Bible Church as an Assistant Pastor to my Father even though he had CAC background. And I saw this young vibrant man who was posted to my Da's branch. I remember we were having a serious challenge at that time and we were worshiping outside because our properties were thrown out by our landlords over land problem in my area at that time. It was at this period in time that this young and Fresh man came. This man was so committed and the way he was serving God swept me off my feet. Then I told God that " God, if only you can give me a man like this young and vibrant man that is newly posted to work with my Dad for a husband but must not be a Pastor" , then I will forever be grateful to you. It was his commitment to the lord that attracted me to him" he said.
Asked if it was love at first sight for them, she said 
"Not really because he was a pastor and I didn't want to marry a pastor but I was attracted to him when I saw him. I must also confess marrying Pastor Mathew is the best thing that has happened to me. But you know, as a Pastor's daughter and having 2 Uncles as Pastors, I wasn't interested in another Pastor again. But I thank God I got married to him

66 comments:

Why are you telling us?....twitter/@dj_smartt

Only God knows best.

Interesting. ....hmmmm read the story twice

Pikin said...

Follow ur heart always and let it guild u. Vote Linda Ikeji as the Most Active Blogger of the year. www.socialmediameritaward.com

Good for you, wish u more happiness in ur marriage #onelovefromSnow#

iamdebby-g said...

Thank God 4 her life~God's babay

iamdebby-g said...

Thank God 4 her life~God's baby

eya..truely only God knows one destiny.Goldensarah9@yahoo.com

tina said...

Thank God you follow ur heart. tina.agori@yahoo.com

wow ThankGod for her life #OGECHI# ogechi230@gmail.com

Wonderful

There are so many people that fall victims to this fake pastors telling them not to marry whom they love. And they believe them because most Nigerians are religious bigots and lack spiritual understanding and are religiously gullible.

TUFINE said...

folow ur hat u wnt mix ur pat

Whaooooo

Ofcourse u shld be happy.bundle of thieves

Yes the lecturer wasn't stupid to ve warned u cos obviously there was something fishy abt him,but it paid off anyway but that doesn't stop the fact that u guys re bundle of thieves in disguise

nelson said...

wow! cool. .. :)
Gmusicplus.com

Sweet story
Advise to all ladies, greatness in a man pays than physical things, so know what to look for.

I thought they have two boys, not four.

May my story and that of my family be like this ijn amen

so the message is... if you married anyone else, you will be poor now ba

Okay, good for you. In relationships, the only opinion that matters is your own!

Tank God

Hw does dt picture look like em?

Word!

Lord make my story be like dis, u r faithful lord

Gracee Love said...

Tnk God for her

Happy F̶̲̅õ̳͡я̅ U̶̲̥̅̊ ma'am

Those are the kind of love stories we want to hear, they still love each other 33yrs this generation has a lot to learn. #mhar-ghar

Another story again.

Teacher said...

Never say assume things you don't know, may GOD forgive you

Wasnt expecting otherwise #hekpJobEmmanuel of star the winner is

What a bunch of con artists and thieves, thanks to KICC in the UK, you and your husband are now known as thieves, fraud stars and you don't pay tax, for your Church!!! Anybody that listens to all these Pastors, Bishops, etc would join them in hell, because that is where they are going, with their brainwashing, false doctrines, bad conduct and leadership skills, I can go on and on, worship God in truth and in spirit, and stop worshiping these charlatans!!! Whizman

Did she say a pastor warned her or she said a Lecturer at Unilag?????? Read again

What a bunch of con artists and thieves, thanks to KICC in the UK, you and your husband are now known as thieves, fraud stars and you don't pay tax, for your Church!!! Anybody that listens to all these Pastors, Bishops, etc would join them in hell, because that is where they are going, with their brainwashing, false doctrines, bad conduct and leadership skills, I can go on and on, worship God in truth and in spirit, and stop worshiping these charlatans!!! Whizman

Glory to God.
PP

Heyah.. Such a touchin tale... LMAO!!

lol

Hmmm, nyama nyama de smell...mtshewwww! Ofcos why wunt u be hap wen he's wealthy, if he wasn't stil doing well nw, wil u come out n talk nonesense???Ndi oshi!!!

hmmm...Mhizsupreme*

Huhmmmm.

Huhmmmm.

Pikin? Guild u???

Huhmmmm.

Huhmmmm.

princess dee said...

Beautiful family...

There own betaooooo

Good for you.

Folow ur 'hat' u wnt 'mix' ur 'pat'??!!...ROTFLMAO!...ok now, issorai.

thanks be to God for your faith my sister. That is how people condem pastors but God knows the best for us. Not what u wishes yourself but what God wishes you.

Motherhen said...

The little I know about Pst Yemisi, he couldn't have granted this cheap interview, Phewwwww. What point is she making? She is too decent abeg for this kind of nonsense.

faithful ojie said...

Hallelujah

So basically he warned you not to marry him because he was broke but you went ahead and married him. Luckily business turned out to be good and he thaught you the secrets of the business now you too are good at it. Together you two jet around the world doing this business. This thing you are doing is not chrustianity is business plain simple

"Dadi"? Etc. Seriously? Wasn't there an editor?

skepo101@yahoo.com

Pastor Mattew is a role model, very few pastors are faithful in these end times.

Thank God

Princess Charming said...

That's not the message... may God give you understanding!

Fool,the message is she would not have been able to achieve these very things she achieved in the long run.

Jesus said " wist ye not that I must be about my Father's business?" My friend, don't be jealous. Kolaq

Teekoals_Beauty_Talent said...

#gbam

Anonymous 11:00 pm, I concur with u... Like button

MiSsY JaY said...

Have they stolen from u b4.. Don't speak ill of people without verifying the things u heard

It is always good to follow your heart

Dats gud

Ok..tank God u re wit him ooo

Why live in lies? Are you two serving God or your bellies? God shall surely judge.