Nigerians doctors finally suspend strike after 65 days | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 24 August 2014

Nigerians doctors finally suspend strike after 65 days

After 65 days, the Nigerian Medical Association, NMA, has suspended its strike. They made the announcement on their official twitter handle yesterday, and today, NMA president, Kayode Obembe, told journalists that the association decided to suspend the strike because of the Ebola outbreak.

He said all Nigerian doctors are expected to report to work tomorrow Monday August 25th.

87 comments:

www.glowyshoe.com said...

Our doctors r smetn else entirely

Pls visit my shoe blog

www.glowysofiscated.blogspot.com

They God! I must commend them for this brave and courageous move

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

Finally. That's some good news.

NAWAO WHERE IS NAIJA GOING TOO SELF???

Lifematters-Mattersoflife(PEOPLE AND SOCIETY) said...

Halleluyah to God for their resumption,at least,it is relieving to know that they could be empathetic as their duty demands

Mtsheww y didn't they continue! I don't even know what they striking for, go to general hospitals the doctors are never there, always in their private hospitals where they take the drugs from govt hospitals to, and they want more money, indeed when they start to work well more money will come.

Adeyimika said...

These guys are funny. What happened to their passion and professionalism to save lives when the ebola outbreak was more threatening. Kudos to the individuals who volunteered to assist when the outbreak hit Lagos, despite the danger involved.
I hope someday the Nigerian doctors will get passionate abt saving human lives in whatever condition.

No oh...let them continue

NaNcY DreW said...

HEROES

They should continue na! Madness!!!

Looolz Dem for wait Na.

ThankGod for that

@ last

Julie Best said...

Ebola outbreak indeed.

thank God

Hmmm. Continue naa. Nonsense. Mtcheeew. Note you guys have been sacked by Oga Jona. Continue with your sack.

** Sexy Milf Queen **

No, dem for wait make government approve their 100points agenda. Rubbish!

Because of Ebola outbreak?rubbish.is it today Ebola came into Nigeria?those that even volunteered to take care of Ebola patients abandoned them to their faith according to the late nurse's fiance.infact,im not happy with them at all.

Story that touches the heart. So it is now they know there is Ebola.

This is gudnews. Goverment should never allow this type of strike to happen again abeg......

Amaka.u.l said...

Ok na!

Not true. Strike is still very much on. No such decision was taken. Worse to note that it's because of ebola outbreak? Apparently your informant is misleading.

Godnews ..

queenreigneth@gmail.com

#king said...

good news............................#KingOfKings

Msheeew! Una for rot for house. E je'bi. I lost all the respect I had for you guys because of your greedy strike. Una for choose to remain sacked. Oles. 2 of my sisters are part of you people and I've told them the same thing. No regards for your strikes again

They are tired....smh

Well its about time. JL

Olameedey said...

Good riddance....dem 4 no resume naaa. Olojukokoro dem!

Motherhen said...

These annoying people. Phewwwww. Motherhen

haters-slayer said...

thank God gor them

Thank God #bright bravo#

Good for them.

tboz said...

Linda, dr went on strike on the 1st of July. If u do your math, I doubt if it is upto 65 days. Anyway, I guess this is a welcome development.

Shame unto them

shame on dem for calling off der dance of shame... Yeye drs. Vikky from kebbi

shame shame shame on u guyz for calling off d strike. U shd hv cont ur dance of shame. If drs. Lik let dem drink poison JOHESU PROPOSAL STILL STAND.. VIKKY FROM KEBBI

Not all NMA members oh.The FG is yet to reinstate d sacked resident doctors and the. Residency training programme is still under suspension.Its only d HOs,MOs and Consultants dat r resuming tomorrow.The residents dat make up 70% of the work force r still sacked.

This doctors are IDIOTS! Their own too much! Mtcheeew.

chincobee said...

Won jebi....dem for no suspend am!shoir

Dr. O said...

Stop lying

chike said...

Very stupid guys....the public now understands who ds pple are

Dr. O said...

Aunty linda how did u calculate 65 days. Unless my Maths is bad. The strike started on the 1st of july

Was ebola reported today. Thats a wrong reasoning and i guess they also know that. I feel so bad that people who are trained to save lives could take such a decision without being mindful of their impact in the society. No wonder they dont care to even provide a good treatment even when they are working

Their idiots and no respect for them any more cause they don't even care for humans... They always do it for their own selfish interest as they use the oppotunity to operate their own private hospital.... mchewww..

ForwardNigeria#

Nonsense! Which Ebola. Na today the virus enter Naija. Cows.

Nurses do all d damn work,yet they take the glory.....okpo u guys wouldn't ve resumed.Mtcwwwwww I'm out.

It's really funny how Nigerians are loopsided on issues like this. Rather than taking a snipe at doctors for demanding better condition of service why don't we hold our leaders accountable and demand for institutions that work. We may not realise the brain drain going on in the health sector just yet.

Petite Diva said...

Resident docs are still on suspension so they can't resume.

Http://journalofapetitediva.blogspot.com

@APPLE ur the IDIOT! Face it! The health Sector is in Shambles! Ur President made it pretty obvious by travelling to german for a health check! Abeg u all get a life

Who is heartless now? GEJ sacked the doctors and went to Germany to seek medical help. Chaiii, diaris God oooooo

This was my advice to them which Linda failed to post! Unfortunately, this is a most belated and shameful action at this time. They've lost public support as can be seen in people's comments. What a shame!

6 reasons our prayer failed said...

YOU dogThugs are stupid and heartless

JESUS BOY IS HERE said...

i hate this set of people that dont know there primary purpose of being doctors

Lord, are there few that be saved? said...

LET THEM CONTINUE STRIKING, RUBBISH SET OF PEOPLE

CHECK HERE: http://www.forwardchristians.com

Olubunmi Lawal said...

But why?
Doctors are very cool.
Come and join us in the profession pls.

Hater

Olubunmi Lawal said...

Vikky Johesu, I am sure you are a lazy bone and bitter because work will start soon. Really, what has your johesu been doing since NMA went on strike?
I pray water will find its level one day in the Nigerian health care.

HAPPY TO KNOW

BORN TO SHINE!!!!

Who send them...selfishly overzealous set of cowards!

dessymal said...

After many patients must hv lost dia lives...
Seems lyk ever union in dis country has a provision in dia calendar for strikes

win said...

Guess their pockets have dried up and they have seen that FG is not joking this time around. Doctors are just trying to cover up their shame that why they are using Ebola as an excuse to call off the stike.

U idiots can say all d nonsense u want. If e pain u,make u go re-write jamb to become a doctor. Its pointless bursting my ass for dis bunch of ingrates(Nigerians). Whr wr u guys when doctor take out of thr money to pay for patients procedures, whr wr u when doctors donate blood for dying patients.I'm a doctor and I can say categorically dat I'v done all these countless no.of times.Y'all here are spewing rubbish. I can assure u guys,u'll see a new/redefined medical practice after wot we'v experienced. No more empathy.We don't owe u guys anytin.Ur president is out of the country receiving medical attention bcos he doesn't give a shit abt the health sector.I'm a doctor and dat can't change even if I get sacked by Gej. Now, d joke's on u idiots.

Esty kudos said...

Gud to know. Nice move by NMA

And all these from a DOCTOR? Little wonder why the health sector is in dis state. Guess what? Many Nigerians didn't miss u guys and yes we are beginning to see we can do without you after all...

If you're a doctor then you must be a stupid and clueless one. Although NMA as a whole is fast becoming very unpopular because of their senseless and selfish interest but the true reason they called off the strike is because the ARD's are literally begging the government through Senator David Mark to reverse the sack action taken on/at them. They were given a condition by the senator to first resume duties before any action will be taken to plead on their behalf. The government pays you, caters for your programmes and still give you benefits, yet you think you have the right to dictate for Nigerian government. Surgeon General na hazard allowance gbukwe unu there. Rubbish! No, stay at home and see how your careers dwindle all because of selfishness. #NdiAra. Yes I was pissed but not anymore. By the way i'm a Doctor.

You are the greatest fool of all.mumu.

He-goat the Joke is on you for spewing this rubbish outta you into a comment. You don't have any iota of professionalism in you. I'll advice that when and if the government reverses the sack and suspension of residency programmes you'ld better not Chicken out on the main surgical programmes to come and start fighting for a spot with the nurses or radiologists. Silly people wey no know their work!

You sound frustrated! And Iam sure you do not know the profession you signed into yet! Believe me if you take this attitude into private practice, you'll end up in penury or just be a fraud to get by!

Very NICe move dear NMA SO, govt should as well play their own roles to avoid this kind of incident again ooo.

beautyspice said...

Plsss oohhh... U guys should stop insulting doctors oooo.

Oh pls shut up

Anon 1:25pm!!u r a damned LIAR!!!!

praise God justina4gold@yahoo.com

Williams said...

IT's not Ebola outbreak anything! fake lying unpatriotic group of Nigerians...Has it not been over a month now since EVD got to our shores? why call off the strike now? People and institutions just pick up their bags and decide to go on strike anyhow they like these days...SMH. helloehi31@ymail.com

Williams said...

SMH...One too many strikes Naija!! helloehi31@ymail.com

If u were a doctor and ur job practically took ur life away from u and u had no money to show for it, will u be empathetic? Empathy doesn't feed the doctors families dear.Money does.

Deedee said...

HAAAAAAAA OPE OH DIS IS GOOD NEWS DEEDLICIOUS@YAHOO.COM

orela said...

@anonymous are you just knowing that Nigerians are ingrates?you shouldn't have wasted your time my dear....ignorance is their first name....sure there will be brain drain but I careless Nigerians are good at managing rubbish and thanks to illiteracy they won't even understand that the joke is on them......the president is having fun and going abroad at their expense but they foolishly say that because those are politicians they can steal they understand politicians can steal while doctors When I tell Nigerians that your lives mean nothing before their government they think because I'm a doctor I'm arrogant and proud....it's the simple truth Nigerians honour dishonest people in govt because they lack the fear of God and they are greedy and thus they hope to get there someday and do worse.......
Doctors went on industrial action you all felt doctors made an oath...I explore you all to actually read that note and understand what it entails.....industrial action has been suspended... But no protective kits and wears has been provided for health personnels to use not only to protect them but majorly to contain the virus and limit the spread yet millions have been donated for such...envy and ignorance won't allow you all to ask the right questions....my oath instructs me to do no harm to my patient and for me in this present situation means I can choose not to attend to a patient if I feel coming in contact with the patient would endanger a lot of other people....

We keep screaming poor security yet the our armed forces are not equipped to even handle a riot let alone a war against people that reason worse than beasts....
Yet support such governance and their ill advised actions....
Your president is currently out of the country spending all your forcefully collected taxes (most Nigerians don't like paying taxes they love free things)on treatment and I official rest........

Right now I only feel pity for most Nigerians who are so ignorant because the joke is on them....and it will get worse if there is no re orientation on the way things are done...well Nigerians are best at managing the badlands watching the good spoil....

Poster abeg tell your husband to get off the force jare....Nigeria and Nigerians are really not worth dying for.....should work in deplorable conditions still at their expense...... In the fight against Ebola none of them has asked how has the money donated been spent cos at it is no protective kits are made available in any of these hospitals....I'm in AKTH kano so I know what I'm saying..... The funniest thing is that despite all their insults they will still.be the ones to go in search of a doctor.that's why johesu members keep disguising as doctors...

You are stupid doctor

@anon 12:42, u can't be a doctor,and if u are then u must be a bastard.Medical school must have been responsible for ur post traumatic stress disorder.Or is it that u have attempted primary exams multiple times without success? Take heart,residency isn't for all.Ur lame attempt at rubbishing d profession isn't working

@ anon 1:11AM. Radiologists are doctors o!. I guess u didn't know.Nurses sha, very shallow peeps. And why will a doctor leave his work to fight with nurses na? For wot? "Igi mu ji no so ri"(in 9ice's voice).A nurse will always be responsible for cleaning patients shit and taking orders from doctors.My dear, get use to it

Gbam! If he is indeed a doctor, then stupid does not even begin to qualify him.

My sincere prayer for all of you spouting rubbish is to go to medical school. After 8 years, come back and we can have this discussion again.