Chibok girls: President Jonathan inaugurates fact-finding committee | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 6 May 2014

Chibok girls: President Jonathan inaugurates fact-finding committee

President Goodluck Jonathan today inaugurated a 30-man fact-finding committee to look into the rescue of kidnapped Chibok girls. The committee is expected to speak to the public at least once a day to keep everyone abreast with recent developments on the case.

The committee will look into issues surrounding the abduction of the girls and also consider possible rescue plans. While inaugurating the committee, the President said;
"You will agree with me that this is not a committee that brings joy to me and indeed our country men and women. However, it is a necessary step which government must take to confront the sad circumstances surrounding the abduction of female students, our daughters in Government Girls Secondary School, Chibok.
First let me make it very clear – luckily the Minister of Justice is here – that this committee is neither a judicial committee nor an administrative committee to look into the affairs of this incident. No. It is not administrative panel set up by federal government or a judicial committee. I must make that very clear because those are the responsibilities of the state and not that of the federal government. Continue...

I say so because before you know somebody will go to court and say that federal government is interloping in an area which is supposed to be an exclusive preserve of the state. The operation of the security and intelligence services will continue to intensify till our daughters are rescued and brought safely home to their families. Rather this committee will be primarily concern with providing public interface with all directly concerned in this tragedy, in order to provide a well-coordinated citizens input into the overall investigations.The whole world is watching you because that is why we made sure that an information officer is attached to you. Because I believe you will be speaking to the world every six hours or at least once a day as to the progress of the committee. I am appreciative of the fact that this sad incident has attracted global outrage. This is a clear testimony to the fact that humanity can come together and stand as one against evil no matter how it is presented. This is the time when we must dwell together beyond all political, religious or regional divide against our common enemy. We must remain vigilant and be ready to assist security agencies and authorities at all time,” he said.
Chairman of the Committee, Rtd. Gen. Ibrahim Sabo pledged that himself and the other members will do their best. Members invited from Borno state and the UN were absent at the inauguration.

Members of the committee include two representatives of the National Council of Women Societies, NCWS); two female representatives, Nigeria Conference of Principals of Secondary Schools, ANCOPSS; two representatives of the national members of Parents Teachers Association; two representatives of the Nigeria Police, and two representatives of the State Security Service.

Others are two representatives of the Nigerian Army, two representatives of the Nigeria Union of Journalists, NUJ, one representative of the Federal Ministry of Information (who would be the Committees’ Spokesperson), and one Representative of the Federal Ministry of Justice as well as three Representatives of the Borno State Government (two of whom, preferably, shall be women), one Representative of the United Nations, one Representative of ECOWAS (who shall be a woman) and the Permanent Secretary (Special Services Office) who shall be the Secretary of the Committee.

108 comments:

Inaugurates fact finding committee 3weeks after the girls were taken? Does this guy have any sense at all?????

Nigeria, wake the fuck up. Please! This man is killing us slowly, our silence is killing us, we are letting these things happen to us. Light a fire in your hearts, get angry and stop this filth! This man is forming a committee! A committee! Wtf is a committee and why do we need THIRTY people to update us? This man is a fool in the plainest sense. He can't help himself. Nigeria! Wake up and get angry!

I am overgassted at the paraplegic way in which our president handled this issue of the chibok kidnapping, if not for calls and protest from all spheres of life, including that of the international community, he wouldn't have acted, its sardonic

With dis one I believe something positive will be achieved at the end of the day

I just hope this is new development helps o..

I wasn't expecting much from him.my only solace is that US are on their way

Chidimma said...

Committe should pls get to work and pls let me not hear that they have given them some billion dollars to find these girls

Hmmmmmmm commitee I pray dey brung back our girls ohhhh

Peejay said...

May God grant them the ability to deliberate appropriately and get answers to the oh so many questions Nigerian are asking. #bringbackourgirls

DOBY DOBY said...

Y include corrupt police.. bh ur time is up.. im sure dat d deadly bh nd deir sponsors wil get demselves more equipped each tym dey listen to the kind of news.. # bring back our gals

Nice step taken

Must there be a committee for everything?? Get d bloody work done!!

Bringbackourgirls

It is well even in the well

Another committee! Ah, we all know its just a necessary formality to come, eat money nd speak big big grammar witout any notable action or outcome! My only prayer is dat anybody banking on d misfortunes of ordinary nigerians as an avenue to make quick cash, may d devil use their life nd family to play Ludo! #gbam
#GozManuel#

Nice move GEJ...

Management by committee - the preferred option of incompetent leaders. Rather than execute or deliver on the job or even hire those that can execute or deliver on the job they would rather inaugurate committees playing to the gallery....Goduuuoooo stop this sharing of bloods!

Chris said...

He should keep inauguration committees here and there...'Committee Government'

Hmm... My salivary gland has dried.

#GodIntervention
#BringBackOurGirls
#JonaPlsDivideNigeria
#EnoughIsEnough

* My R1.50c comment *

We'll see how useful that proves to be. Hope its not just for show.

A call put forth by the first lady to Borno first lady wasn't honoured now the inauguration of the Fact finding committee the members invited from Borno where the event happened were absent. Isn't there something suspicious about this whole rhing?

dis man loves committees, is dere really any need for a committee? just wondering

Na so so committee una go dey inaugurate Please do the needful Oga Jona

Pray they will come out with positive news

Whatever just bringbackourgirls

I want to know the truth The whole truth.

sasha said...

God wil alwaz gv Goodluck d grace to win dz battle,amen...d earlier we stop blamin our president d better for dz grt country,cuz I could rembr vividly d statment IBB made d moment GEJ waz sworn into office dt "he wuld mk hz tenure ungovernable for him"..nd dtz xactly wt dy r doin nw buh God pass dem..I'm glad al dz r happenin in dai own north,I trust d God I serve cuz al dz wit come to an end soonest,Amen. #plzletspraytogetherfordisgratenation#

What crazy fact finding committee is he setting up,over three weeks after the incident , what he needs to do is send a rescue mission . Another short cut on how to enrich people , what is the committee going to find that we do not already know, US televisions have provided the names of the girls and our govt is yet to come up with the exact figure or names. The president has not made any public speech about this incident yet he is setting up a committee of goons. Thank God for social media, this would have been swept under the carpet like everything else . None of the top female cabinet heads have shown any form of solidarity or concern , committee of idiots and shameless. fools

Another committee? Jona has lost the plot! America, I beg take Jona with u when u come to carry Boko Haram away.

JO said...

Ok, I'm eagerly waiting for updates

A COMMITTEE AFTER 3WEEK...haba mr president!!! so if i were the president and i set up a committee 3weekx after your children were kidnaped u will dance for me

uyi said...

Committee again? So GEJ and his security teams need a committee to get our girls back..........forgive me for saying this, " naija is fucked"!

Beloved said...

So it took Jonathan and Nigerian government THREE WEEKS TO SET UP COMMITTEE TO FIND THE MISSING GIRLS.
This is because of the noise from the people, the media, demonstrations around the world.
PROBABLY IF WE DIDN'T LEND OUR VOICES, THIS MATTER WOULD HAVE BEEN SWEPT UNDER LIKE MANY OTHERS.
SMH

This president is just a dum ass. A layman will understand that this is another way to make money out of this issue. because this so called committee will not bring us any productive steps in bringing back this girls. I wonder how this man they think...shame on your administration.

dis dude doesn't even know Wat is happening in his country, WTF r we going to use a fact finding committee to do, girls have been missing for 3weeks now, he's setting up a committee. *MY PRESIDENT IS DULL*

GOOD ONE #BRIGHT BRAVO#

As always oloshi man...committee ma behind. since april 14th it. Is God dt wld punish u here on earth n even beyond. Resign if ur silly ass is too timid. Such disgrace to manhood. May God help Boko harram abduct ur real daughter so ur face and expression can change. DumbEST man ever liveth

RUBBISH!!! Am pretty sure his cabinet came up with this bright idea and he just followed, honestly real lives are at stake and d politicians and foreign interest are using Nigerian lives to play calo calo...

All na wash, na result we dey wait for abegi. #Bringbackourgirls and kon take our Runz gurls Wey Sabi.

cad&kraft said...

Committe again GEJ.for what? 30members 4milion naira each to submit report on the abduction not to find the girls.fact finding indeed..Reuben abati this is your English abi?highly dissapointed in you with this level of your advisory...

Dee Tee said...

Hmmm. Committees upon committees. There's God ooo. Chai!!!

But isn't this why we have the SSS , this is why i believe the SSS should be questioned and some of them should be fired because this is what they are meant to be doing . Anyway I guess I should say good move

This occurence unfortunately is a big lash to GEJ's political ambition!

Lindie me ah dnt undstnd wat d man #gej#iz takin abt al ah c z,savice,cumittee,savice cumittee,plz bring bk awa galz,b4 india supastz wud start lendin voice,china go con folo tor.

Niceone

Fact finding committee ?????
What on earth is that... He has failed the country, this is coming a little too late.
It's been 3 weeks since the incident happened!!!

Wat do u knw bout intl politics!!jst shut up!d US cming hre wud only worsen d issue..dey wud begin to exploit d oil resource which is one of most important resource in d world all in d name of helping the country fight against terrorism!dnt be surprised to see dem funding BH to ensure dia stay

yusuf said...

Who are those advising this man? Does he knows what he is doing? This man should leave this seat for human sake, abi na by force. He has nothing to offer at all

Oh fack! Committee? Its over.

Fellow Nigerians make una allow ur Mr president to continue to lie to U. The truth is out he REPEATEDLY REFUSED to accept the offer to help by the US govt, all cos it will show his redundancy as a leader; thelead.blogs.cnn.com/2014/05/06/menendez-to-nigeria-you-need-to-engage-and-help-us-help-you/ Make una open ur eyes there is fire on the mountain and you are all sleeping.

Lol... Dis man can neva prov me wrong. I knew he was coming to dis. He sets up comittee for evrything. Pls what is d work of all our law enforcement agencies? Ar they dat incompetent? Den what d hell are dey doin thr. Or is it dat somppl want to use dis incident as an avenue to eat som govt cake too? God is watchin

Only God knws d kind of pain dey w b goin. Tru @ d moment.. God hep us in bringing bak our girls

AYW said...

oh great

U r d' biggest idiot south of d' sahara......Cottonwool head

U r a mumu

I pray they bring back the girls.

Janelicious said...

Fact finding committee? This is crazy.

#bringbackourgirls

Do you knw what a committe means in the first place? Please pack ur mouth if ur not educated to speak on this. U rush to call someone " a fool" when u should be hiding when brains speak. Pls pick up ur bible and read concerning calling people fools. This is not african magic that its only curses and anger that u understand. Learn to read wide and expand ur knowledge. When i say read wide, pls its not "hints" magazine and "thisday style". Be wise

The way this government is going five things might actually happen and l am praying in my heart that they don't. Just like every other Nigerian who is hoping for the best and have not voiced their fears some of which am about to say now.If this situation dose not have a head way and Boko Haram keeps up with their acts.
1. We may soon ask the President to resign his appointment for a capable hand to take over the situation.
2. The military might take this chance and come in (it has happened in this country before) I wonder if the President is still the "CnC", it those appear that the military is not supporting him enough. (where are the retired generals to come support him with their experience and training.
3. The enemies of the country might take advantage of our situation to lunch a surprise attack and take us unawares.
4.If America come in will they leave willingly without negotiation with our oil?
5. Up rising of groups to defend their tribes.

Nigerians have become a nation of blog believers. Bloggers now shape our beliefs and this is so sad. When people ask Govt. for more information, I ask myself, what kind of information?
Should the Govt. give us intelligence informations so that the enemy can act on it or what exactly do they want? Govt. has already said, they are doing something but of cos, Nigerians only believe negatives about their President, thanks to the opposition and politicking.

Nigerians around the world are protesting, carrying placards and showing our foolishness as usually.

The Malaysian Airline has been missing for over 2 months or more, with over 200 people from different nations but I am yet to see those people protesting in Nigeria or any other nations.

Over 200 students died in a ship mishaps where the captain of the ship flew his ship while telling the students to stay behind and drown in South korea, but I have not seen any Koreans protesting in Nigeria or anywhere around the world about their government.

Millions have been killed in the syrian war by the president of syria and again, I am yet to see them on CNN carrying placard in other nations condemning their nation.

Russian has invaded part of Ukraine and people are still at war there but once again, I am yet to see Ukraines protest in other countries or carry placard.

Only Nigerians are foolish to go to another man's country and try to mock or condemn his. Carrying placard and sending pics to bloggers to post. Foolishness at its highest lever.

Or do we not have Syrians, Egyptians, Koreans, Malaysians and Ukraines living in other parts of the world, don't they have citizens in Europe. Uk and the USA?

What a shame, what ignorance, what stupidity Nigerians constantly exhibit all in the name of thinking we are wiser. Thanks to politicking we have proven over and over, we are not.
Intelligence report can not be revealed to the public. We all just have to wait, including CNN.

Fred .... E said...

People keep insulting Jona as if they are perfect , his a human being like yoh and I don't think because his a president therefore he knows all .. No . stop insulting your president either you like it or not he is president of Nigeria and you insulting him tru media u are making fool of your self .. Demonstrate your personality here .. Don't insult bring ideas and stop criticising .. Politicians , police , lawyers , etc they are am human being like yoh and I no one is saint .. U can't use abuse to correct your child .. Way forward we need not insult ..

oh pls haters shut up ad give d president a break he has called for help from the international community ad dea are helping. If him no do una go talk.if him do una go talk. Waiting make him die 4 una b4 una go rest

KASS said...

Sorry are you Patrick Obiahagbon's younger brother or the Man ur rose-model? #backToTheMatter GEJ ua too slow and dumb..... May God help us

na committee go kill this jonathan

Senator calls for U.S. special forces to rescue Nigerian girls

Posted by
CNN Chief Congressional Correspondent Dana Bash
Washington (CNN) – Sen. Susan Collins told CNN in an interview that she wants the U.S. military to help rescue more than 200 schoolgirls kidnapped in Nigeria.

“More can be done by this administration. I would like to see Special Forces deployed to help rescue these young girls. Some of these girls are as young as nine years old,” said Collins.

“They’re being sold into slavery, forced into marriages, required to convert. This is just horrible,” she said.

Collins joined Democratic Sen. Barbara Mikulski in writing a bipartisan letter Tuesday to President Barack Obama asking the administration to do more. It was signed by all 20 women senators.

But the letter focused on the diplomatic front, and urged Obama to press the United Nations to add Boko Haram to its al Qaeda Sanctions List.

Boko Haram, which has claimed responsibility for the kidnappings in April, is a militant group that has received assistance in the past from al Qaeda, according to the State Department. The United States has branded it a terror group.

“Every single woman immediately signed that letter, because she wanted to lend her voice to the international outrage,” said Mikulski.

“The women of the Senate won’t be quiet,” she said.

The comments came as word surfaced of even more abductions this week.

Mikulski, interviewed by CNN alongside Collins, was more circumspect on the idea of sending American troops on a rescue mission. Instead, she hopes regional governments take the lead.

“It has to start with the Nigerian President, using his resources, an African regional coalition, and then call upon the expertise of nations that have Special Forces, special intelligence data, satellites, etc.,” said Mikulski.

“Find the girls, rescue the girls, punish the bad guys and send a message: we won’t tolerate it. You try it again, we’ll come after you again,” Mikulski said emphatically.

But she voiced concern coming from others on Capitol Hill and elsewhere about the Nigerian government’s willingness to act.

“The Nigerian government, led by its President, has been tepid on its response at best,” said Mikulski.

Collins said she would think the Nigerian President “would welcome Special Forces coming in.”

“I don’t think the Nigerian President has the capabilities, obviously, that we have, so I would hope that he would encourage the United States to help him rescue these young citizens of his country, these girls who are being so exploited, kidnapped, taken from their homes. This is horrendous and it requires a global outrage in response to what’s happening,” said Collins.

Under mounting international pressure, Nigeria on Tuesday defended its response to the kidnappings. A senior Nigerian official has told CNN that the government there is in "hot pursuit" of those responsible. Specifically, the official said two special battalions have been devoted to the search and more troops would be involved.

So far, the State Department said that Nigerian President Goodluck Jonathan welcomes an offer of U.S. support and said the embassy in Nigeria is ready to create a "coordination cell" to provide intelligence, investigations and hostage negotiation expertise. It would include U.S. military personnel, agency spokeswoman Jen Psaki said.

Committee fire,,,,,,,,,,biko u guys shud not insult GEJ again,,,,,,,bcuz if u do #Americans will know## nd u ll be in trouble.

Mr President I do believe that you are being set up to fail but honestly f*ck you and your fact finding committee!!! F*ck you sideways all ways!!! We need action, we need guns ablazing! Not a committee that will consume money to tell something I have already read on Linda Ikeji's blog.

1.#500 Million naira committee
2.30 plus a/c Hiace bus to members
3.30 plus private govt vehicles w/security
4. committee members stays in VIP room in Sheraton Hotels
5. they come out and yarn rubbish and issue 30page report
6. each committee member gets paid ##millions of naira for participating
7.#end of story##

meanwhile, our teenage girls are being raped & sold into slavery living in the forest!!!

Chai!

Like when US was searching for those two guys involved in the Boston bomb blast a committee was formed. A commitee that will be paid. What is the work of the security agents? Is Nigeria that big to bring back these girls? We were involved in Liberia, Sudan, Mali. But it seems we can't help ourselves. Why? The answer is simple.... we are our problem. Jonathan works for the USA. Main goal is to disintegrate Nigeria.

I wonder why we nigerias are nt seein wat dis foolis northen leaders are trying 2 do 2 spoil jona tenure, thank GOD US are involve, I see some evil going 2 jail in no time. GoD bless nigeria

This govt is just clueless, mtchewww

Rubbish!!!!!

God help us to find those girls only u kn wot dey re going tru

oga presido please do not mind those anti goodlucks , they are bad luck s but their badlucks shall remain in their various households. Good Lib readers do you see how Oga intelligently picked the members of this committee. The wind will soon blow and you know what follows.

The lack of sincerity by the Federal govt in this matter is so obvious. If I were the Borno Governor, I wouldn't respond to anything from GEJ either

Mr stupid president, do you set up a committe when you make love to your dunce wife, when you spent our money on your ugly daugther's wedding and finally when you paid alot of money to rescuse your abducted uncle...you are sick!

Sedition law still applies.
Linda tek note!!!

So na today president wan inaugurate fact finding committee......is this country okay..? There is problem o pls bloggers, activists in fact youth let's form a platform and front a thinker and leader...I think the old are tired, but they just can't let go ,,.....it's like an old man loosing his site daily and crashing his car into poles but insists he can see and drive

Go get a job fool. Because there will be no 100k for your poor family this year Christmas. Ewu Congo

Osi gini? Brung hmmm you will come here to ridicule Mama peace. Ewu bekeee.

Aymii said...

@anon 10.37.....you are the one who should park your own mouth elsewhere if you don't have any meaningful thing to say!

Is this a time for setting up committee's????? .....three weeks into this abduction and your retard president just Inaugurated a committee????

Aren't you a Nigerian? Or aren't you familiar with the way presido operates??? That man has inugurated over a billion committee's during his tenure(excuse my exaggeration), all to what effect??...His reaction to any problem as usual is to "Set up a committee!"...to "look into it"

What we need is urgent Action, not 30 people to be conducting useless meetings.......The only committee that should be meeting is Jonathan and the Heads of the military forces assigned to capture back our girls

And to imagine that they will probably be serving small chops while the committee meeting is going on...smh. Lawd ha mercy!

#Bringbackourgirls
#kickBadluckjonathanoutin2015

ON 2 the Next!

Where is Jack Bauer pls ??? We need him in Nigeria !!!!

Chidimma said...

Oga, pls be informed that the international community as a whole has impounded claws on the Russian government. They have been banned from certain things. Also Americans are in talks with the necessary Bodies to restore peace in Syria.

Why r u hating??? How does ur statement even make sense

Anon 10.01pm, just went to that link. Now I'm even more upset than before! So this guy had no plans of doing anything about these girls? Bastard Jona! Time to go!

Idiot!

Nigerians with their low mentality!!! especial this BonaNkoia or whatever you are called!! All of you think US is a solution provider?They are coming to tap your resources and you will be left with nothing! Nigerians , when you see a headline or a story, pause and think between those lines you read before you comment or react!

I can't understand any time borno govt is being invited for the issue of missing girls in his state they will not come. Why? Please God you alone knows the circumstances surrounding the kidnapping of these girls. Where ever they are protect them from the hands of these political Vampires and BH. Lady" KAY".

Committees are always set up in every nigerian situation,the committees to lok over each committees and anoda committee to look over all committees. Dis won't bring the girls back.

Take a seat.

Yetunde said...

Is Jonathan trying to tell Nigerians that if his little girl was among the ones who were kidnapped he is going to inaugurate a fact finding committee? Who doesn't know that for 30 people to reach a consensus on a matter is very hard. It's as if our government doesn't even want the girls to be found.

am not in support of US assistance,they have motives,lets us as a nation face our problem otherwise leave it for God.

Anony 10:21...u are d biggest idiot here,why insultin her? Mumu

Na u b cottonwool head...foooool, why hidin under anonymous 2 insult her??? Ode....God will punish u wela.. Anuofia

Shae u know how to run a nation ni, I suspect you'll be running for presidency come 2015, let's see what u can do

Google needs a thumbs up feature, I couldn't have said it better.

@anon 10:36 suprisingly, you just expended 86 words of mega-fuckery, at first I thought you had an explanation for ur gay lord Jonathan, but all you did was dance around the fire of stupidity your mentor set off in the first place.

@alloy big words are not directly proportional to being clever you know...

@Kennedy Chidinma,God bless you.you just spoke my mind...I never knew sensible peeps like you do also comment on dz blog,i do read some people's comment and i will be like OMG...Intelligence report can never be leaked for the public,we kept on blaming GEJ forgeting the fact that he can only give orders...what happens to the SSS and our armed forces and their chiefs?? From a comment i read earlier on here,the mofo talked as if he was expecting JOna himself to get a riffle and enter d sambisa forest to fight the bokos,then he can know he is trying and pained too...I fink our armed forces and SSS are weak in battling this,hence the need for foreign help....#Pray4peace2reigninNigeria

Errrr Mr know it all. Unlike you, people can't stay quiet and just sit and let things slide, I can't begin to pull down ur wall of Berlin. But we'd rather u sit your know-it-all ass down and watch as a nation is built and not ruined.

Typical Nigerian state of mind. If Jonathan is human, then I guess the likes of Putin, Obama to mention a few are gods, you stupid, stagnant, stupendous nonentity.

@anon 10.57am,Comparing Obama with Jonathan is just like comparing america with nigeria and thats so dumb of u,remember rome wasnt built in a day and america govt also had issues in the past,so shut that trashy tacky tin u call mouth up and pray for the peace of our nation or better still pack ur loadz and stay in america #punkasshole

This is not a time to apportion blame. it is a time for action and prayer.

ola lib

You seem to be the smartest ....well done.

Obviously ur dumb as chelsea.y would some1 say gud move jonathan.am sure d committee will tell d military wat to do? Asshole

Another comittee?!...
Chai!!.. Diarisgod oo!!

Uleh said...

Jonathan is a less intelligent animal. see who he calls wife. dindinrin meji. Nigeria! see who you call president.