South African Church bars black people from worshiping | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 27 June 2017

South African Church bars black people from worshiping

A South African Church; The Afrikaanse Protestante Kerk church in Orania has barred blacks from attending service as the church on Sunday disallowed two black journalists from entering.

They told the journalists “the church is only for whites”.
According to Africa Review, the journalists were on an assignment and decided to attend a Sunday service before returning to Pretoria but they were intercepted by a church leader, identified as Mr Theunis Oukamp, at the door who said allowing black people into an all-white church would be violating the “rights of Afrikaans people. I am now in a difficult situation. You know that Orania is only for white people, this is why we are here.  You must understand I know you want to serve God and everything but I have to protect the rights of Afrikaans people. So I cannot let you in, you guys can go to any other church, but this one is only for white people'.

Orania, the city where the church is located is an Afrikaans-only South African town located along the banks of the Orange River, in the arid Karoo region of the Northern Cape Province.

The president of the South Africa Union Council of Independent Churches, Archbishop Modiri Patrick Shole, expressed shock that there was still segregation in the body of Christ, 23 years after apartheid ended, he said, 
'we don’t discriminate in church because before God we are one whether white or black. I find it weird that we still have discrimination in the church".

20 comments:

mtcheeww yeye people..... Islam is the best religion

This church is so foolish and myopic. You can come to an AFICACAN COUNTRY and push africans away. We are black. Get the stepping !

SHAME

Serves them right. Were they not xenophobic to their fellow black Africans from other countries? The apartheid they will put them through this time, no other African country will advocate for them. This is karma visiting them. They should deal with it, after all here in Nigeria Hausa is also doing xenophobic action on Igbo, so we have our own problems.

Quit this segregation o land! Quit Azania! That the labours of Nelson Mandela, Ezekiel Mphalele, Cyril Ramaphosa, Oliver Tambo, Walter Sisilu, Chief Albert Luthuli, Steve Bantu Biko, Govan Mbeki, his son Tabo Mbeki et al shall not have been in vain!

The Aficionado

you'd agree with me this whites are dumb n stupid

Is that all they are gona say? Shooooo

if it is other about africans these south africans have power to lynch but against the people actually stealing their land and discriminating against they become scared little mice.

Why wont blacks respect themselves, leave them alone its not by force by the way we have members only associations

You mean the best Killers or territories. Without Islam the world will be a great place to leave.

With holy war and bloodshed??.... No thanks!

Nd the church name is afrikaans,why not use whites church only,stupid fools

omoh said...

Enter your comment...south Africans are pure racist most especially the white. you can never see the whites and black together just too bad.

they can as well take off the "African" in that south African spelling

uniquechic said...

and dey established a church to worship d only living God dat doesnt ddiscriminate..pls what hypocrisy..
so dey tink dia prayers will be answered???? dey dont know what dey rr doing father forgive dem!!!
dey shd just not waste d building and let some oda ppl occupy..no be only church!!!!

They south Africans got what they deserved. Xenophobia!!!!! But nonetheless, the whites should wake up from there slumber and realise That segregation is no longer acceptable in this world....

U be pigeon na ur colour wey I no knw....

Brenda said...

END TIME FOOLS

Useless thats what christians svend there time doing while islam is growing bigger and bigger So bad that this is happning in african soil land of the great blacks i hope there will be white heaven and black heaven