Photos: Nigeria Customs destroy 4118 cartons of seized frozen poultry | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 22 June 2017

Photos: Nigeria Customs destroy 4118 cartons of seized frozen poultry

The Nigeria Customs Service Federal Operations Unit Zone C Owerri destroyed 4118 cartons of frozen poultry with duty paid value of N83,389,500 yesterday at the Abia/Command in Owerri.
Comptroller Amajam Bukar, the Controller Federal Operations Unit Zone C Owerri said the seizure of the poultry products which was transported in a 1X40ft container, was achieved through a tip off from an informant to operatives of the Nigeria Customs Service Federal Operations Unit Zone C Owerri.

The Unit with the aid of partner security agencies including the National Agency for Food Drugs Administration and Control (NAFDAC) and the Nigeria Police Force, was able to secure the container and its contents and destroy it in line with government directives.
Comptroller Amajam who stressed that frozen poultry products is illegal and an import prohibition called on the public not to patronise such products which he said are harmful to human health. He also called on intending frozen poultry importers to desist and instead channel their resources to legal imports will be of benefit to the nation and to avoid incur loss.
He reiterated the commitment of the Service to work tirelessly to protect the economy as well as the local agriculture industry from unhealthy competition.

On hand to witness the destruction were representatives of the Nigeria Police Force, the National Agency for Food Drugs Administration and Control (NAFDAC), the Department of State Security, National Security and Civil Defence Corps (NSCDC), amongst others.

13 comments:

Am sure it's because they didn't give them bribe money.

Crooks

Ike Louisa said...

And people will not listen. Good health better than riches.

But the owner paid custom duty for this, when they know it's harmful to health. Go back collect the money you paid and as for meni don't eat this frozen chicken.

Which way to follow Nigeria?

hehe those destroying, how many did they smuggle out?

how about giving this stuff out to people in idp camps???

just a thought!!!!

If at all they didn't ask for bribe. That's good news

It can't be a tip off if duty was duly paid..they should refund d duty because at d point duty payment, he would have been denied access. Naija na wao..double standard

I'm here with hope to seek help. I'm a young lady in my twenties,trying to make my future better by going to school to become a graduate and get a job , but paying my school fees,hostel accommodation, feeding and buying my books is a problem and getting a job as a student schooling is very difficult. Any amount is very fine by me and I will greatly appreciate. I truly need help I suffered so much to get into school I don't want to defile my studies because of lack of funds. I hope someone will reach out to assist me. Thank you my email nnechichinne@yahoo.com‎

Believe me the only reason for desroying this prduct ws bcos it ws imported fuckers

Linda we use to flex dis chicken DAT time shall, believe me growing up was wonderful. Let me tell u d truth about this stuff. What happens is that as soon as they seize it,somehow somehow d news will pass around to every body in d neighborhood,then after d custom officers have collected their full share even their boss sef,whose wife may come and collect his and load d cartons in d booth,then after all d custom staffs have been satisfied they will then start the proper show which will only last for 30minutes by calling the media to witness how it was all destroyed. Linda believe me u know d media won't stay for long na so as soon as they all leave we will wait patiently till nightfall then you will see serious digging because the fire only burnt d surface. Then as soon as it is 8 O'Clock u trust na NEPA go don fool themselves as usual take light,no dulling o everybody don jump inside with their sack and shovel.my dear d next day everybody go chop like king till d next consignment arrives. It was a win win situation for everyone but I really pitied d owners of d goods whose goods were burnt due to Inability to meet up with the customs officer proposed terms of settlement(bribe)

If only we can support our government agencies, Nigeria will be better. I am surprised someone accused the Nigerian customs of smuggling some of those frozen, just the same way the Nigerian police was accused of stealing from Evans the kidnapper. This guys deserve applaud, not accusations.

Our government agencies deserves to be appreciated. Even if they snuggled part part of the frozen, they still did their job. We should stop criticising our government agencies. I am surprised that pple accused Nigerian police of stealing from Evans the kidnapper when they arrested him in his residence