Photos: 17-year-old Muslim girl abducted, assaulted and murdered after leaving mosque in Virginia, suspect arrested | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 19 June 2017

Photos: 17-year-old Muslim girl abducted, assaulted and murdered after leaving mosque in Virginia, suspect arrested

Police in Fairfax, Virginia, US, found the body of a 17-year-old Muslim girl who was reported missing early Sunday after leaving a mosque with a group of friends.

Authorities believed she was assaulted and murdered after leaving a mosque in the Sterling area in Virginia. Her body was found on Sunday morning, June 18th, in a pond in the 21500 block of Ridgetop Circle in Sterling, Virginia.

Shortly after finding the remains, officers arrested 22-year-old Darwin Martinez Torres and charged him with murder in connection to the case.

Mosque officials identified the missing teen as Nabra and said she and her friends were coming back from eating during a break from Ramadan prayers when a car pulled up and a man with a baseball bat jumped out and started swinging at the group of girls.

The teens were walking on Dranesville Road towards the All Dulles Area Muslim Society (ADAMS) Center in Sterling, Virginia, at around 3:30 a.m. on Sunday after grabbing breakfast at a nearby town center before beginning their fast at sunrise for Ramadan, police and mosque officials said.
A motorist confronted the group and they got into an altercation, Deputy Aleksandra Kowalski, said a spokesperson for the Loudoun County Sheriff’s office.

While it was evident that the teens were Muslim, police said detectives have "not gotten any indication that this was motivated by hate or bias."

According to accounts from police and mosque officials, all of the teens except for one fled the scene. Members from the community found the group and directed them to the ADAMS Center, which immediately notified officials at around 4 a.m., Rizwan Jaka, a board member at ADAMS, said in a statement.

"They all dispersed after the incident and when they met back up they realized she was missing," Kowalski said.
"We are devastated and heartbroken as our community undergoes and processes this traumatic event. It is a time for us to come together to pray and care for our youth," the center's statement said.
While searching for Nabra, a police officer saw a car driving suspiciously near the area and immediately pulled the driver over. Following this, Torres was taken into custody in connection to the case.
Police said a baseball bat was also found, as described by the friends of the girl and the mosque officials.

"Our detectives are fairly certain that it is her," Tawny Wright, a spokesperson for the Fairfax County Police Department said. "But the Chief Medical Examiner still needs to conduct an autopsy to confirm the identity."

"I just can't think of a worse instance to occur with the loss of a 17-year-old on Father's Day. As a father of a 17-year-old myself, I can't think of anything worse than confronting that on this particular day,” Loudoun County Sheriff Michael Chapman said at a news conference on Sunday evening.

Virginia Attorney General Mark Herring released a statement Saturday night:
“The ADAMS Center has always welcomed me and so many in Northern Virginia like family. This unspeakable attack feels like an assault on our entire community. Words fail at a time like this, so we'll all have to do the best we can to surround them with the love and support they've always shown each of us.”

30 comments:

Okay...

Newwave said...

New Record label looking for experienced music artistes and producers. Check newwaverecords.com.ng for details or follow us @newwave_rec on ig or twitter.

Dunni said...

this thing is getting into a toxic cycle of tit for tat. the isis people have made a

want to get a bigger penis? click here now

lot more people hate islam because of the atrocities against christians and other religions.

I know Muslim's and their religion are animals.. .but no, this is not good.. .who ever did this to this lovely girl, should be brought to book

Say no to RAPE

rest in perfect peace

Omg... This pretty lady... Damn the man should also be killed... Mother fucker...

click here to watch and download latest twyse comedy skit videos

We need world peace

I just don't understand how people behave and think, this is hopelessly bad. RIP to the deceased. We shouldn't keep quiet oh, I saw this video online, somewhere in the North where some guys were raping a girl and everyone was watching click here to watch the video lets make this viral till the government intervene.

I need a sugar lady or mummy to take care of me and i promised not to let her down....(LAGOS ONLY) 08179336347.

You are just a fowl!! Mst u talk rubbish?

Daily diet tv said...

R.I.P

Such beautiful girl.
May her soul rest in peace.

Muslims brought this on themselves. More attacks on Muslims to come.

Calling all muslims and their religion animals isn't a good one.

@galore u she b ashamed of urself for speaking in dis manner against Muslims.u r a useless n hopeless being.May Allah judge u n ur ilk wit such vile language n intent.

tsalz said...

Unfair

Who is the animal here now galore.
When you speak so much hate and disgusting words to human being like you yet you expect love from them.
May God forgive you but every of our words would be accounted for and i hope that day you would have justification for all your hate comments.
If Muslims are that bad,would you still be alive?
Are there no Muslims in you family,work or environment.

mikky said...

This is so satanic and there is need for harmony. God save us all. The criminal behind this act should be found and prosecuted

Let the police do their investigation.

DoInZ said...

This is really bad!

U are mad for saying Muslims are animals,i have been observing comments about Muslims on these blog,it has never occurred to any of u always putting comment like these religion itself doesn't teach to terrorist, kidnappers, or whatever bad thing it is,u see a group of people doing something bad ,u conclude at once that their Muslims.the fact that every terrorist come out to say is a Muslim doesn't mean everyone is like him/her.they are only trying to destroy d religion,anyone could be a terrorist or s kidnapper ,it could be a Christian or any one from any other religion,if u are a good Christian yourself u would know that these are signs that the world is coming to an end and that the devil is at work.the richest african man is a muslim so is ur president.they made their choices,the other bad eggs made theirs too. it high time u start thinking like a matured person before u post anything,am not a muslim yet I don't post these way

Chai

@Anonymous "Orubebe "

Keep shouting

Rip

kisbykay (Travelling Agency) said...

This is bad in all ramification. So sad

@Galore you're an ignorant fool for labelling all Muslims as animals. You will definitely meet your waterloo for all your arrogant, senseless and stupid comments

nawa

Galore or whatever you call yourself you must be very stupid to have said that.foolish illiterate.

I read d comments here and I feel sick 2 my stomach. Islam is evil, Islam is wicked!! y'all shut d fuck up aiidy. U dnt think ur lack of concern 2wards d beautiful soul is a source of concern on its own?? U dnt think perhaps dre is a shred of wickedness and evil inside of u?? Some1 actually said more attacks on Muslims!! Dis ignorance is sickening 2 witness. U sit wherever u are, in ur corner of d world and wish ppl dead!! My God! U dnt wish on ppl wah u wudnt wish on urself and yours. Nd u dnt say nonsense concerning something u av no idea abt. U av a ryt 2 ur own religion so don't be an imbecile by saying rubbish abt a religion u av no idea of. U judge a whole by a fraction??? Seriously it is disheartening 2 read d hate-filled comments here. An idiot with a fone who thinks hez an expert on Islam!!! So unless u av something dah actually helps, instead of annoying d hell outta us, sit ur ass down and shut d fuvk up.

Guys please, Jesus came to teach us love. The era of an eye for an eye, a tooth for a tooth is gone. Lets keep making love the answer at all times, and not make fear or hate rule Christians who are children of the Light and who ought shine brightly that light to bring unbelievers unto Jesus. It is well