Media personality, Chude Jideowno, shares heartwarming story of how a Lagos 'tout' helped him when his car broke down at 2am | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 26 June 2017

Media personality, Chude Jideowno, shares heartwarming story of how a Lagos 'tout' helped him when his car broke down at 2am

On his IG page this morning, Chude wrote;
"So, my car went into a huge pot-hole at about 2am today, on my way from Akpororo's excellent show. And then three of my tyres - Three - went kaput. Kaput. Metal on road. I kept driving for about 5 minutes until I found a well lit place to park. I came out with my ipad and my phone, and then a guy - he later told me his name is Fatai - emerged from under the Empire bus stop bridge and asked what was wrong.
The to-the-point cliche about the exact kind of person you should run away from when you're stuck on the road at 2am - no one else with you, or around. I explained, and told him I was going to get help. I already resigned myself to being 'obtained' on some level. But then he said, it's okay, he would stand watch over the car from me. He would keep it safe while I found a solution. And he did. As did the taxi driver who helped me go round finding spare tyres all around Surulere. Both of them became my guardian angels, telling me what to do, helping me change my tyres, assuring me I'd be fine. It still makes no sense to me, you know? It would have been more rewarding for Fatai to take my phone, my iPad or something from the car. What possesses a man who has no home, and hangs around bridges at night and even has no phone l to choose empathy / even if in hope of a tip / over easy theft? To commit to helping a stranger in the middle of the night, and to keep his word? I am glad for the burst tyres. I seriously am. Any experience that refreshes my faith in the human spirit is a gift. Including my team members - three of them - who insisted on coming out at 3am to help. Thank you, Jesus for sending me angels. I live for moments like this!"

23 comments:

Bello said...

i hope he gave the fatai some money. it is not just thank you that he would give fatai and nothing else. some of these guys are just hustlers, the problem is

click here now if you are interested in penis enlargement

that they don;t have an education so they have to resort to the usual agbero work on the street.

Good...

flaky said...

Wow!
May God bless Fatai....I am reassured, good people still dey naija

It's called integrity. A heart.a soul. GOD

I really needed to read this...hopefully Nigeria will be great again.

Chai!

What a story a very good one. Hope you gave him a tip. May God bless the guy.

Danmurray Farms said...

I HOPE HE GAVE FATAI SOME GOOD CASH SHA....NOT TALKING ABOUT 500 OR 1K OOOO....MAYBE LIKE 5K AND ABOVE.......COS IF FATAI HAD OBTAINED HIM, HE WOULD HAVE PARTED WAY MUCH MORE THAN THAT.

Ezeudoye Samuel said...

How Nice, God really sent you guardian angels. Thanks be to God.

Ada said...

I hope he goes back to look for Fatai and set up a fundraising where we can help teach him a skill and a better future. That's better than any money.

There are a lot of good people in Nigeria

Hopefully Nigeria will be great again, without boundaries without tribalism but simple humanity that cut across ethnicity

Fatai is an Angel trust me!

Fatai in that storyline is a guardian angel. It happens to everyday. But we don't give them chance to operate for us. Good work my bro, keep ur faith real always.
VividviewconceptsdotCom

Wow! May Fatai be greatly rewarded for this kind act of humanity. Things like this makes me so happy that the world is not totally bad after all.

It brought tears to my eyes. Good people great will produce great nation.

It is the system we have issues with; not the inncent people. God just positioned Fatai to help you. Congrts bro. Again, I feel it is not Fatai's wish to stay under the bridge; anything you do to change his life go ahead and do it. You could be the angel he has been waiting for, too

Poverty and evil are not the same. There are a lot of poor people who have integrity. In fact, there are more poor people with integrity than the rich or average. Being poor is not the same as being wicked. There are many Fatai' s all over Nigeria. May God bless Nigeria.

Please look for Fatai and publish his photo. He needs to be taken out of under the bridge.

Agbomen said...

Thank you Ada. God bless you. A whole lot better than money.

Agbomen said...

Amen!!! I live for that day.

Agbomen said...

Exactly!

Agbomen said...

Oh yes! He is a rare breed.