"I Almost Gave up on Acting but Look at Me Now"- Omoni Oboli | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday, 25 August 2016

"I Almost Gave up on Acting but Look at Me Now"- Omoni Oboli

For Award-winning Nollywood Actress, Director and Producer, life hasn’t been a bed of roses as she almost packed her bags when she returned to Nollywood years ago. The actress who decided to take a break from acting in 1996 to complete her studies and to give birth to three boys returned to Nollywood in 2009 only to see there was practically no place for her in the industry.

The delectable actress had to show doggedness and resilience in a bid to show the industry that quitting is not on the menu for her ‘’ I did Figurine and Anchor Baby shortly after I came back, the two movies made weighty impacts in the then returning cinema culture’’ Omoni recounts.

Despite the fact that she was making a re-entry into the industry, she turned down scripts that didn’t align with her ideals
‘’I decided to take the more difficult but surer route to where I wanted, which is the route of ‘only good quality jobs’. I decided with my husband and team then that if the movie production did not spark my interest in terms of a good storyline and high production value, I won’t do it. It cost me a lot as I wasn’t doing as many jobs as many of my colleagues then. Often, even when the money offered was very attractive, I turned down roles because the movie production was not what I wanted’’.
The A-list actress whose last three movies Being Mrs Elliot, The First Lady and Wives on Strike have made box office hits with the last one becoming the third highest grossing Nollywood movie of all time at the cinema now has a new work on the horizon titled Okafor’s Law.

Okafor’s Law though yet-to-be-released recently got nominated at the Toronto International Film Festival (TIFF), one of the top 5 film festivals in the world.

Speaking on the nomination, the amiable actress said
‘’ The selection of Okafor’s Law, which is my most ambitious movie ever as an actress, producer and director, at TIFF makes me emotional and nostalgic. I remember the many nights and days of sacrifices, going the extra mile and not getting enough credit. The TIFF selection is a form of validation for my work and I am grateful to God’’.
She went on to thank the cast and crew of Okafor’s Law and with an emotion-laden show of gratitude, she said
'’I say a huge thank you to the entire cast and crew of Okafor’s Law. Words fail me in this moment, but I deeply appreciate all of them for giving me their best so that this movie turned out the way it is. If I have another chance to do this again, I will certainly do it again with this cast and crew’’.

26 comments:

Some insp...x

Giving up is never an option 👌🏾 I'm so inspired 💯

*www.bonitabislam.com*

*******************************dix woman ix not even a wow actress sef*******Linda sabi over hype na

Thank God that you didn't give up.
Longsuffering and patience is the key to success.

Where is freeborn's comment LIB?
Linda stop allowing apc folk's,my yoruba persons and hausa persons here to be controlling you on who to post his or her comment or who not to.i know the reason why my yoruba apc people and hausas hate his comment but the truth must prevail.This is a public platform every one is entitled to his own opinion'i am a yoruba but i must tell u that 95% of freeborn's comment are awesome and truth.freeborn is the only person here that say things how they are without bias,he is the reason why all my worker's,colleagues and family members here and abroad visit this blog. Freeborn the wepter we need your comment.

*******************************dix woman ix not even a wow actress sef*******Linda sabi over hype na

Nice one!

No one cares

looking great. Hit it big..get your sensational soccer prediction tips for Friday & Saturday, August 26th & 28th 2016 @ www.fortunatusblog.com

GOOD TO SEE

If i may ask, where is she now?

Good for her

God is ever faithful. Linda take note!

I concur!

Omoni is not an A list actress, as a matter of fact, she is only known in lagos and on social media, if she goes to most states in Nigeria, she is not known

I was shocked to read this, nobody knows Omoni in Enugu or in the east, she is only known in Lagos

All the best to you though....

I am seeing you and u know that acting did not take you this far it was your affair with Chike Obi the former CEO of AMCON

Good to know

Fine omoni

Hmmmm... congrats to u. Your hard work paid off

shazzy Gold said...

Just passing!

Tricia said...

Hello viewers, my name is Tricia, I recommend Lord Henry Permanent Spell Cast when it comes to love spell casting. I have been married to my husband for the past 6 years, all went well until suddenly he started cheating and finally he issued a divorce. Then my life became a total mess, I searched for help, moving from one spell caster to another like it was no bodies business, until I went through a website www.permanentspellcast2.wixsite.com/permanentlovespell and decided to contact the spell legend. Luckily he got back to me and we talked for a while, I did all he asked me to and to my greatest happiness, within 12 days as promised by Lord Henry, my husband who divorced me came back home to me and my daughter and begged for reunion. He has also cancelled the divorce. Am so happy to see my marriage work well and romantic again through the help of Lord Henry Permanent Love Spell cast. You can also get to the Spell Caster through permanentspellcast@gmail.com and permanentspellcast@yahoo.com see also www.permanentspellcast2.wixsite.com/permanentlovespell

P El-Nino said...

I look forward to joining forces with Omoni Oboli on my movie(s) production someday. I've not watched any of her movies, but her hardworks and smartness inspires/gingers me up. She's a great woman with class.

LINDA MARRY ME said...

what do u want us to look, husband snarcher, u move from bed to naked ground and also from christ to anti christ, so what is special about u. call girl.

Hmmmmm I need a miracle now!