Ivorien professor pictured backing a student's baby speaks out, says being mothers shouldn't discourage women from getting education | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday, 30 June 2016

Ivorien professor pictured backing a student's baby speaks out, says being mothers shouldn't discourage women from getting education

Ivory Coast professor Honore Kahi, who was pictured carrying a student's baby on his back in class said being a mother should not stop women getting an education, BBC reports.

Prof. Kahi said he offered to take the baby because he was crying and preventing the mother from sitting in class. He said his students were surprised, began to laugh and then took pictures.

Some of those who shared the photos on social media showered him with praises, describing him as a hero. Mr Kahi, who teaches communications at Ivory Coast's Bouake University, said that women should not be discouraged by people's perceptions of what they should be able to do.
"What prevails here is... male chauvinism, he said. and then quoted an ancient philosopher in his interview with BBC Afrique. "It is not because things are difficult that we do not dare. It is because we do not dare that they are difficult.' In our environment we let ourselves be discouraged by others."
He said that when he took the baby and tied him on his back he stopped crying and fell asleep, adding that he learned how to do it by observing how women carry their children.
"In fact, men are able to do certain things, and usually it's the way society sees men that prevents them from doing these things."
Source: BBC

43 comments:

1. Good lecturers still exist

Lib aDdict#just passing#

2. HE'S TRULY A TEACHER

AUNTY LINDA....

3. This man deserves a crown. To all baby mamas una don hear? don't use that as an excuse of not going to school and be disturbing your baby daddy with child support money. Go to school and work for your money thieves

4. What a great professor.
    AM SURE THAT ISLAM'S AND ALMAJIRIS ARE READING THIS? THEY DONT VALUE WOMEN SO THIS COMMENT IS FOR THEM.
    He is not supporting baby mama people oo.

1. Are you a man or woman?i need to know so I can use it to grade your stupidity..

5. Kind Man

6. He should be honoured by this simple act. Lets cultivate the habit of been humble in africa. If things continue like this africa will be a better place.

7. Awwwwwwww dat's so nice of the man,I love him aLready

8. He should be honoured despite this small act. He his a role model to others. Been rude to your student bcos u above them does not make no sense. I salute his courage. I have leant a lesson here

9. Wow lovely..I wish all d lecturers/professors wil hv a tender heart like this man..

10. He has spoken well

11. Good for them! Good for his career too

12. Our olori would have something different

13. Very true and very nice of him
    Signed
    #LibBadBoy

14. **********************ok oga..... tnk u for helping........ u re officially excluded from who u epp??????

15. yeah i, listen to him this morning on AFRICA NO 1 RADIO HERE IN PARIS . THATS NICE OF HIM . BUT AFRICAN MEN THAT MARRIES WHITE LADIES DO THE SAME THING . BUT THEY CANT DO IN AFRICA . MERCI MONSIEUR LE PROFESSEUR .

16. Hylow felow LIBers. Thank God its thursday.
    Soooo uhmmm i ave currently been posted to abj and it's my first tym here, guess it's funny but true..... aniwai I just rili do nid friends to hang out with n show me around. Do add me up on 7BF71605. Can't wait to ave fun with y'all. Yaaaaaaaay!

17. Well said sir! Linda take note!

18. Old Story.. Linda take note

19. Thank you prof.the truth is,
    you are an humble person.

20. Joyous babe,Linda ikeji first cousin30 June 2016 at 20:40

Awww,God bless u sir,I hope our naija men can just learn one or two thing from this humble man.

21. Wow!such a wonderful man. God bless you Sir.

22. U are my mentor,la professor

23. Some lecturers would have sent the mother out of the class

24. I love this professor i swear