Nigerian boy's classmates fly in his mom from Nigeria to attend his graduation in the US | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday, 27 May 2016

Nigerian boy's classmates fly in his mom from Nigeria to attend his graduation in the US

Nigerian boy, Mike Tertsea who is an only child, got the surprise of his life after his classmates at John Carroll School in Bel Air donated money and flew in his mum, 56 year old Felicia Ikpum from Nigeria to attend his graduation from High school. Baltimore Sun reports that Felicia who hadn't seen her son in the last four years, almost couldn't recognize him when she was picked up from the airport. She arrived America last Friday May 20th.

"He has changed completely," a smiling Ikpum said after the school's baccalaureate ceremony Wednesday.
Mike, a basketball player at John Carroll who plans to attend the University of Rhode Island, was surprised to learn Wednesday that the whole senior class, joined by faculty members, had worked towards flying his mother from Benue State, to see him graduate from high school.
"I was really, really surprised. It is really a blessing and I thank everyone for coming here. It was a tough drive for her. She said at one point, she felt like giving up. It was also her first time on an airplane, and for a while, she couldn't recognize me and couldn't believe it was her son," Mike said.
Toward the end of the school's annual ceremony and Mass, Principal Madelyn Ball told the friends and relatives gathered in the gym that one student had asked,
"Is Mike's mom coming to graduation? Everyone was concerned because, you see, Mike has not been home for four years," Ball said.
She then explained how the senior class was able to raise $1,763 for his mom's trip. When "there were some issues once the flight was booked," because the class was about $500 short, class co-advisor Carrie Siemsen raised the remaining money within a few hours by emailing faculty and staff.

Mike and his mother got a standing ovation as they were asked to come up on the stage during the graduation ceremony. They thanked the senior class for bringing them together. Some of his classmates were seen wiping away tears as Mike and his mother made their way to the stage. Mike said he is an only child and his mother is his only immediate relative.

Besides playing basketball at college, the 6-foot, 10-inch tall senior said earlier he is considering pursuing economics or business management.

Source: Baltimore Sun

72 comments:

Awww..that's so lovely. Congrats dude,x

Friends indeed

Dan said...

Lovely.keep the dreams high n we keep winning

josfyne said...

wooow.. so touching

Big ups to my tiv bro there. Share a coke with Maureen

So touching.....there's still kindness in this world.

Quite touching.
Had 2 drop some crystalline tears in my weeping vase.

D_Jay said...

So beautiful!

Dis is wht is called TRUE FRIENDS and not d hypocrites we hav over here in Nigeria dat parade themselves as friends but they r actually wolves in sheep's clothings.

KIZITO~SANTIAGO said...

Mrs Ikpum is a happy woman

realmum said...

Wow!!! Very touching.

Uncl3 said...

That was sweet of the classmates. Refreshing to know that humanity can still show love for each other not minding the racial differences.

So touching!

Ikpum!!!!!+

YMC said...

Stories like this restore my hope in mankind... How sweet!!

Hembafan said...

Big ups to our brother Maureen

Awww so touching...

Amazing act.

😢😢😢 oh my God

Awww... So, so touching... True friends!

Verroti said...

The mums name tho lol

So kind of them

I hope momsy ikpum sprayed perf ohhh.

Awwwww. God bless them

Awwwww! Dis has brought tears to my eyes. Good people still abound. Linda take note!

Ikpum. Heheheheheheheheheh. See name.

nice

Only in America,i love America

The funny thing is that John Carroll school is an almost "all white" school! Very few mixed bloods and just one or two full blacks! Good of them.

Ikpum means my vigina. Anyone agree to dat. Hahahaha some names need change of name oooo.

Abuja BoredGirl said...

Awwww, that's so nice of them. God bless them.
www.memoirsofanabujaboredgirl.blogspot.com

Wow... friends goal!!

My name is oduoye idayat

Very touching,congtrats to him.

Nice One.

Thanks for the post Linda, will inspire many.

Love this. So thoughtful of them. A great gift ever.

This is just the best story of the yr.
God bless he's friends and all sincere and good friends.
This story has not just made my day but my year :) blushing so hard like am the one it happened to

Awww.. I like

Lovely. @ Royal Priesthood live by example and not by condemning those in Nigeria whereas you are one of them. hypocrites indeed.

How nice of them, so touching, but come to think of it $2263 to fly from Benue to US? I don't even think first class is that expensive.

Princess Chinasa Ukaegbu said...

That name no be for here o. Lol.
Besides is she related to oshomole? Lol

Chop Chop said...

Wao, tears on my pillow.

AMARACHI (LindaIkeji's Daughter) said...

Hey! Are you related to Lilian or Her niece Amy?

This is really lovely.

oluchi said...

Woooow, his a true frnd

Julie Best said...

Who ask you the meaning of the name ??? Chief interpreter

silver said...

M so touched by this.... Congrats
And to all the mothers out there i pray u will not b missing on the day of your children glory.... Amen

Ikpum!!!

Otu m!!!

Awwww, so touching

mimi ikurior said...

Big up to our tiv brother 😊

Is his mum's name really Ikpum???? That means "My pussy" in igbo. Na wa lmao

So so thoughtful of them, the guy will be much overjoyed . Huggies snug and dry diapers available at unbeatable prices call 08173448740.for more enquiries

I cried, these are some nice white people, no prejudice.

Posh Queen said...

This is a touching story indeed #sniffles

Awwww,, so sweet

I don't understand....how did the boy get to school abroad,if his mum is so poor?

Hahahhaha. Guy, you so funny.

This is what life is about

Touching

Queendaline Schneider said...

Great! Congratulations dear! God bless you dear.

Mommy am happy for you oooo, never stop praying and God will continue answer your prayers and all the good mother our there and mine too. Congrat boy

Pearlie said...

His friends are truly friends indeed,he too must be a very good fellow.
All the best to them

Tears...mothers re great ppl. Congratulations

Nkem Nwokocha said...

Am moved to tears of joy. So touching!

Jide Ogunsanya said...

Quite touching. Tears in my eyes. I pray God bless them ....

Wow!! ������ tears of joy run down my chick. Congratulation dear.

Wow!!😢😢 Tears of joy run down my chick. Congratulation dear😘

Peace nwadire said...

A friend indeed. What a great child! Congrats boy!

Very kind of them. Mike must be a very nice guy to earn such a favour from his mates

Luciana Chinda said...

Wow, that's very kind of them.