Mike, a basketball player at John Carroll who plans to attend the University of Rhode Island, was surprised to learn Wednesday that the whole senior class, joined by faculty members, had worked towards flying his mother from Benue State, to see him graduate from high school.
"He has changed completely," a smiling Ikpum said after the school's baccalaureate ceremony Wednesday.
"I was really, really surprised. It is really a blessing and I thank everyone for coming here. It was a tough drive for her. She said at one point, she felt like giving up. It was also her first time on an airplane, and for a while, she couldn't recognize me and couldn't believe it was her son," Mike said.Toward the end of the school's annual ceremony and Mass, Principal Madelyn Ball told the friends and relatives gathered in the gym that one student had asked,
"Is Mike's mom coming to graduation? Everyone was concerned because, you see, Mike has not been home for four years," Ball said.She then explained how the senior class was able to raise $1,763 for his mom's trip. When "there were some issues once the flight was booked," because the class was about $500 short, class co-advisor Carrie Siemsen raised the remaining money within a few hours by emailing faculty and staff.
Mike and his mother got a standing ovation as they were asked to come up on the stage during the graduation ceremony. They thanked the senior class for bringing them together. Some of his classmates were seen wiping away tears as Mike and his mother made their way to the stage. Mike said he is an only child and his mother is his only immediate relative.
Besides playing basketball at college, the 6-foot, 10-inch tall senior said earlier he is considering pursuing economics or business management.
Source: Baltimore Sun
72 comments:
Awww..that's so lovely. Congrats dude,x
Friends indeed
Lovely.keep the dreams high n we keep winning
wooow.. so touching
Big ups to my tiv bro there. Share a coke with Maureen
So touching.....there's still kindness in this world.
Quite touching.
Had 2 drop some crystalline tears in my weeping vase.
So beautiful!
Dis is wht is called TRUE FRIENDS and not d hypocrites we hav over here in Nigeria dat parade themselves as friends but they r actually wolves in sheep's clothings.
Mrs Ikpum is a happy woman
Wow!!! Very touching.
That was sweet of the classmates. Refreshing to know that humanity can still show love for each other not minding the racial differences.
So touching!
Ikpum!!!!!+
Stories like this restore my hope in mankind... How sweet!!
Big ups to our brother Maureen
Awww so touching...
Amazing act.
😢😢😢 oh my God
Awww... So, so touching... True friends!
The mums name tho lol
So kind of them
I hope momsy ikpum sprayed perf ohhh.
Awwwww. God bless them
Awwwww! Dis has brought tears to my eyes. Good people still abound. Linda take note!
Ikpum. Heheheheheheheheheh. See name.
nice
Only in America,i love America
The funny thing is that John Carroll school is an almost "all white" school! Very few mixed bloods and just one or two full blacks! Good of them.
Ikpum means my vigina. Anyone agree to dat. Hahahaha some names need change of name oooo.
Awwww, that's so nice of them. God bless them.
www.memoirsofanabujaboredgirl.blogspot.com
Wow... friends goal!!
My name is oduoye idayat
Very touching,congtrats to him.
Nice One.
Thanks for the post Linda, will inspire many.
Love this. So thoughtful of them. A great gift ever.
This is just the best story of the yr.
God bless he's friends and all sincere and good friends.
This story has not just made my day but my year :) blushing so hard like am the one it happened to
Awww.. I like
Lovely. @ Royal Priesthood live by example and not by condemning those in Nigeria whereas you are one of them. hypocrites indeed.
How nice of them, so touching, but come to think of it $2263 to fly from Benue to US? I don't even think first class is that expensive.
That name no be for here o. Lol.
Besides is she related to oshomole? Lol
Wao, tears on my pillow.
Hey! Are you related to Lilian or Her niece Amy?
This is really lovely.
Woooow, his a true frnd
Who ask you the meaning of the name ??? Chief interpreter
M so touched by this.... Congrats
And to all the mothers out there i pray u will not b missing on the day of your children glory.... Amen
Ikpum!!!
Otu m!!!
Awwww, so touching
Big up to our tiv brother 😊
Is his mum's name really Ikpum???? That means "My pussy" in igbo. Na wa lmao
So so thoughtful of them, the guy will be much overjoyed . Huggies snug and dry diapers available at unbeatable prices call 08173448740.for more enquiries
I cried, these are some nice white people, no prejudice.
This is a touching story indeed #sniffles
Awwww,, so sweet
I don't understand....how did the boy get to school abroad,if his mum is so poor?
Hahahhaha. Guy, you so funny.
This is what life is about
Touching
Great! Congratulations dear! God bless you dear.
Mommy am happy for you oooo, never stop praying and God will continue answer your prayers and all the good mother our there and mine too. Congrat boy
His friends are truly friends indeed,he too must be a very good fellow.
All the best to them
Tears...mothers re great ppl. Congratulations
Am moved to tears of joy. So touching!
Quite touching. Tears in my eyes. I pray God bless them ....
Wow!! ������ tears of joy run down my chick. Congratulation dear.
Wow!!😢😢 Tears of joy run down my chick. Congratulation dear😘
A friend indeed. What a great child! Congrats boy!
Very kind of them. Mike must be a very nice guy to earn such a favour from his mates
Wow, that's very kind of them.