North Korea today, March 16 sentenced an American student, Otto Warmbier, to 15 years of hard labor for crimes
against the state. The sentence was handed down by North Korea's Supreme Court.
Warmbier, a 21-year-old University of Virginia student, was detained in
January for trying to steal an item bearing a political slogan from his
hotel in the capital Pyongyang.
Warmbier, who is from the city of Wyoming in Ohio, said that his crime "is very severe and pre-planned."
"I
entirely beg you and the government of DPRK for your forgiveness,” a
tearful Warmbier said at a press conference in February. “Please, I’ve
made the worst mistake of my life. But please act to save me."
Warmbier was arrested on January 2 after he was detained by immigration officials. Warmbier was returning to China after wrapping up a five-day tour to DPRK along with other tourists, according to the tour operator that arranged the trip.
There
was no immediate confirmation by North Korean state media of the
sentence which appeared to come just hours after veteran US diplomat
Bill Richardson reportedly met with two diplomats from North Korea's UN
office to press for Warmbier's release.

31 comments:
Na waoo
I TRUST THE U.S to come for him. .They don't waste time at all in such actions
He got what he deserved. Linda take note!
15yrs With hard labour?? Okpemu! He's in big mess,i see his skin colour changing to Ghana black already.
Ndi North Korea are wicked.
Eya!
But Eyya no dey for thief
Eya!
But Eyya no dey for thief
North Korea is the worst place to commit any crime.
Do You Have Problems Lasting Long in Bed?
You went to FO wrong in another dangerous man's land so it's all your responsibility to bear the penalty.
Good for him.
pls my fellow lib ,please I need assistance in operating a growth on my wrist ,I don't have money for the operation,doctor said it's N35,000 pls anything you can assist me with will go a very along way..you can click on my profile photo to see the image
Shege!!!
jamilashaibu15@yahoo.com
See him fufu face..LINDA OBSERVE CAREFULLY
Good for him
jamilashaibu15@yahoo.com
His headache
I pity him shaa, Let's hope his own government would help him
Why did he go there? Spy? Inquisitive nature? Foolhardy adventure?
No be small thing oooo....
North Korea is the last place I'd be
Bad publicity for my school/the University of Virginia. Proud alumni! Pretty sure the US gov will do everything in its power to lessen the verdict...
Deola Na you be this???
15 years for what nah? That is too severe. North Korea!!!!!!!!
Nawa
I knw wht he did was wrong, bt I trust u.s govt to come to his aid, if na our own country nw, ur name go be oyo. Linda observe!
O GA
#reeshahr
Of all countries!! North Korea?
North Korea has nothing to loose and perhaps will hold on to him as a bagaining chip with the US.
The US will not risk all for the sake of a single individual to attack North Korea because the consequences will be enormous. Moreover he went to a hostile nation and chose to be foolish even after receiving travel advisory from his own government.
Let's pray he survives the ordeal in the prison camps, he will be eventually released but his spirit, soul and body will never remain the same afterwards.
Let's pray China bargains for his freedom
too many illiterates on this blog
Okay..
21+15=36yrs .......yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee