Lamar Odom’s tragedy is that he just couldn’t keep up with the Kardashians - Piers Morgan writes | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday, 14 October 2015

Lamar Odom’s tragedy is that he just couldn’t keep up with the Kardashians - Piers Morgan writes

There were reports earlier that former basketball player Lamar Odom was fighting for his life after being found unresponsive in a Nevada brothel. Controversial writer, Piers Morgans shares his opinion on the issue. What he wrote for UK Daily Mail below...
There can’t be many more pitiful, humiliating ways to potentially end your life than face down in an infamous Nevada brothel, vomiting uncontrollably from the overdose of herbal Viagra you took to keep up with myriad prostitutes during a 4-day binge.
As I write, Lamar Odom is clinging on. He’s in a coma, distraught family and friends at his bedside. But his dignity and reputation are already dead, shredded at the altar of reality television.

It would be inhuman not to feel a massive jolt of sympathy for this giant 6ft 10in champion sportsman as he faces his greatest challenge.

It’s not been an easy life for Lamar.

His mother died when he was 12, his father was a heroin addict, and he lost a six-month old child to sudden death syndrome.
But many others have survived similarly catastrophic blows and emerged stronger and better from the emotional wreckage.

They, though, didn’t marry a Kardashian.

I say this as someone who likes the Kardashians, especially Kim.

I can admire their work ethic and business acumen, whilst also acknowledging that their billion-dollar global family brand is built on an entirely false edifice of transitory, talentless fame.
I don’t blame them for this, I blame society for evolving into the very thing Andy Warhol warned us all would happen: everyone could be famous for 15 minutes.

The Kardashians have just survived and thrived longer than their peers because they’ve shown greater drive, determination, smarts and creativity.
And that, in its way, is a talent worthy of admiration.

But those sucked into their crazy world need to be very, very careful it doesn’t also suck them down in the process.
When Lamar Odom met Khloe Kardashian in 2009, he was an outstandingly good basketball player. I know, because I used to watch him at the LA Lakers performing wondrous feats with his great friend Kobe Bryant, helping them win back-to-back NBA championships in 2009 and 2010.

He was focused, intense, combative and brilliant. The consummate professional.
Then he fell in love with a Kardashian and his life became public property.
Lamar and Khloe wed on TV in ‘Keeping Up With The Kardashians’ after a 30-day courtship. Even Lamar’s proposal, usually one of the most private, intimate moments of a couple’s life, was filmed on camera.
Within months, a new spin-off show was created: ‘Khloe & Lamar’.
At first, he loved every minute of his new found celebrity status, throwing himself into photo-shoots, premieres, interviews and parties with all the enthusiasm of Charlie Bucket entering Willy Wonka’s chocolate factory.
But then, after a while, he stopped loving it.
Filming was up to 18 hours a day, seven days a week, for months on end.
‘They want you to be at your wit’s end and tired,’ explained Khloe, ‘I think he (Lamar) thought we could send the cameras away whenever you want, but you can’t.’
No, you can’t. The tap of reality television, and I speak from some experience of this as a former contestant on Celebrity Apprentice, runs even faster when you’re desperate to turn it off.
Lamar, in a frantic attempt to protect his real career as a basketball player, persuaded the LA Lakers to allow the reality show’s cameras to the games and even into the inner sanctum of the dressing room.

It didn’t work. None of it worked.
Viewers watched Lamar grow increasingly stressed as the series progressed, and his game simultaneously deteriorated.

Eventually, in 2012, he was traded against his wishes to Dallas Mavericks.
From that moment, the spiral of self-disintegration continued apace.
He was arrested for DUI, he went to rehab amid rumours of drug abuse, a tape emerged of him apparently admitting infidelity, the couple split, then divorced, Khloe & Lamar was cancelled and his basketball career hit skid row.

Lamar himself seemed utterly bemused by what had happened to him.
‘I don’t do Twitter,’ he protested, ‘I don’t Instagram. I don’t believe in following people around. It just came with it. Me and that girl fell in love.’
Fine words, but utterly disingenuous.

Lamar pursued and embraced his reality TV fame with the kind of ravenous hunger he used to pursue victory and titles on the basketball court.
The problem though is that you have to lay yourself bare to it, warts (sometimes literally…) and all.
There’s no ability to control the beast. Your life is public property, your human qualities and frailities exposed to millions.
Everywhere you go, everyone knows everything about you.

It takes a very advanced degree of narcissism and the hide of a thousand rhinos to deal with that kind of scrutiny.
Lamar, unlike the family he married into, was too sensitive, too vulnerable.
Two months ago, in a dramatic exchange with TMZ, Lamar raged: ‘To everybody that supports me: I’m sorry but the dog has to fight back. Y’all won, y’all beat me down, degraded me, said.. I’m a womanizer, a f**ing drug addict, everything. I probably couldn’t even get f***ing hired by Home Depot right now because of how people look at me.’

If the ‘dog’ had fought back by cleaning himself up, getting match fit and going back to what he’s really good at, then he may have had a chance.
Instead, he’s lying unconscious and critically ill in a Vegas hospital.
Who’s to blame for this shocking descent?

Well, his estranged father Joe Odom has no doubts – it’s the Kardashians.
‘They haven’t been a very good influence on my son,’ he said recently, ‘It’s been the curse of his life. He hasn’t really accomplished anything since he’s been with them.’
Of course, there’s a heavy irony in this statement, coming from an appallingly selfish absentee junkie dad.
But it also contained a wider truth.
The sad, tragic truth about Lamar Odom is that he couldn’t keep up with the Kardashians. 
And he should never have tried.

122 comments:

1. Here's my opinion: we have eyes, mentality, brain, consciousness, instincts for a reason. D kardasians have a life style, open to all to see, so if u decide to go on a coastal ride wiv this family then it's your full responsibility not their. I'm a fan of lamar n khloe, I don't think d kardasians should be taking a punch for whatever happen to their inlaw's, not so fair guys, ease up on'em.

2. Amongst all the assholes who dated or are still dating the kardashian clan, Kanye is the only person who's still in the game and has his head up.

3. Dis is a serious swipe at the Kardashians. I await their response. Linda take note!

4. Dis is a serious swipe at the Kardashians. I await their response. Linda take note!

5. Dis is a serious swipe at the Kardashians. I await their response. Linda take note!

6. Life history of okpo....next!!!!!

7. Pheeeewwwww! Interesting piece indeed, I just hope can survive so as to retrace his steps, get back on his feet and return to the champion he used to be

8. True that. He made some valid points.

9. There seem to be some element of truth in what I just read. He couldn't keep up with the kardashian, they're such a bad influence.

10. Words from a very stupid man looking for who to blame he wasn't forced,he knew what he was getting into? How do you blame another person for that?! Was a gun pointed at him?humans always quick to judge looking for who to blame instead of praying for him to get better you used it to get attention congrats sir you won!

1. U spoke my mind.... wise words.. pple alwaz look for who to blame when things hapen 2 them.. i pray he recovers

11. Words from a very stupid man looking for who to blame he wasn't forced,he knew what he was getting into? How do you blame another person for that?! Was a gun pointed at him?humans always quick to judge looking for who to blame instead of praying for him to get better you used it to get attention congrats sir you won!

12. It's really insightful and filled with acute observations

Note: pls do not send recharge card for any cheap data share, they are all scammers. Always contact ur network provider for data subscription.

13. He is correct!! A lot of people are attacking him about his opinion on Twitter, but that niggur dont cur

14. That, my dear friend, is the simple truth! I hope he recovers from it all...

1. He made his choice...if you notice they don't really star Kanye in their reality show. Life is all about the decisions you make.

15. Hmmm I Pray he pulls thru, Cnt imagine ds young dead no way!! God save him bikooo

16. That FAMILY is a DISASTER!!! I pity those that follow them. Everything and everyone around them ends up in a bad shape unless the person realize him/herself early like Chris (kim ex).
    That family is founded on DEVIL itself

17. I totally agree wit this write up.Reality tv is not for everyone.

18. It's not time to play the blame game plz, let's all pray for Lamar's recovery. I'm totally heart broken by his condition ryt now.

19. Well said Piers! He had a baby mama that bore 4 kids or so for him and one died. He ended the relationship abruptly with his baby mama after 12 years of dating her. he rushed into marriage with the Khloe but couldnt keep up with the Kardashians. I totally agree with the saying " The most important career choice u make in life, is who you marry..."

1. @Itinnu l enjoy your comments a whole lot because they are always very meaningful and sensible. Keep it up

20. Lol.. what can i say

21. Thank u Piers I know ul be crucified for this but you've said d truth even their own brother Rob has ran away from dem,their father had to become a woman the ladies in dis family have some questions to answer to. Even Scott has ran away

22. Words. Trust Piers Morgan, he says it as it is. Lamar couldn't keep up with the Kardashians. Look at Catlyn as a man. Too bad Cat, you were better off as a man.

23. His two cents tho. Dnt quite agree wt all he said

24. Who are the these Kardashians self? that is giving so much wahala like this..huh?

25. Sad story.May God heal him and.give him another opportunity

26. well said Piers Maorgan

27. Normally I wouldn't even dare to read dz write up to d end but I bet u I read it from A to Z.. the Kardashian family is a cursed family, have always been saying this.. thank God Scott opted out at d right time, if not na them go finish him.. stupid family.. I pray d guy recovers fast

28. This is 100 percent true. All those who cudnt keep up with the Kardashian ended up damaged. First Lamar, den Kris , now we are worried about Scott.. I wonder when it will be Tiger and Kanye's time. God please give him the strength to come out of this. Amen

29. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Some dope points in what he said though no doubt.... #NowPlaying>> naughty whine: ma adow....

30. Hope he gets well though

31. Lol....linda can u see ur heartthrob #Kylie....shes so fugly

32. Piers Morgan said it all...wish he could reach out to Lamar with some advice

33. Piers Morgan said it all...wish he could reach out to Lamar with some advice

34. That's the world of rich take heart.

35. Nonsense!!!! He wasn't forced to be with them, neither did they force him to stay on...he made his choice!!! Stop blaming the kardashians.

36. God bless this writer.....Tyga take note!!!

37. The Kardashian Kurse. Kanye is next

38. If u can't keep up then don't even try*am so sorry for him.

39. Right on point Piers Morgan. The truth is, there are so many women like these Kardashian tarts. The moment you have anything to do with them, you're finished. At the moment, one of the most difficult tasks man encounters is finding a wife. So many Kardashians around.

40. The Kardashian Kurse. Kanye is next

41. very true,those kaedashians/jenner clan are something else.

42. very true,those kaedashians/jenner clan are something else.

43. Wow he couldn't have said it better! So sad but every word from Piers Morgan is absolutely true. I pray he gets well soon n prolly get the help he truly need.

44. Wow!! This is insightful! Brutally honest. I wish Lamar quick recovery and finding his foot again in this world when he recovers... B

45. Wow!! This is insightful! Brutally honest. I wish Lamar quick recovery and finding his foot again in this world when he recovers... B

46. I'm not a fan of Piers for so many reasons but I've got to admit that he's absolutely right....dis family destroys any man that comes in their life if ure not strong enough. What a shame!!

47. Which man's life has ever been d same after hooking up with d female kardashians n Jenner.even dt of their own blood brother n u r telling me dt these whores r normal.n why does it only affects men dt comes into their lives what about their female friends.there s more to these whores.how many female celebrity who has come in contact wit any male celebrity renders his life useless but only these kardashian\jenner.there is sometim fishy about these whores.soon breeze go blow m we go see fowl nyash.kanye n dt of kylie boyfriend n their mama boyfriend better b careful.
    #nothankyoui'dratherbeselfmade

48. He should really never have tried, that family are the 21st century jezebel, worse than d jezebel the bible described I feel so sorry for all d men dat are in their den. God forbid. Am sure they realised the nuisance dey ve made out of him and so dey ve to rush out to be by His side , another reality show fake life,stupid yet they were awarded the first what what by a magazine, the world really has lost it, God help us.

49. Reality TV shows (and d Kardashians) have their downsides but Lamar let his life and career fall. He used his own hands to aid its crash. It was partly his fault and he saw everything crumbling, he just sat and watched and let drugs suck him in on a daily.
    I just pray he is able to come out of this cos its really sad

50. In as much as i see an atom of truth in this write up, i won't agree with it completely. He chose to walk out when the heat became too much. Why blame his misfortune on the Kardashians? If he dies today, Khloe can only mourn for a few months and move on. Is he trying to say that if she is not alive, he would commit suicide? As an adult, you are the product of every decision you take; good or bad. He is what he chose to be. Khloe didn't force the alcohol and viagra down his throat! Khloe didn't take his sorry ass to a brothel in the midst of prostitutes! She was having fun and living her life to the fullest. And here is one sorry ass dude, who couldn't let go of his past, yet looking for who to blame for his actions. That's crazy. He should sit up and take responsibility for his life.

51. In as much as i see an atom of truth in this write up, i won't agree with it completely. He chose to walk out when the heat became too much. Why blame his misfortune on the Kardashians? If he dies today, Khloe can only mourn for a few months and move on. Is he trying to say that if she is not alive, he would commit suicide? As an adult, you are the product of every decision you take; good or bad. He is what he chose to be. Khloe didn't force the alcohol and viagra down his throat! Khloe didn't take his sorry ass to a brothel in the midst of prostitutes! She was having fun and living her life to the fullest. And here is one sorry ass dude, who couldn't let go of his past, yet looking for who to blame for his actions. That's crazy. He should sit up and take responsibility for his life.

52. The man is still alive. Just tearing Dow this man STILL. So disrespectful! Calling his father a junkie as well and he had the audacity to use the word "sympathy" in this article.

53. Mr Morgan lamar was an addict b4 he met khloe, what about his friend Jimmy that died some mnts ago and the other one that was found unconscious. Khole tried so much to help her but he chosen drug over her. So stop already.

54. Very very deep n true. I hate Piers, but no true words have ever been spoken. I really hope Lamar is a fighter cos he needs it. My thoughts and prayers go out to his family. I'm obsessed with the Kardashians, but every male figure they come in contact with seem to lose.

55. Kris and her evil daughters. Daughters of Jezebel. They have destroyed all the men they have come across. Yet some ppl still doubt the devil's existence. These women have made life a living hell for all their spouses/partners. Na Kanye remain. Dat one go soon comot clothe and enter market.

56. Touching, also very true... Waiting for Kanye's

57. I don't accept dis! Dis is a big lie! Noboddy can force u to do watever u don't want to!

58. Wow....God please save his life.

59. hmmmm that is all i have to say.this is so true

60. Piers Morgan should just calm down, Lamar isn't dead and we ain't wishing him dat so please! This write up looks like......hmmm...what's it called again? Ehen obituary *sighs

61. Piers Morgan should just calm down, Lamar isn't dead and we ain't wishing him dat so please! This write up looks like......hmmm...what's it called again? Ehen obituary *sighs

62. Piers Morgan should just calm down, Lamar isn't dead and we ain't wishing him dat so please! This write up looks like......hmmm...what's it called again? Ehen obituary *sighs

63. Some people can write . I enjoyed the choice of words , grammar usage and expression. What an interesting article. . I wish I can write like that.

64. Strong words but so true...... Chai!!! I have always loved Lamar, I sincerely pray he pulls through.

65. Well said....so sad , with 50million !! Why drugs?? you have a wonderful life ahead ! noone is to blame other than him. I feel 4 him tho. Taking drugs doesnt make u a bad person, it only shows d weakness in you! He doesn't need it...wish him d very best...and a sound recovery

66. You are healed Lamar Odom in Jesus Name. Amen!!!

67. I pray he survives this & get his good life back in Jesus Name....Amen!!!

68. the best piece ever. i couldn't hold my tears

69. For once, I agree with you Pier Morgan. You said it very well bUT with all this attention, one wonders if Kanye would survive this

70. This is so true, Kardashians ruin this man's life, they did. Look at Kris Humphries, who's still talking of him? What has become of him? Look as Scott, does he have a better life? Look at papa Nnukwu (Bruce), where is he now? All of them are now chanting Bruce is dead, so its now Caitlyn.

#iT wiLL oNly gET beTTer
    #It MuSt eNd iN prAise

71. This is so true, Kardashians ruin this man's life, they did. Look at Kris Humphries, who's still talking of him? What has become of him? Look as Scott, does he have a better life? Look at papa Nnukwu (Bruce), where is he now? All of them are now chanting Bruce is dead, so its now Caitlyn.

#iT wiLL oNly gET beTTer
    #It MuSt eNd iN prAise

72. It is often said that the woman you marry can make you or destroy depending on the kind of "Luck" of spiritual gift she carries. That is why beauty is not enough you must pray very hard and get that spiritual assurance that all is well before you go ahead. Sometimes, it is not even the woman's fault, the problems come with the territory - the woman and the family she comes from. This is problem is mostly from the woman's angle because, women are the natural access through which every human being comes into the world. So, we must pray very hard for ourselves, our wives, and children and friends so that things will go well with them.

73. Hmmmm! Dats deep. Wiv no doubt the Kardashians destroy every man dey touch. Tke a luk at Bruce, lamar, scott, kanye's musical career is dwindling( prolly y he ventured into fashion of which apparently isnt doing so well either) tyga is nxt...dat family is cursed! Am 100% sure dey all sold dia souls to d devil for fame nd fortune.. get well soon lamar, u re in our prayers.

74. While I have nothing against the Kardashians, I totally agree with Piers. I really hope Lamar pulls through.

75. They only people who get involve with the kadeshian and not get hurt are people like them. Kris, lamar, Scott. It's doesn't matter who you are. Why is it that somebody has to get hurt when you move closer to this family. I think piers morgan is right. Never try to keep up with the kadeshian when you don't have the strength. They are live a poison, they just eat everybody that comes their way up. Kanye nd tyga let's see how this goes. I pray for a safe recovery for lamar if not for anything, just for him to wake up nd write his will. For the sake of those little children.

76. Nice one from Piers Morgan.
    I hope Lamar pulls through. I really feel bad for him.

77. Piers morgan really hit the nail on the head, true talk no be small,he couldn't keep up with the Kardashians.at all

78. Good thoughts, i can't help but wonder if his life would have been better of without the Kardashians. I honestly feel like we have lost him already. so sad.....

79. Well said piers ,well said . Such a tragedy . Kanye and Scot is next .

80. Hummm! I pray he survives this

81. If he comes back in another life or probably wakes up if him hear kar he should run like a mad goat not to talk of hearing the kardashian finish btw who noticed kylie's lips

82. Sad just like in proverb 7:21-27.

83. Hahahaha,he couldn't kip up wit d kardanshians and he should never have tried.

84. Get well soon lamar

85. This comment has been removed by the author.

86. That is righ,What a wast of talent.

87. The kardashian kurse! Sometimes i wonder how they endure and enjoy such scrutiny all for money. Its just crazy. I won't be suirprised if Scott left for d same reasons. And that's d reason I'm sure kanye doesn't want to be part of it. Not everyone enjoys flaunting their lives on camera. Well, Lamar should have left on time like Kim's ex husband.

88. Well this is so deep!!as much as I hate pierce morgan I kind of agree with him to an extend but the truth is lemar is a grown up man who should have known better!!after loosing people closed to him back to back!!!hope God answer the prayers of millions of people around the world and give him a second chance.

89. This PierMorgan want kill person with laff...but me, I thank God I no dey even watch "the keeping up with Kardash...", na for LIB I dey hear their tori...lol! *who wan die useless death before...?***

90. Poor Lamat, get well soon.

91. @ Amaka Ngenegbo, I must commend your writing prowess. Thanks for giving me hope when I thought our Nigerian education system are in a mess. All these half baked graduates should learn from your comment. Ur ability to think out of the box, is second to none. I'm very confident that your parents are very proud of you. You will go places and be celebrated. U have got some quality potentials to tap and do keep the fire burning.

92. Lol... He just couldn't keep up! Interesting..

93. Well said. At the end, everyone carries their own cross.