Photos: Fire incident at Ogunpa Market in Ibadan leaves traders in anguish | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday, 16 December 2014

Photos: Fire incident at Ogunpa Market in Ibadan leaves traders in anguish

Aww, you can feel their sorrow just looking at the pics. A fire incident at popular Labaowo Market,  Ogunpa in Ibadan, Oyo State, has left traders in anguish after a section of the market was ravaged by fire. Many traders lost all their wares as there was not much that could be done to salvage some of their belongings. They gathered and wailed uncontrollably as fire engulfed their means of livelihood.

The market went up in flames around 10am after an inflammable product caught fire. Millions of Naira was lost in the fire. See some photos after the cut...

217 comments:

1. Wow. God will replenish them

2. Eeiyyaa too bad
      May God console nd send a helper to them!

3. Eya too bad it happened dis tym. *sad face*

4. And it happened at this time of the year, too bad. God will replenish them ijn.

5. Agaìn. God pls intervene...

6. The questions I asked are why does this very market get burnt every Dec.? Is it Ibadan custom or tradition?

Babatop say so, powered by M-Horse

7. So Sad, may God console and replenish all the have lost. Amen

8. Naw Ooooo..for this December

9. I remember few months ago when a message came in church for fire outbreak and massive death of children....people should pray well against this because it has been said, let not be surprise if we hear fireoutbrk frm teju osho market. Only prayers can reverse. Abusiedumare

10. Linda this is the kind of Charity you should donate money to.and not (Ka ri mi) show off Ebola) The 1 Miilluon towards Ebola to me was for publicity My Dear. Perhaps if you had contributed the money months ago, it would have been understandable. Quit being in your face and help anonymously. That is more sincere charity than the one you announced for the whole world to know that you have arrived or to bring more traffic to your site, I got news for you, people before you like Bellanaija and others like Seyi of Naijaland forum did their charity anonymous reason for their longevity. I'm not hating and if anyone including yourself feels so, that is fine. But remember that everything that if the drum is beating too loud, the drum is just about to burst. I do not wish you that but you have to stop being in your face and be thankful for the blessings with your family.

11. This is the people that needed that 1 million Naira that you gave towards Ebola that would have been useful months ago in Nigeria. Be a silent donor and stop looking for praise from people that cannot even stand your guts. God said it in Matthew Chapter 4 Verse 1-6 that “Beware of practicing your righteousness before other people in order to be seen by them, for then you will have no reward from your Father who is in heaven. “Thus, when you give to the needy, sound no trumpet before you, as the hypocrites do in the synagogues and in the streets, that they may be praised by others. Truly, I say to you, they have received their reward. But when you give to the needy, do not let your left hand know what your right hand is doing, so that your giving may be in secret. And your Father who sees in secret will reward you. I have nothing against you giving your money out to whatever that pleases you but all I'm saying is that it would be better to give to those who really needed it than giving towards a cause that no one knows if it will be given to benefit that cause as most Nigerians Charities were for personal enrichment of the Organizer. Sorry, no pun intended towards genuine Charity Organization out there. Linda, you are becoming too loud with your given and God didn't like a loud giver. If you like, you may not post my comment but at least either you or whoever post comments must have read it. Please be wise as no one is exempt from falling from grace to grass.

2. Awww
    Dis celebration period.
    May the Lord console them and help them recoup their losses. Amen

3. Replies
    1. Oh my! That man crying should not have a heart attack o! I feel for them!
      Every Christmas this happens!
      Why?

4. What a lost, may God reward u guys back

1. Linda please find out how I can help. The look on the man's face like it's the end of his world. Id love to reassure him that it's not. Please email me. Cmrsshortyy@aol.com

5. fire everywhere its december please oooo
    ------LIB prince----

6. Replies
    1. My love..i know you don't need the blackberry

7. In short note, I love blackberry because it saves data, it's subscription is very affordable.. blackberry is durable, classy and strong.... Lullabyangel01@yahoo.com

1. Na wa 4 u o! U love BlackBerry here!!! Dey r talking fire u r talking love. Odikwaragi egwu o

8. Deeply broken, God heal them IJN

9. Oboy no Smiles for this people this Christmas... Awwww.. Sorry Sir, loose no Hope just forge Ahead with whatever is left..

.Disclaimer:: Raise Your Words, Not Your Voice. It Is Rain That Grows Flowers, Not Thunder..

10. Oh my God! I feel so sorry for them. What is happening in that country? Fire everywhere.

11. ohh! this is very bad..am touched!

12. God have mercy. It is well!

13. ooo what a lose to this man that makes him cry this way

14. People are striving hard to make ends kai so painful

15. So sad, i hope they are to replenish their losses, God bless

16. LORD HAVE MERCY.....WHERE WILL THEY START FROM

17. God my eyes is filled with tears for this people what is going on for Christ sake please help us lord.

18. My goodness. Valentinechisom7@gmail.com

19. may God comfort dem,...nd see dem tru

20. What's up with all this fire everywhere?

21. Oooh God what a pity! I just hope the govt can aid them in any little way. Col 3:14-15. BishopDammy#

22. Linda celebrate xmas with me o

23. This is why insurance is good.

Linda pls show my comments.

24. I pray God should replenish it for them more than their expectation ....I feel their pain
    -------LIB prince.------

25. Awww! This is so bad for this season. God please see them through this tough time. Sad stories everyday 'smh' it is well #onelovefromSnow#

26. Chai......so sad, still dnt get why every dec markets always get burnt...nawaaa

27. Lord help them. Obumnemeudeze@gmail.com

28. Austine ihechukwu16 December 2014 at 11:32

Hmmm so so fire? Strong men full those markets oo, na fire dem dey use chop weaker ppl 4 d market so!

29. Omg...chai,dis is serious. ooo..my heart goes out to all the traders that lost their wares to d inferno...come 2 think of it,must there be fire outbreak evry Xmas.?God!!!...am so sad
    Pls visit my blog
    Chinwenmeri.blogspot.com

30. Oh what a pity.....God help them

31. Omg...chai,dis is serious. ooo..my heart goes out to all the traders that lost their wares to d inferno...come 2 think of it,must there be fire outbreak evry Xmas.?God!!!...am so sad
    Pls visit my blog
    Chinwenmeri.blogspot.com

32. Chai!!!! What a painful incident....they should take solace in the lord. #sad face# «QUEENMAYA«REPORTING«LIVE«

33. This fire here and there na wa ooo

34. Yeeee....I carry. May God console them ooo.

35. Six days news on Linda Ikeji's blog? What sort of gossip blog is this?

36. Quite painful...
    Govt should please support them by giving them hope and means of livelihood again.

BRYTE TABLET FROM KONGA.COM

37. very sad, worst time for this kind of stuff to happen, feel for them, this is that kind of time you wish you are wealthy and just go there and help out financially..... subomioloruntobi@gmail.com

38. OMG! GOD SAVE US FROM DIS FIRE DISASTER OOOO
    TOO RAMPANT *CRYING*

39. God why these towards the end of the year. may God help them

40. Hey! Tired wit us this fire, fire, God save us this ember month, for those that affected God we provide in abundantly.

41. May God help dem all...no tym wey ogunPa market no dey burn Nawa o

42. Ewwww
    God what is really happening???? The worst is that most of them had everytn in those shops that just burnt down

God pls provide for them
    Comfort αи∂ give them the courage to continue moving even when the road becomes too tough

43. Ewwww
    God what is really happening???? The worst is that most of them had everytn in those shops that just burnt down

God pls provide for them
    Comfort αи∂ give them the courage to continue moving even when the road becomes too tough

44. Awwww! This is really sad.. imagine most of them most have bought wares to sell this festive period only for it to be burnt. And most of them most have borrowed money to buy wares cos of the festive only for them to wake up one morning and is all gone.. it is well. God please grant them the heart to bear this tragedy .

45. Awww. Y naaa
    #chynell#

46. God have mercy...kai, nsogbu uwa

47. This is sad. Hope the state government would compensate them

48. I said it.Its always dis xmas period.

49. Whew!!! The season comes again with anoda episode of events. Am guessing there are no fire fighters within a hundred mile of the market

50. >>>>> Very sad, the man's face in the photo says it all, his livelihood is gone. <<<<<

51. from Balogun Market to Ogunpa

52. I said it. Too many market fire outbreaks these days.

53. God help them to recover their loss. ...Royalpriesthood.

54. LIB,bless them wit some change base on who u be.

55. Too many fire incidents recently! Why??? I was still @ this Ogunpa market yesterday oo. I feel for the traders affected.

56. What's a tragedy

57. like i said before, this occurs by this time of the year.
    I feel for those affected.

58. This is so painful, for sh*t like this to wait for the last month of the year to happen is just damn awful! And the yearly recurrence of such incidence makes you wonder why measures haven't being taken to curb it! My heart goes out to the traders!

59. Chai nawaooo,so sorry.
    still on why i love black berry
    For the best typing experience only one brand does it the best. That brand is BlackBerry.
    BlackBerry. Nobody likes a typo.The phone feels like it will be perfect for people like me: People who need their phones to do a lot of work, a lot of email, a lot of reading, and a lot of business stuff like PDFs. If iPhone and Android are socialmedia tools, then the Passport is a workproductivity tool
    Amazingemy7@gmail.com

60. Another Fire....Pls insurance policies are still available o

61. May God restore what u ve lost.

62. awwwww dis is sad.may God restore you all amen

63. I cant imagine what am seeing these days.

64. Is d world coming to an end????

65. Y all d fire case todai na? Lawd v mercy!!!

66. Hagih God replenished dere pocket oooo so bad

67. I don tire sef.Wetin dey happen these days.

68. so painfull...may god console them

69. and Linda has a jeep of 24million what a scum with no sense of charitable traits. only giving to those jobless people that sits on her blog daily. wasted generation

70. I can feel d pain here.Its painfuul.

71. Jeez! I have goose bumps just seeing this pics. may God console them. lldosibanjo@gmail.com

72. is a pity,linda i prefer black berry to other phones bcos its always faster in browsing and its economical.vincentialucy@yahoo.com

73. is a pity,linda i prefer black berry to other phones bcos its always faster in browsing and its economical.vincentialucy@yahoo.com

74. nothing that the eyes sees and cries out blood.. it is well people, God would definitely restore all u have lost

75. Awwww.....the pics is Disheartening!!..... The State Government should do something ASAP!

76. I dnt knw why markets always get burnt in christmas period.

77. it is also regarded as big men and women phones,i love blackberry so much to the extent i misplace mine i was so bittered. vincentialucy@yahoo.com

78. Fire everywhere this xmas.God have mercy on them.pele

79. Hahahaha! Poverty ur fada! Kai, see as e make old man de cry like pikin, lolz... Mehn dis is not good, xmas don sawa be dat o, dis kain man if e de owe u money wey u go meet am 2 pay u eh? E fit injure ur life

80. Chiee may God restore all bk to u 100 foldsssssss bk..it shall be well!!

81. quite sad, let's see what thei APC led govt will do.. I hope God helps them..

PDP 2015

82. Harmattan beware fire spreads fast

83. when year don dey end,na so bad bad things go dey happen.

84. This is disheartening. This is a big lost.

85. Xmas tragedy? God pls comfort dem.

86. So so sad...rosepowell0@gmail.com

87. Not again!Not at dis festive period. My heart goes out to all those affected.The Lord will console u all.

88. Awwww, not again,sorry for the loss

89. It's a painful thing. I can imagine how lost and sad those traders feel right now. God Bless and provide for them. Amen.

90. My goodness. why all this fire here and there.

91. I seriously sympathize with those who lost their wares in the fire incident.
    ™THAT EDOBOY.COM~

92. Seeing the man cry brings tears to my eyes, father make a way for them please!

93. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    What a painfull something for this xmas... I pray the goverment comes to their help abeg......

94. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    What a painfull something for this xmas... I pray the goverment comes to their help abeg......

95. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...

96. Not again!Not at dis festive period. My heart goes out to all those affected.The Lord will console u all.

97. Oh dear, so so so so so sorry, short of words.

98. Not again!Not at dis festive period. My heart goes out to all those affected.The Lord will console u all.

99. chaaaiii not a good news. God pls send them a helper to console and assist them.

100. This is so sad. But God is in control. Sweedydiagold@gmail.com

101. Olorun a fi ofo ra emi.
    Ojoofunminiyi@gmail.com

102. oh this is sad. i sympathize with those who lost their wares, may God help.

103. This happens every year...dunno y

104. i do not understand these end of the year fires oh...God see your children oh..

105. Its a pity, may God see them through...

106. Again? Oh my God, fire everywia hav mercy on my country God pls

107. God will turn dir loses into gain......eyaaa (bimbovat@gmail.com)

108. God will turn dir loses into gain......eyaaa (bimbovat@gmail.com)

109. Chaii... This is so sad.. it's well

110. Eeya! I feel their pain. BiancaBruno,where have you been?

111. Please God put smile upon their faces
    diamondberry027@gmail.com

112. God please send help to them...tubbytracy@yahoo.com

113. Eeehyaaah!
    So sad!

adebisix@hotmail.com

114. What a pity buh thank God no one lost their lives . When there's life there's hope

115. Sorry and thank God for lives not affected

116. Hard earned money
    It worthy the cry ➡Via Nokia1110_LindaIkejiBlogClassRep

117. I feel so sorry for them adaseries@gmail.com

118. Owe so sad...may God replenish dem

119. What a crazy Christmas in 2014 may God will help you find the right place for your business in future from UK Manchester

120. oh Dear Lord Jesus...this is an irresistible loss, I pray God grant dem the fortitude to bear d loss...this is too much

121. Chai...so sad...what a loss. Make God comfort them.... Please traders out there since we are in a season of baptism of fire I guess insurance wil the solution. I mean real insurance that wil save you all the pains of fire out break......
    .......cream......

122. Not this time of the year, God you know best...feel so sorry for them..

123. I feel for them honestly it's painful but what can we do in every situation we ought to tank God,we tank God no life was lost for as long as Dr is life drz hope nd am a living witness to dat. I pray God replenishes dr loss in hundred folds amen.

124. sorry for the loss...

i am segun

fasegz@gmail.com

125. so sad, may the Lord replenish their pocket. Olorun afi ofo ra emi.

126. Please accept my heartfelt sympathy. We all need to be more careful with the way we handle things as we enter dry season
    Extra care must be taken on all issues that has to do with electricity & light.
    Also of great importance is insurance of all our properties. The cost is nothing compared to what we stand to gain. If there is insurance we will not lose everything as against the situation where there is no insurance at all. May God protect us all. Toks

127. Poor Darlings! May God replenish.

128. Oh God please restore all that they have lost & put back smiles on their faces, Amen.

129. Oh God please restore all that they have lost & put back smiles on their faces, Amen.

130. So sad. God will see them through

131. This is very sad..... God will console them oooooooooo

132. Y is fire attacking d market in dis country. I now believe dat aka mmadu di na ifea. Dis s so sad. Kai!! Ma God please provide for all of dem according to ur riches in glory

133. Again? Ma God cant help buh cry. God pls arise nd send help to d affected victims