ASUP suspends 10-month old strike, Polytechnics to resume Tuesday | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 12 July 2014

ASUP suspends 10-month old strike, Polytechnics to resume Tuesday

The Academic Staff Union of Polytechnics, ASUP, has suspended its 10-month old strike. The strike which started in October 2013 was suspended today Saturday July 12th the National Executive Council of the association.

Rising from a meeting this morning in Abuja, the ASUP NEC decided to suspend the strike which has seen polytechnic students stay at home in the last ten months.

The National Publicity Secretary of ASUP, Clement Chirman announced the suspension and also stated that academic activities would resume in all polytechnics nationwide from Tuesday July 15th. The ASUP leadership held what it termed a fruitful meeting with the newly sworn in Minister of Education, Ibrahim Shekarau on Thursday July 10th.

64 comments:

1. To God be the glory, what Wike couldn't achieve in almost a year.
    Seems the appointment of Shekarau has heralded a new dawn in our education sector.

2. Most of de students must have forgotten their Reg no. Thank God shall. I'm out ***CATCH ME IF U CAN***

1. See this olodo of the first order! Tell me why any sane person born of a woman would want to catch u.

N.jay

2. Am fed up with dis 'catch me if u can'. Try something else

3. Thank God o, am happy 4 d students. (Teepomping)

4. Alotta lives lost,many futures shattered,enough babies produced,strong criminals turned all within the strike period.I don't wish Nigerians the patience of polytechnic students,it can kill.Insensitive govt!

1. Everything Government, Government! What are they to do dear bonita? When Unions come up to make unrealistic demands. Tomorrow SSCE holders will want to be accorded the same privileges as B.Sc holders. Let's be objective and not criticise for the sake of criticising

2. U ar very stupid wat ar u tryin to incinuate! Ar u beta dan a poly graduate! Worwor pikin dy form ansom! U cant contest an averag poly student in d field u freak! Olodo

5. At long last. Am happy. Pretex4luv@yahoo.com

6. finally.. patoswife@gmail.com

7. yes very good decision #fredyobot@yahoo.com

8. Thank God!looks like the new minister is going to work.

9. Na wa o. Nigerian news makes me sad jare. No sector is good not even the educational sector. Choi. Tired of hearing of strikes

Jenny says

10. Happy for the students, but why do they always wait till it has damaging effects?
    www.justhealthng.blogspot.com

11. thank God ooo...nkemdirimeverista111@gmail.com

12. tnk God oooo!!!! finally I can go bak 2 skul... n God wud hlp us finish wit degree

13. Thank God the storm is over but my fear is that more half baked graduate wil be manufactured

14. This is great news!!
    Thank God

15. Seems like CHANGE is coming. Hope coeasu calls off soon

16. Only in Nigeria 10 months strike... and i am sure they will ask the students to start writing exam in a week.. Mass failure awaits the once that has not been reading...

17. To God be the glory... at least we will start school again

18. To God be the glory... at least we will start school again

19. FIRST OF ALL 'LOL'...ASUP simply means 'Assuming students untop Pressure'...lols..i don forget the name of my school,my room number..and all in all, my matriculation number...this kind tin dey vex ma ass, i don go sheet jare

20. Politics!!!!! That's all I see

21. At long last. Am happy. Pretex4luv@yahoo.com

22. That's a good news because many of them don turn to armed robbers.....

XDON D DON

23. Very good.now the student can now go back to school.

24. A year @ home... Chai

25. Can we call this good news? ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

26. Am happy for d students of all polytechnics.

27. hahahha dt tru bonita bt tink god der ar bk to sch

28. Happy for dem oooooo

29. Chai finally student wil go bck to d classroom frm nxt wk.

30. Chai finally student wil go bck to d classroom frm nxt wk.

31. wike should cover his face in shame.what he could not achieve in one year has been done by the present minister.you are busy fighting rotimi amaechi.kudos to shekarau.students have every reason to be happy.

32. Since All This While. (Linda's Man)

33. Okay so it was 1st d super eagles' team 2 return, nw d poly students....we're patiently awaiting d arrival of d "missing girls"

34. Halleluyah oooo. Dis is gud news. Now my sis can get her disturbin self bak to skul

35. thank God finally they have resume.

36. thank God finally they have resume.

37. 4 once dis is good news in Niga,half congrat!! ESHIET

38. Bravo. It seems Shekarau will do well. Was bitter before about the appointment of a mallam as minister of Education.

39. Ugbua ka chi foro unu na anya abi? U would hv stayed a little more.D much d students have learnt, they must hv 4gotten by now.

40. 2 think I just gave birth,y didn't de make it 1yr nonsense piple,4goten my matric nos n my dept sef#kweenmami#

41. I knew it, shekarau was a teacher and a very brilliant one, go and watch his debate for 2011 election, you. Will understand what am saying #GoodWork

42. Fg nd asup are useless buNch of fooool...5ey shld have pls continue d strike till maybe next year..fuck up country

43. thank God ...nkemdirimeverista111@gmail.com

44. thank God ...nkemdirimeverista111@gmail.com

45. alaanu titilayo12 July 2014 at 23:41

I'm d happiest person on earth right now

46. Finally! Happy for dem ...oyindamolaharvey@yahoo.com

47. good goody

BORN TO SHINE!!!!

48. Most of d studts would have forgotten dere reg number. Lol.. dats gud news though