Statement on fire outbreak at M-Net studios in Ojota yesterday | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 3 March 2013

Statement on fire outbreak at M-Net studios in Ojota yesterday

Below is a statement released by M-Net...
It has been confirmed that a fire broke out yesterday afternoon (Saturday March 2, 2013) at the Ojoto Studios facility, which is home to both M-Net and SuperSport productions in Nigeria.  At this time, the fire is under control and an investigation is underway to determine the cause of the blaze. Whilst the fire appears to have caused significant damage to the facility, which may result in some screening delays for programs recorded on site, M-Net and SuperSport are already hard at work with a view to resuming production as soon as possible in order to minimize any impact on viewing audiences at home.  Further M-Net, SuperSport and MultiChoice are deeply thankful and grateful that no-one was injured during this unfortunate incident.
See more after the cut...

Finally, M-Net has confirmed that the fire will not affect its plans for next weekend when it hosts its inaugural AfricaMagic Viewers' Choice Awards, in association with MultiChoice, which is to be screened live from Lagos to over 50 countries on the African continent.
More information on this matter will be communicated as it becomes available. Members of the public are thanked for their concern and messages of support already received. At this time, the site has been closed and will remain this way until further notice

13 comments:

1. Supersport affected?! I just hope this wouldn't disrupt the televising of the north London derby match of my beloved Arsenal and Spurs this afternoon o!? I no fit shout abeg! It better not pls. #TeamArsenal

1. Beloved arsenal?more like dead team 'ass'nal...

2. It is well o. We thank God no life was lost

3. So sad. Thank God it won't affect the airing of the Awards.
    Hopefully they'll be back on their feet soon.

Photo of Ramsey Noah and Ibinabo Fiberesim cuddling in public

4. Thank God no life was lost.

5. Its dbanj's people na who else all dz yoruba ingrate will never c anything good after @donjazzy got an endorsement deal wit Mnet...IDJA

6. Hoping this is not sabotage and thank God no life was lost. Wish them quick recovery.

7. Ye, I saw d building while it was burning yesterday coz I live arnd ojota, may God help dem sha

8. Fool already showing how shallow-minded he/she is by throwing ethnic banter around.
    Do you know if the source of the fire was electrically-related?
    People like you are some of the reasons why we remain on the same level for years.
    I'm a proud Igbo tho..and a Nigerian too.Yorubas,Hausas et al are all integral parts of this country.Time you got used to that.#Bless

9. team aresnal sory u lost,team mnet nd super sports sory for d loss.its an opoturnity to start afresh nd beter

10. Sad.. I hope here was an insurance cover in place.. can imagine the burden other affeted sets i.e. TINSEL , JARA, e.t.c would face finding another location to shoot. and replace all those damaged equipments.. But all in all we thank the lord no life was Lost.

11. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog
    and wished to mention that I've truly enjoyed browsing your blog posts. After all I will be subscribing for your feed and I am hoping you write again soon!

My website: buy solar cells pakistan