Pastor Tunde Bakare's son & NYSC commandant trade slaps in NYSC Ondo camp | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 13 December 2012

Pastor Tunde Bakare's son & NYSC commandant trade slaps in NYSC Ondo camp

Story written by Stella Dimoko Korkus for Encomium Magazine
It was with tension and on edge that those who witnessed this exchange of slaps whisper this gist. According to them, 'coloured trousers had been banned within the camp and the camp commandant spotted Pastor Tunde Bakare's son, Segun Bakare in black trousers. When apprehended, the lad asked the commandant if he didn't know he was the son of Tunde Bakare, the popular preacher. The commandant immediately delivered a slap on the face of the young man and Segun replied with his own slap.
Continue...

Segun's mum had given the commandant a number to call when she dropped off her son in camp, so immediately this incident occurred, the commandant called Mrs Bakare and after a few words, the phone was handed to Pastor Tunde Bakare himself. After hearing what had happened, Pastor Bakare asked that his son be disciplined for disobeying camp rules. The phone was on speaker and Segun heard his father's instructions and as soon as the phone call ended, he went down on his knees and started begging. The matter has since been resolved.

107 comments:

1. Correct father, I love dis Man of God. Hope dem beat d guy oh.loool

1. Hahahahahahhahahahaah
      Dis story is so funny.
      I like d way it ended!
      Hahahahahahhahahahaha

2. This is good news to my ears, I like that the father disciplined his sonThank u sir for showing good example.

3. Chai! Nigerians! Dnt u knw dat it was planned?? See very well again! Dey want Τ̲̅ȍ convince us dat dey Çãñ rule d country justly

4. I was in ondo camp and dis never happened. The commandant slapped someone yes, but it wasn't tunde bakare's son.

5. Who do we believe now?

2. That's certainly a bad representation. shame on you TJ

3. Wow am liking dis pls post my comment

1. Hahahahhahhahaha. D boy for wire d commandant heavy blow!!!! Hahahahaha
      Somtin similar happened wen I was in camp in bayelsa.
      The camp commandant said we should all roll on the grass in d open field. including those who were sick in d clinic were all called out to join in d drama. all becos someone did not obey lights out!
      While we were rolling,some guys just stood up and started attacking d soldiers,before we knew it,there was serious pandemonium.
      No be person tell d soldiers dem make dem run.
      Even d commandant himself went hidding. D boys'aim was to beat the living day light out of him.
      At d end of d day,d yeye commandant was replaced and he had to apologise to us.

4. The Son Should have known better...U know what your dad stands for...Justice,Equality,Fairness and Human Right

5. Hahahahaha! Good 4 u Pastor Bakare.

1. U are just an empty vessel and a weak sadist.... Cheap hater!!

2. As in,serious cheap big hater. *sigh*

3. @3:33am...u r a Retarded fool...wow! Never knew someone can b this daft *smh* u can read but as is it U sure can't understand... Dumb bum...

4. Do you bother to read in between the lines? Why such hatred? If u have any grudge with th man of God, why not say instead of that mischievous comment of yours.

6. Wish to commend his dad action and disposition towards the incident. I think dis "U don't know who my father is" is getting out of hand. If men were god.

7. Clap...clap..clap..good judgement on the father's side.i don't know why the next thing that always comes out a lot of Nigerians after getting into trouble is always 'do u know who I am' even when the person is nobody

8. Hahahahahahahahah... The boy was a big fool! But no matter what the commandant shouldn't have slapped him!

1. No no no! He damn well shd av slapped him. If one acts like a gentleman, he will b treated like one but if he acts like a wild lawless animal he will b treated as such.

2. So he had 2 call d fada 2 get permission 2 discipline d boy arrant nonsense, dis still shows we have a long way 2 restore order in dis country

3. My dear its better as d discipline directive came from d father, before dey punish him now and somthing goes wrong den will won't hear the last of it from pastor Tunde

4. Ma dear,its tru oh we still ve a long way 2 go.y callin d dad oh! Dat one na eye service oh.am sure d dad ll appreciate after dealin wif d boy den u call.

9. dat what we call parental discipline

10. The matter was resolved amicably by the great man himself, showing that he did not support his son. So, Linda tell me why are you reporting this? We need some comments from you

11. That's wht we called change of hand hahaha can't laugh ooo I wish to be their oooooo loolz

12. Pastor tunde bakare acted very well.

13. Davies - From Port Harcourt13 December 2012 at 04:22

hmmmm, I am still sipping my wine.

14. Ode boi!him papa gt sense...lolz

15. Na wao see person face like owl,africans una too wuwu, ‎​ℓ̊ de fear una.

16. I wonder weda na table tennis dem dey play wey person go slap anoda person go slap bak.

17. It does not matter who the father is, nobody should ever be slapped by another.
    I am happy he replied the slap, what nonsense from camp commandant!

1. Na u get am.. Which kind nonsense be dt? Bt ummm,

18. ernest zane ,u done kolo.;laugh wan kill me die/hehehe

19. TBH
    The commandant has no right to slap d young man
    If he disobeyed camp rules,he should be investigated and measures taken to discipline him.
    Commandant need not slap him as dat constitutes assault.
    Meanwhile d stupid boy for slap am twice.
    Yeye!

20. L̳̿☺Ö̤̣̇☺ː̗̀(=)))ː̖́☺Ö̤̣̇☺L̳̿​
    Nice 1.

21. Wetin concern me wit slap

22. I love Pastor Tunde's reply. He is a good father.

23. Madness from d boy

24. Truth be told, despite all the bad press and Pastor bashing, will we rather settle for a ' Pastor-less' society?
    These people are just human, whom God have decided to single out for the responsibility of Pastoring, like all men, their have their limitations and shortcomings. Sometimes they call the right shots,at other times they get their cards wrong.
    But there are lots of people who simply hate anything 'Pastor' that's why lots of people would have commented on this post negatively if Pastor Tunde Bakare called the wrong shot.

25. Well-done Man(TB).But there shld be other measures to check rude behaviour on camp rather than exchanging slap,slap an adult is disgracing.some are above 30 in that camp but cause of 1 reason or the other had to go thru d process.so army on camp shld be cautioned as well.

26. Why did d commandant slap him in d first place? Don't get me wrong,I totally condemn his 'don't u know my father' attitude,but the commandant has no right to slap a serving corp member

27. Pastor Bakare has really done well.but commandant shouldnt ve done that.he should ve respected himself.probably he slapped him in front of tinny big breast sexy ladies.

1. U r just an onye iberibe..we de talk anoda thn, u de talk breast... Chai..

28. Leadership by example. Way to go man.

29. Arrogant kid indeed! Dad did the right thing.

30. Nice one Tunde lol!

31. Good call from the popman, but the commandant was not supposed to slap him o, during my nysc camp, one commandant tried slapping a corper see the way we revolted, that we will beat him if he shld try it, the dude just use sense free the issue .... Usually they are not supposed to take actions like that, iam sure the boy must have really vexed the commandant. Anyway let's blame it on +h¬ devil ise esu ni( it is the devils work)

32. Good call from the popman, but the commandant was not supposed to slap him o, during my nysc camp, one commandant tried slapping a corper see the way we revolted, that we will beat him if he shld try it, the dude just use sense free the issue .... Usually they are not supposed to take actions like that, iam sure the boy must have really vexed the commandant. Anyway let's blame it on +h¬ devil ise esu ni( it is the devils work)

33. See this stupid boy!waz he thinking his Dad will support him for disobeyin camp rule , imagine ? Is he not a Coper ? So he think his Dad is president of CAN he will be treated different mtcheeeeew .. He has the mind to slap camp commdant.. Abeg he sholud be displine very well as the didn't train him a home let him get it outside shame on him

34. Dis story is an old story.
    Why I commend bakare, I wud like d camp commandant 2 be disciplined as well 4 slapin d boy

35. But Tunde Bakara has always bin a disciplinarian o! Non of his kids has individual cars, the Car would drop dem @ der destinations and later return to pick dem up. And those kids are very respectful especially his 1st daughter Bunmi. Let's be realistic I would av retaliated a commandant's slap o. I did to an army officer in maryland 1 time. He slapped me and I did mine back. A hot headed hausa guy like dat. Pple around said he didn't do anything cos am a lady. I said he was shocked I could av done it in d 1st place. I would av retaliated o.

36. Camp commandant is a soldier ode. Didn't u do nysc. The boy has no case cos he slapped back.

37. If the boy has to mention his father's name to get doors open....he wasn't well trained in the first place

38. If all parents can behave like this....then nigeria will be gud again.

39. I was at the camp, and no slaping occurred. Neither did d boy go on his knees.. All he did was read out a written apology on d parade ground, the next day.

40. Ogechi Nsimah, you might want to use spell check next time you decide to post a comment. Don't destroy my brain trying to figure out your horrible spellings and even worse diction. BE GUIDED!!!

41. wonderful example

42. I like d fada's reply...weda d guy shld b punishd or nt d commandant will have it 4 d rest ҉ƒ his life dat a young guy slaps him.Next tym he will respect himslf.Sm ® married with grown up kids,Jʊڪτ̲̅ av 2 do dis cos ҉ƒ one tin or d oda.its Jʊڪτ̲̅ unfortunate dat he's a pastor's son.If nt,who cares.But good talk 4rm d Dad tho.

43. Hehe...the sort of thing my mum will do...

44. Military na military any time. Besides have you given a thoiught to how old the commandant is and how old our corper is is? We are africans - you do not disrespect your elders. Kudos to you daddy I knew as soon as I started reading you will do right & you did. Not like parents who will go to school & beat up teachers for scolding their kids

45. Pastor B has done well...brilliant in my opinion

46. Pastor B has done well...brilliant in my opinion

47. do you know who my father is, do you know who my father is? what d hell? who is your father?
    most of the attrocities being committed in Nigeria are done by kids of popular people. they feel they are above the law. am happy with bakare's response. silly child.

48. The Commandant had no right to slap the guy.

49. Good move by Tunde Bakare. Ondo camp was were i did my NYSC also. The soldiers there do not tolerate any nonsense.

50. Linda This is not Nigerian problem are u scared to send us report from Asorock? about our corrupt leaders how they thief our money and transfer to foreign account? we Nigerian always leave the marrow and care for the bone

51. What has all dese ur insults got to do with the issue on ground?are u hallucinating or wat?at least the pastor did the right thing,how many prominent' pple will agree to someone disciplining their child?

52. Silly people commending the slap of the so called boy. A corp member is a man not a boy. A grown man getting slapped and he should not defend himself????????? BARBARIC PPLE!!!

53. Pastor tunde Bakare did the right thing a son should be disciplined if he errs but still having gone through primary school, secondary fighting to secure admission in our tertiary institution then studying for 4 years,your no longer a boy your a man the camp commandant had no right to raise his hands against the corper.
    if this transpired in western world the commandant will face legal actions pure and simple the boy was right to have returned the slap that is exactly what i will do.

54. I believe only my parents have d right to touch me but they will hear it from me if it happens talkless of a bloody civilian. If a man slaps me and expect me not react then he is joking. I just finished my camp and our commandant reprimanded a soldier for hitting a student. The boys action is disgusting but there are ways to discipline stupid boys on camp because I know there are plenty of stupid boys in every camp. Let us stop justifying these assaults.

1. U r mannerless I can't employ u in my establishment,saying ur parents will hear it from u

55. The Pastor's son has succeeded in reducing the rep of the Camp commandant in front of the other soldiers and the babes (female corpers)

The commandant no even help matter by collecting Mum's number in the first place...see wetin over familiarity de cause.

Mekus

56. the commandant self mess up, must he call his parents before he disciple that spoilt boy, I hope say dem use koboko flog am well well

57. BECAUSE SOMEONE IS OLDER THAN ME THE PERSON CAN DO RUBBISH AND BECAUSE NIGERIANS BELIEVE YOU MUST RESPECT UR ELDERS I SHOULD TAKE THE RUBBISH. B.S. A CORPER IS A MAN AND ANY MAN THAT IS SLAPPED WILL DEFEND HIMSELF, SLAPPING SOMEONE BECAUSE OF A POINTLESS PROGRAM. NYSC UNITING THE COUNTRY INDEED, NONSENSE..

58. Pastor Bakare is a leader by example, I live in Abuja and in know a lot of kids who attend elite schools, there are countless stories of how kids of the high and mighty flout school rules and insult their teachers, the school dares not even issue the mildest of reprimands to these spoilt brats, so hearing this story and pastor's response for me is very refreshing

59. This story isn't entirely true... I know someone in that camp and NO slaps were exchanged. There was a little misunderstanding between them and the boy was made to write a letter of apology which he read out to the entire camp. From what I hear, he's got a humble personality... I'm inclined to believe that he had a very good upbringing, considering who his father is...

60. nice one, thot the father was going to support him, what was he feeling like in the first place???

61. segun bakare had always been stubborn right from primary school and he was an olodo in school

62. He should ve know better before dropping his father's name am disappointed in the boy himself ,shows that he is vey immatured

63. So people don't see that it's a problem that the commandant slapped the boy in the first place or that he needed the boy's parent's "permission" (yes. That's what he got from the boy's father) before disciplining him.

64. For the guy to return the slap was wrong but the commandant did worse cos he has no right to slap a corper! Wat happened to frog jump and possible detention at the guard room? These soldiers just like to take advantage of ppl. I served in cross river and the worst they cud do was to punish u

65. I love Pastor Bakare's action. I will do the same thing if I were in his shoes. Spare the rod and spoil the child! Nonsense!

66. Yes, its cos he is tunde bakare's son dats y he had d privilege 4dem 2call his mum regardless of d fact she dropd d number, if it was an ordinary person d commandant would hav beatin devil out of d person, imagine slapin d commandant back.

67. the only person that was right here was the pastor,because in the first place,there were'nt to any slaps given in the first,thats the problem with nigerian,we always use aggression and status to have our way,y?,this takes me back to the dear aluu 4,those poor boys shld'nt have been killed by those babaric villagers,if the wealthy or highly placed parents disciplined their kids appropraitely,there have been cases of cult students killing their fellow students and getting away with it with some money slapped unto the palms of the useless lawmakers.We talk about change,but the truth is,that change has to come from you,when others see,they will follow,and this is exactly what this wise has done.

68. I applaud Pst. Bakare but the Camp Commandant shudnt av slapped the boy in the first place.....frog jump would have bin better.

69. I agree with those saying the Commandant should not have slapped the guy. These soldiers have no regards for human dignity and take laws into their hands. I was in that same camp. I know how terribly they treat Corpers. My batch even revolted against the Commandant who had to apologise later. Brutality by security officials should be curbed.

70. forvergreatest kisz13 December 2012 at 22:33

Cus his father is a pastor and a very popular one so he is now above the law ? Let's don't forget that charity begins at home ...that's a sign of a boy without home train and a rude boy. Naija wise up.

71. Slap gbam gbam, abuse of power.

72. It is a lie o...no slaps were traded.dy both traded words n he wz made 2 make a formal apology.I wz in dt camp.

1. De commanding officer still did not follow de standard procedure! He is an adult.

73. Linda oooo .... You've come again ...loool.
    Before all else, I think I know Pst Tunde Bakare's 3 boys... They're Segun, Seyi and Rotimi... No Tunde... No Jnr... No Tunde Junior. Lol...

But asides that, seeing this story from a neutral point of view, the soldier was 100% wrong. I just got out of camp myself, Ogun state. It was made very clear that we are not military men, and all went to camp to 'serve' our country. No soldier has the right to lay his hands on you... That's why its camp, not NDA. A soldier can punish you.. Tell you to frog jump or roll on the ground or all that humiliating stuff, but when he lays his hands on you, he's no more in the right. When such a case getz to the commandant, the soldier will always get queried.
    So kudos to th young chap for replying the slap... Anybody who knows his rights would have done the same. It happened twice in my camp. On the 2nd occasion, the corper actually overpowered and beat up the soldier... And nothing came of it at the end of the day.

Soldiers are not gods. But nice story all the same Linda... And that's a beautiful fairytale ending toy put in there.

Thanks for the zobo... Lol

74. ok the commandant was wrong to have slapped him, segun was right and hs dad was right too.

75. the son lack home training.and is bad representation to his parent because he suppose to be discipline among all in d camp.beside his a son of a human when the commandant is son of the most High.lets be wise and not be proud of nothing.

76. This is an animalistic society in which violence is now so common no one even frowns at it again! What right has the commandant to slap anyone? Aren't there other ways to discipline someone that by slapping and hitting the person? Abeg the boy did the right thing by returning the slap

77. ode,who talk about Tunde jnr here?

78. Yeah truth be told its not ok to assault anyone but the NYSC orientation camp is a period that youths are to be trained as para military officers SO FOR THOSE 3 WEEKS OF ORIENTATION YOU ARE EXPECTED TO TOTALLY ADHERE TO SET DOWN RULES; any thing short of that is tntamount to Sanctions. So Pastor Tunde has done well

79. interesting, a grown man would be going for camp and his mother would be giving the "teacher" her number to call her if anything happened.
    isnt that what our mothers did when we were going to primary school.
    Also interesting that the commandant called the mum to report, just shows the guy really had a point by saying "do u know who I am?"
    I ve always said there are no matured people in this country, yes one can say Pastor Bakare handled the situation that was is encouraging, but the fact that he was brought into it at all reeks.

80. as regards this issue of slap or no slap,there was an argument between the platoon soldier and segun ie tunde bakare's son after which the case was reported to the camp commandant who sent for him. on getting there he was asked to say his own side of the story after which the camp commandant told him he was rude and should move backwards and come to attention and salute. he refused and said he rather leaves the camp than serve the punishment. basically that was the story, so slaps were involved.

81. Well, i am not in support of the commandant slapping the boy, neither am i in support of the poor boy slapping the commandant. However, bearing in mind that this boy studied abroad where teacher or lecturer do not have any right to beat or slap student, he must have felt the right thing for him to do was to pay the commandant back with the same kind gesture.

1. But there is a saying " when you are in Rome, do as Romans do " ! He new too well what obtains here before he left for his studies abroad ! As for the commandant , this should make him realise that wrong punishment will always give wrong result ! As in " Two wrong do not make a right "

82. The commandant was wrong for his manner of punishment ! The boy was rude and disobedient and does nt reflect his father s code of conduct ! As for the man Pastor Bakare ! Well ! We can t denie him, meet your Nigerian " Father of the year 2013 " !