1k4Cancer | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 29 September 2011

1k4Cancer

To commemorate Cancer Awareness Month this October, Wana Wana is collaborating with Sebeccly Cancer Care and Support Center (SCC) in the 1K4Cancer campaign. The goal is to raise funds for women diagnosed with breast cancer by donating a minimum of one thousand naira.
1K4Cancer arises from the dire need to assist breast cancer patients who cannot afford treatment. The idea is that if one thousand people donate one thousand naira each, 1K4Cancer will successfully raise one million naira for breast cancer patients. The funds will go towards chemotherapy and radiotherapy treatment for a few women who are currently under the care of SCC.
Dr. Lola Salako of the Sebeccly Cancer Care and Support Center notes that
“At a time when breast cancer patients are already fighting for their lives a majority of patients have to struggle to pay for treatment. Some take loans, some sell all they have and some walk away from treatment because they cannot afford it. Breast cancer treatment cost may vary from =N=700,000 to =N=6,000,000.
The 1K4Cancer campaign is a fantastic opportunity to shed light on the financial challenges breast cancer patients face and raise funds for needy cancer patients. Together, we stand to help patients become survivors like Funke, Beatrice and many more letting them know they are not alone in their fight against breast cancer. We can help lots of women start and or complete their treatment. All proceeds of the 1K4Cancer Campaign go to breast cancer patients.”

Speaking on the 1K4Cancer campaign, Campaign Leader, Wana Udobang says “sometimes, it is important to remember that we all have a responsibility to the world that we have been placed in. 1K4Cancer campaign is an opportunity to show that there is power in every single one of us to change our society; in this situation, assisting women with their treatment, one thousand naira can contribute to turning around a breast cancer victim into a survivor. Together, we can raise one million and more!”
1K4Cancer will run throughout the month of October with a weekly diary on the popular lifestyle website BellaNaija.com and will document monies raised as well via twitter. This information will also be available on the SCC website alongside photographs taken with individual and organizational donors.
Sebeccly Cancer Care and Support Center is an organization dedicated to ending breast cancer through the power of grassroots action and advocacy by providing information, support, and campaigning for improved standards of care for patients. SCC is for ladies seeking awareness, for breast cancer patients and for caregivers.
Wana Udobang is a writer and broadcaster; currently an On Air Personality on 92.3 Inspiration FM, she hosts the daily "Afternoon Drive" from 3pm to 7pm. She is also a contributing writer for Elan, BellaNaija, and several lifestyle magazines.
For more enquires on the campaign and on how to donate, please follow MissWanaWana on twitter, email - info@sebecclycancercare.org, visit - www.sebecclycancercare.org or call – 08090088922.
To donate into the SCC account
Sebeccly Cancer Care And Support Centre
Guarantee Trust Bank

7 comments:

419ners are on it again.. This one dey want to use Cancer dupe people. Even you can tell with the name they chose..

hmm. I am not for donating to causes in naija. something about them just scream 419!

a said...

Sorry i cant donate cos i think its fraud.

Their mates they crawl (1 dollar/pound a month) before dem waka while dem no wan know. all dem wan do na to run(1k). #rubbishandnonsense

*ajalahtravel*

meena said...

Them don come again o!! Na so Mo Abudu talk the other time...help to get the street kids off the street and the Lagos State Govt and notable dignitaries pledged and redeemed their pledges...Till today, whoosai!!! Na Christian Loboutins and Gucci purses she dey change like no man business..
I cry for Naija!!

My people perish for lack of knowledge....everyone commenting above me sounds so sad to me. Maybe you've never lost anyone to cancer...or maybe you've never had to use Nigerian medical facilities to know a modicum of healthcare costs a fortune.

Cancer knows no name or family and the next person could be you and/or yours....

Wana, Wana so proud of you!

dScR?Be said...

i bin tink say na better comments i go see here...

Lets do this abeg! I donate my time, my money, my prayers to this cause... na God i dey give, no be man!

Truly well done Wana and Sebeccly... God bless you. I pray this raises loads of money and touches many lives!